Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Additional Navbar Details »»
Additional Navbar
Version: 1.00, by attroll attroll is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.0 Rating:
Released: 05-15-2004 Last Update: 06-05-2004 Installs: 126
Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

Dispite what category this is in it works with vBulletin 3.5. Just read the directions.

What this does is create another navbar with drop down menu?s by typing $navbar2 in any of your templates. It is just like the one that comes with vBulletin 3.

After seeing a lot of replies about users wanting another navbar besides the basic one that comes with vBulletin. I waited for someone else to write one. But no one stepped forward and wrote one. I wanted this for my site and got tired of waiting for someone else to write it. So I played around and created this one for myself. I though I would share it with everyone.

Note: If you do not want to add a separate navbar template you can also substitute the steps in 5A through 5D and insert the navbar2.txt after you have edited it the way you want and into the same places as I mentioned for the $navbar2 in your default navbar and you will not have to do any of these other steps.

I put a lot of description tags in the HTML file to help explain what everything does. Once you understand what is going on here you can removed these. With very little modifications you can add to, remove or move items around in this navbar.

1. To install this hack you will have to create a template in you ADMINCP and call it ?navbar2? and insert the contents of the attached file "navbar2.txt" into this template file. Right now it is set up for my site. So you will have to modify it to what you want in this navbar for your site.

2. Put the following command in your phpinclude_start template:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
2A. This is for users that have vB 3.5 and up. Step 2 will not work because the phpinclude_start template no longer exist in versions 3.5 and higher. So for 3.5 users ignore step 2 and use 2A.

Plugin System
Add new Plugin

Hook Location: global_start
Title: navbar2
Plugin PHP Code:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
3. Now put the following command in you header or what ever template where your want the new navbar to be displayed (samples of where to put them are in the attached photos and directions are in 5A, B, C, D.):
PHP Code:
$navbar2 
4. Since the template is uncached you will have an extra query on each page. To fix, open global.php
Find:
PHP Code:
// misc useful 
Add below:
PHP Code:
'navbar2'
5A. Under current Navigation / Breadcrumb Templaters - navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / nav buttons bar -->
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5B. On top of forums tables:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / PAGENAV POPUP -->
</if>
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5C. Under your header:
Find:
Code:
<br />
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Above that add:
Code:
$navbar2
5D. Top of current navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Under that add:
Code:
$navbar2
vBadvance CMPS using vB 3.5 or higher. To get this working with the homepage you will have to do the following.

Go into your ADMINCP-->vBa CPMS-->Default Setting-->Portal Output Global Variables and add navbar2 in the block there and save it.

Arcaded hack. You will need to go into your darcaded hack and edit a line. Here are the directions:
Go to you arcade/functions/functions.php
open it with a text editor:
Find:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits;
Replace with:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits, $navbar2;

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #172  
Old 09-15-2005, 05:36 PM
mustang_lex mustang_lex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by attroll
We got Edrick's web site working.

One thing to keep in mind when editing templates in your styles is that sometimes editing the Master(Default) style it will not edit the child styles all the time. For example if you edited the navbar template in a child style it will not update later in that particular child style when you go and edit the Master(Default) style.

Once a template has been edited in a child style you can not expect to edit it in the Defult style and have it update in the child style you edited.

I hope that makes sense.
Yes makes perfect sense. I don't have any other styles except one for now so it would be over my head anyways. Glad it works now!!!
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 09-30-2005, 12:15 PM
XFGHIA XFGHIA is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 17
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hey, how come the navbar2 wont show up on my vBa CMPS home page, do i need to edit the CMPS index.php file? if so what will i need to add?
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 10-01-2005, 12:01 AM
Edrick Edrick is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

try editing all the templates. Do not trust the feature of inheriting properties form a parent style. I had a similar problem.

Try doing so. It worked for me
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 10-01-2005, 12:20 AM
Omega Prime's Avatar
Omega Prime Omega Prime is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: ::Infinity::
Posts: 169
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XFGHIA
Hey, how come the navbar2 wont show up on my vBa CMPS home page, do i need to edit the CMPS index.php file? if so what will i need to add?
There's an option in the CMPS settings to add "navbar2" to the list of variables so it'll work with it
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 10-01-2005, 12:34 AM
XFGHIA XFGHIA is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 17
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks Omega Prime, perfect!!!
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 10-01-2005, 07:02 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XFGHIA
Thanks Omega Prime, perfect!!!
Did you get it working with CMPS? There is one php file you need to edit to get it working with CMPS. That template is vba_cmps_include_bottom.php. Let me know if you still need help.
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 10-03-2005, 04:06 AM
ashley53680 ashley53680 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 124
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thank you for updating this for 3.5!!
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 10-03-2005, 10:37 PM
marcjd marcjd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 39
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by attroll
This can be done. But it looks like the site you are talking about incorperated it into their existing $navbar. It was not a seperate template.

I played around with it a little and I got it to work but I have to put it in the existing $navbar. I did not try it with drop downs though. I will have to play with it some more later on and see if I can get drop downs to work like in another table within $navbar. I can not promise I will get right on it though. I am pretty buisy.
I basically did this at my site by just editing the existing navbar. It wasn't too difficult. I just looked at the code, copied what I want duplicated on the top, edited it, and pasted it.
U.S. Politics Online
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 10-05-2005, 07:19 AM
Samira's Avatar
Samira Samira is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm having a cosmetic problem I wanted to ask about. Pardon me if it's the way it's supposed to be; it isn't a big deal, but I thought I'd ask.

When a drop down is clicked on, it is way over to the left, as opposed to directly underneath. (screen attached) Is there any way to correct this? It did it on 3.0.7 and now 3.5.0 for me.

I'd also like to know where to add $navbar2 within the vBa CMPS system if someone knows. The previously posted location doesn't exist in the 2.0.0 version that I can see.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #181  
Old 10-05-2005, 02:51 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samira
I'm having a cosmetic problem I wanted to ask about. Pardon me if it's the way it's supposed to be; it isn't a big deal, but I thought I'd ask.

When a drop down is clicked on, it is way over to the left, as opposed to directly underneath. (screen attached) Is there any way to correct this? It did it on 3.0.7 and now 3.5.0 for me.
I would have to look at your navbar2$ template. If you could send me your email address in a pm then I can write to you and send you my email address and then you could send your telplate for me to look at.

Quote:
I'd also like to know where to add $navbar2 within the vBa CMPS system if someone knows. The previously posted location doesn't exist in the 2.0.0 version that I can see.
open the vba_cmps_include_bottom.php that is located in the includes directory and

Find:
Code:
global $pages, $stylevar, $headinclude, $header, $footer, $vbulletin, $vbphrase, $stylevar, $show, $pmbox, $vba_options, $vba_style, $navbar, $cusid, $_REQUEST, $gobutton, $pagetitle, $pagecache, $db;
Insert the $navbar code like below:
Code:
global $pages, $stylevar, $headinclude, $header, $footer, $vbulletin, $vbphrase, $stylevar, $show, $pmbox, $vba_options, $vba_style, $navbar, $cusid, $_REQUEST, $gobutton, $pagetitle, $pagecache, $navbar2, $db;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06494 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,334KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (12)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_php
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete