Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
How To Add Drop Down Menus To Your Navbar
peterska2
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,504

 

Manchester, UK
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
peterska2 peterska2 is offline 07-29-2006, 10:00 PM

I think everyone has encountered the situation at some point or other where their navbar has got very cluttered and they are faced with either adding yet another navbar, or adding some dropdown menus to group some items.

This tutorial explains how to create an additional drop down menu in your navbar.

Firstly, locate in your navbar template the first instace of
Code:
<if condition="$show['popups']">
and add after it
Code:
<td id="custommenu" class="vbmenu_control">
    <a href="#">Custom Menu</a>
    <script type="text/javascript">
        vbmenu_register("custommenu");
    </script>
</td>
Replace Custom Menu with the title for this menu which you want displayed on your navbar and custommenu with the name that you want to give your link. Note that spaces are not to be used as this will break the connection with the actual menu.

Next, in your navbar template find
Code:
<!-- NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->
and add after it
Code:
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="custommenu_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
        <tr>
            <td class="thead">Custom Menu</td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
            <td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">
content row
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
Again replace custommenu with the name given to your link. Make sure that you leave the _menu after it as this identifies it as the menu part of the link. Also replace Custom Menu again with the title that you have used for your link.

The content row should be replaced with the actual menu item that you want to have in your new drop down menu.

Repeat the code
Code:
<tr>
            <td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">
content row
</td>
</tr>
as required to add additional links onto your menu.

If you wish to break your menu into sections like the quicklinks use then add
Code:
<tr>
            <td class="thead">Custom Menu</td>
        </tr>
everywhere that you wish to add a new header.

The content added should be in the normal html format for links.



If you wish to add more than one menu, repeat the process for each one, ensuring that you use a different name for each menu otherwise they will not function correctly.


I hope you find this useful.
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 02-03-2009, 10:32 PM
ETDC ETDC is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 354
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaz21 View Post
well... after hours of screwing around with this... i've given up

even copying and pasting everything word for word in the exact location it still isn't working on 3.8.0.... guess i'll have to find a different way to do this
Oh well, that rules out 3.8 for me...
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 02-13-2009, 11:11 AM
henrikhansen henrikhansen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 61
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I works for me in 3.8 by choosing second instance of "<if condition="$show['popups']">" instead of the first instance, as explained in article.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 02-13-2009, 01:38 PM
Altered Altered is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 12
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henrikhansen View Post
I works for me in 3.8 by choosing second instance of "<if condition="$show['popups']">" instead of the first instance, as explained in article.
Fixed my problem as well. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 02-14-2009, 08:39 PM
Jaxel Jaxel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,160
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is it possible to do this with IMAGE LINKS instead of text links?

As well... could I do this in the "HEADER" template, instead of the navbar template?
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 02-16-2009, 02:06 PM
khurtsiya khurtsiya is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 37
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I make second line at the top of navbar and this worked for me, but I have this problem:



Drop Down Menu is not near the link in navbar. Why this can be?
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 03-20-2009, 08:34 AM
jaslon jaslon is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is it somehow possible to make these drop-down menus dependent on which sub-forum is being viewed? So that the links in the menu are different for different sub-forums.
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 03-20-2009, 02:05 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaslon View Post
Is it somehow possible to make these drop-down menus dependent on which sub-forum is being viewed? So that the links in the menu are different for different sub-forums.
You would have to wrap a condition around stuff:
HTML Code:
<if condition="$forumid == '5'">
stuff just for when you are in forumid 5
</if>
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 04-10-2009, 12:38 AM
Zarxrax Zarxrax is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 41
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I got the working almost perfectly, but... on existing dropdowns like search, or quicklinks, the dropdown menu aligns with the left of the link. However on the new dropdown menu that I added, the dropdown appears further to the left of the link, like its centered under the left side of the link. What can I do about this?
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 04-24-2009, 11:59 PM
0 Seo 0 0 Seo 0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 32
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

in forum i have FAQ how to make it FAQ/Rule ?
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 05-07-2009, 03:09 PM
odln018's Avatar
odln018 odln018 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 210
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I found this good little article regarding how to add a drop down to your navbar. http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/newre...ote=1&p=769703



I've used this tutorial to create a new drop down on my navbar, It does appear on the navbar, however, when clicking on the menu, the drop down appears on the left side of the cell, rather than the center, like my other drop downs.

I can't seem to find the correct verbiage to resolve this.

I'd appreciate any direction.


here are the relevant bits.

Code:
<td id="mypopupmenu" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#mypopupmenu">MENU TITLE</a><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("mypopupmenu"); </script></td>
Code:
<!-- mypopupmenu -->
    <div class="vbmenu_popup" id="mypopupmenu_menu" style="display:none;margin-top:3px" align="$stylevar[left]"><table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
        
        <tr><td class="thead">MENU TITLE</td></tr>        
        <tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="URL">LINKED TEXT</a></td></tr>
        </table>
    </div>
    <!-- / mypopupmenu -->
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04918 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,331KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (8)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete