Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Additional Navbar Details »»
Additional Navbar
Version: 1.00, by attroll attroll is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.0 Rating:
Released: 05-15-2004 Last Update: 06-05-2004 Installs: 126
Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

Dispite what category this is in it works with vBulletin 3.5. Just read the directions.

What this does is create another navbar with drop down menu?s by typing $navbar2 in any of your templates. It is just like the one that comes with vBulletin 3.

After seeing a lot of replies about users wanting another navbar besides the basic one that comes with vBulletin. I waited for someone else to write one. But no one stepped forward and wrote one. I wanted this for my site and got tired of waiting for someone else to write it. So I played around and created this one for myself. I though I would share it with everyone.

Note: If you do not want to add a separate navbar template you can also substitute the steps in 5A through 5D and insert the navbar2.txt after you have edited it the way you want and into the same places as I mentioned for the $navbar2 in your default navbar and you will not have to do any of these other steps.

I put a lot of description tags in the HTML file to help explain what everything does. Once you understand what is going on here you can removed these. With very little modifications you can add to, remove or move items around in this navbar.

1. To install this hack you will have to create a template in you ADMINCP and call it ?navbar2? and insert the contents of the attached file "navbar2.txt" into this template file. Right now it is set up for my site. So you will have to modify it to what you want in this navbar for your site.

2. Put the following command in your phpinclude_start template:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
2A. This is for users that have vB 3.5 and up. Step 2 will not work because the phpinclude_start template no longer exist in versions 3.5 and higher. So for 3.5 users ignore step 2 and use 2A.

Plugin System
Add new Plugin

Hook Location: global_start
Title: navbar2
Plugin PHP Code:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
3. Now put the following command in you header or what ever template where your want the new navbar to be displayed (samples of where to put them are in the attached photos and directions are in 5A, B, C, D.):
PHP Code:
$navbar2 
4. Since the template is uncached you will have an extra query on each page. To fix, open global.php
Find:
PHP Code:
// misc useful 
Add below:
PHP Code:
'navbar2'
5A. Under current Navigation / Breadcrumb Templaters - navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / nav buttons bar -->
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5B. On top of forums tables:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / PAGENAV POPUP -->
</if>
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5C. Under your header:
Find:
Code:
<br />
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Above that add:
Code:
$navbar2
5D. Top of current navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Under that add:
Code:
$navbar2
vBadvance CMPS using vB 3.5 or higher. To get this working with the homepage you will have to do the following.

Go into your ADMINCP-->vBa CPMS-->Default Setting-->Portal Output Global Variables and add navbar2 in the block there and save it.

Arcaded hack. You will need to go into your darcaded hack and edit a line. Here are the directions:
Go to you arcade/functions/functions.php
open it with a text editor:
Find:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits;
Replace with:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits, $navbar2;

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #72  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:52 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Jaxx

I don't know if this will help. I also use Photopost. These are the instuctions that I wrote down for myself for future use in case I had these problems again.

You will have to replace all the "your_website.com" with the name of your web site.


I had to do the following to get the VB header and footer to work in the gallery area.

Go to the gallery area and empty all the code in the file "header-inc.php" and replace it with:

PHP Code:
<?php
$vbpath 
="/home/atphotos/public_html/geomaine/forum";
$pppath ="/home/atphotos/public_html/geomaine/gallery";
chdir($vbpath);
require(
"./global.php");
eval(
'$navbar = "' fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
$vbheader "$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="
$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/gallery/stylesheets/gm.css" type="text/css" />
$headinclude";
$vbheader .= "</head>
<body>
$header
$navbar
<div align="center">"
;
eval(
'$vbfooter = "' fetch_template('footer') . '";');
$vbfooter process_replacement_vars($vbfooter);
$vbfooter "</div>$vbfooter";
chdir($pppath "/");
$HTTP_POST_FILES $_FILES;
$HTTP_POST_VARS $_POST;
?>
You will have to create a style in your gallery called "gm.css" for this to work.



Now go to your vBulletin templates in your ADMINCP and do the following changes:

In the headerinclude template.

Find:

Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_global.js"></script>
<if condition="$show['popups']"><script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_menu.js"></script></if>
Replace with:
Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="<A href="http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/clientscript/vbulletin_global.js"></script">http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/clientscript/vbulletin_global.js"></script>
<if condition="$show['popups']"><script type="text/javascript" src="<A href="http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/clientscript/vbulletin_menu.js"></script></if>[/CODE">http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/clientscript/vbulletin_menu.js"></script></if>
Go to you vBulletin footer template and replace it with the following code:

Find:
Code:
    <a href="$vboptions[contactuslink]">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a> -
    <a href="$vboptions[homeurl]">$vboptions[hometitle]</a> -
    <if condition="$show['admincplink']"><a href="$admincpdir/index.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[admin]</a> -</if>
    <if condition="$show['modcplink']"><a href="$modcpdir/index.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[mod]</a> -</if>
    <if condition="$vboptions['archiveenabled']"><a href="archive/index.php">$vbphrase[archive]</a> -</if>
    <!-- - <a href="$vboptions[privacyurl]">$vbphrase[privacy_statement]</a> - -->
    <a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;">$vbphrase[top]</a>
Replace with:
Code:
<!-- attroll foot mod for gallery -->
    <a href="<A href="http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/sendmessage.php">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a">http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/sendmessage.php">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a> -
    <a href="$vboptions[homeurl]">$vboptions[hometitle]</a> -
    <if condition="$show['admincplink']"><a href="<A href="http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/admincp/index.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[admin]</a">http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/admincp/index.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[admin]</a> -</if>
    <if condition="$show['modcplink']"><a href="<A href="http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/modcp/index.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[mod]</a">http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/modcp/index.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[mod]</a> -</if>
    <if condition="$vboptions['archiveenabled']"><a href="<A href="http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/archive/index.php">$vbphrase[archive]</a">http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/archive/index.php">$vbphrase[archive]</a> -</if>
    <if condition="$vboptions[privacyurl]"><a href="$vboptions[privacyurl]">$vbphrase[privacy_statement]</a> -</if>
    <a href="http://geocachingmaine.org/forum/#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;">$vbphrase[top]</a>
<!-- / attroll foot mod for gallery -->
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 12-05-2004, 11:14 PM
CSS59 CSS59 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 275
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by attroll
Jaxx
how come your not using it on your site anymore?
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 12-06-2004, 01:44 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I don't know who that post was intented for. I am still using it on my site. I have it on the CMPS frontpage, forums, and the Gallery.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 12-13-2004, 02:26 AM
wacnstac wacnstac is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 312
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have a question. Once you add an item to the navbar such as a link to a photogallery, how do you get this to display accurately in the breadcrumbs when the user goes there?

I don't quite understand this step.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 12-28-2004, 09:19 PM
shadiguy1 shadiguy1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delco,Pa
Posts: 146
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hey i have a problem. i cant find out how to make a space to separate my second nav bar and my stats or portal from separting. heres a screenshot of wat i mean.



Thanks In Advance my site is www.nextelelite.com if you wanna look
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 12-29-2004, 02:45 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

shadiguy1

I just went to your web site and it looks like you figured out how to do it. I work the second shift so I am sorry I just got home otherwise I would have got ahold of you sooner.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 12-29-2004, 03:29 AM
shadiguy1 shadiguy1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delco,Pa
Posts: 146
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thanks yah left out something but i figured it out.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 12-31-2004, 08:01 PM
DWard's Avatar
DWard DWard is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posts: 320
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yer, the hack seems too be quite useful. I tried doing the same on my site about 5 months back and it's been quire effective... So you look how you can make it look (www.collegepranks.co.uk)
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 01-13-2005, 10:48 PM
Viks Viks is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 295
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

one of those mods, which is simple yet powerful.
thanks for sharing it.

I just installed it but I am having 2 problems -

1. Cannot see navbar2 on CMPS homepage. I added the navbar2 in includes/vba_cmps_include_bottom.php

Do i have to add it in a CMPS tempelate too? maybe?

2. Where can I put the navbar2 so that it is right below the first navbar? I do not want it in the header and if I put it in forumshome then I see it only in forumshome page.

please advise,

thanks

Vik
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 01-14-2005, 03:35 AM
Viks Viks is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 295
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

update: I tried adding navbar2 in adv_portal tempelate - nabar2 did not appear on CMPS.

If i add nabar2 on header it shows up BUT i want both the navbar together + I want the URLS to work from CMPS as well as /Forum just like they do normally.

ne suggestions??
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05334 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,346KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (14)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete