Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Forum Icons Details »»
Forum Icons
Version: 1.0, by Elmer Elmer is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2019 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 4.0.0 RC 4 Rating:
Released: 12-03-2009 Last Update: Never Installs: 438
DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits
Is in Beta Stage  
No support by the author.

Forum Icons is a product that adds an option in the edit/add new forum page to set a forum icon.

To make it work, you will need to make a template modification, I did try to do it with a plugin, but got frustrated trying but failing to make it work.

I promise I will be looking into this so we don't have to edit any template, but in the meantime...

How to Install:


1- Upload the product xml file.
2- Edit forumhome_forumbit_level2_post
Find:
Code:
<vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><p class="forumdescription">{vb:raw forum.description}</p></vb:if>
Replace it with:
Code:
<vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><p class="forumdescription"><vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']"><img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="float: left; margin-right: 4px;" /></vb:if>{vb:raw forum.description}</p>
					<vb:elseif condition="$forum['iconlocation']" /><p class="forumdescription"><img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" /></p></vb:if>

If you use it, please mark it as installed

Download Now

File Type: xml product-teh_forumicons.xml (2.2 KB, 2743 views)

Screenshots

File Type: png forumicons.png (31.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png forumiconsadmin.png (9.0 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
2 благодарности(ей) от:
mohammadxxx

Comments
  #132  
Old 02-05-2010, 11:54 AM
dangerin's Avatar
dangerin dangerin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 136
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I've pasted exactly the code and in forumhome_forumbit_level2_post i have this code :
P.s. my stile is simple black

<li id="forum{vb:raw forum.forumid}" class="forumbit_post L2">
<div class="forumrow table">
<div class="foruminfo td">
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
<div class="forumdata">
<div class="datacontainer">
<div class="titleline">
<h2 class="forumtitle"><a href="{vb:link forum, {vb:raw forum}}">{vb:raw forum.title}</a></h2>
<vb:if condition="$show['browsers']"><span class="viewing">({vb:raw forum.browsers} {vb:rawphrase viewing})</span></vb:if>
</div>
<vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><p class="forumdescription"><vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']"><img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="float: left; margin-right: 4px;" /></vb:if>{vb:raw forum.description}</p>
<vb:elseif condition="$forum['iconlocation']" /><p class="forumdescription"><img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" /></p></vb:if>

<vb:if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn'] AND $forum['moderators']">
<div class="moderators">
<h4>{vb:rawphrase moderators}:</h4>
<ol class="commalist">
{vb:raw forum.moderators}
</ol>
</div>
</vb:if>

<vb:if condition="$show['subforums']">
<div class="subforums">
<h4 class="subforumlistlabel">{vb:rawphrase subforums}:</h4>
<ol class="subforumlist commalist">
{vb:raw forum.subforums}
</ol>
</div>
</vb:if>

<vb:if condition="$show['forumsubscription']">
<p class="unsubscribe">
<a href="subscription.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=removesubscription&amp;f={vb :raw forum.forumid}" rel="nofollow">{vb:rawphrase unsubscribe_from_this_forum}</a>
</p>
</vb:if>
</div>
</div>
</div>
<vb:if condition="$forum['statusicon'] != 'link'">
<h4 class="nocss_label">{vb:rawphrase forum_actions}:</h4>
<ul class="forumactionlinks td">
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['externalrss']"><li class="forumactionlink rsslink"><a href="external.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}type=RSS2&amp;forumids={vb:raw forum.forumid}" title="{vb:rawphrase view_forum_rss_feed}">{vb:rawphrase view_forum_rss_feed}</a></li></vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$show['member']"><vb:if condition="$show['forumsubscription']"><li class="forumactionlink unsubslink"> <a href="subscription.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=removesubscription&amp;f={vb :raw forum.forumid}" title="{vb:rawphrase unsubscribe_from_this_forum}">{vb:rawphrase unsubscribe_from_this_forum}</a></li><vb:else /><li class="forumactionlink subslink"> <a href="subscription.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=addsubscription&amp;f={vb:ra w forum.forumid}" title="{vb:rawphrase subscribe_to_this_forum}">{vb:rawphrase subscribe_to_this_forum}</a></li></vb:if></vb:if>
</ul>
<h4 class="nocss_label">{vb:rawphrase forum_statistics}:</h4>
<ul class="forumstats td">
<li>{vb:rawphrase threads}: {vb:raw forum.threadcount}</li>
<li>{vb:rawphrase posts}: {vb:raw forum.replycount}</li>
</ul>
<div class="forumlastpost td">
<h4 class="lastpostlabel">{vb:rawphrase last_post}:</h4>
<div>
{vb:raw forum.lastpostinfo}
</div>
</div>
</vb:if>
</div>
<vb:if condition="$childforumbits">
<ul class="childsubforum">
{vb:raw childforumbits}

</ul>
</vb:if>
</li>

After i ho in acp forum manager and in the line for the address i put the full path or also the direct but i do not see nothing in my forums
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 02-05-2010, 12:05 PM
denman75 denman75 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 228
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dangerin View Post
I've pasted exactly the code and in forumhome_forumbit_level2_post i have this code :
P.s. my stile is simple black

<li id="forum{vb:raw forum.forumid}" class="forumbit_post L2">
<div class="forumrow table">
<div class="foruminfo td">
<img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
<div class="forumdata">
<div class="datacontainer">
<div class="titleline">
<h2 class="forumtitle"><a href="{vb:link forum, {vb:raw forum}}">{vb:raw forum.title}</a></h2>
<vb:if condition="$show['browsers']"><span class="viewing">({vb:raw forum.browsers} {vb:rawphrase viewing})</span></vb:if>
</div>
<vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><p class="forumdescription"><vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']"><img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="float: left; margin-right: 4px;" /></vb:if>{vb:raw forum.description}</p>
<vb:elseif condition="$forum['iconlocation']" /><p class="forumdescription"><img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" /></p></vb:if>


<vb:if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn'] AND $forum['moderators']">
<div class="moderators">
<h4>{vb:rawphrase moderators}:</h4>
<ol class="commalist">
{vb:raw forum.moderators}
</ol>
</div>
</vb:if>

<vb:if condition="$show['subforums']">
<div class="subforums">
<h4 class="subforumlistlabel">{vb:rawphrase subforums}:</h4>
<ol class="subforumlist commalist">
{vb:raw forum.subforums}
</ol>
</div>
</vb:if>

<vb:if condition="$show['forumsubscription']">
<p class="unsubscribe">
<a href="subscription.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=removesubscription&amp;f={vb :raw forum.forumid}" rel="nofollow">{vb:rawphrase unsubscribe_from_this_forum}</a>
</p>
</vb:if>
</div>
</div>
</div>
<vb:if condition="$forum['statusicon'] != 'link'">
<h4 class="nocss_label">{vb:rawphrase forum_actions}:</h4>
<ul class="forumactionlinks td">
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['externalrss']"><li class="forumactionlink rsslink"><a href="external.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}type=RSS2&amp;forumids={vb:raw forum.forumid}" title="{vb:rawphrase view_forum_rss_feed}">{vb:rawphrase view_forum_rss_feed}</a></li></vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$show['member']"><vb:if condition="$show['forumsubscription']"><li class="forumactionlink unsubslink"> <a href="subscription.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=removesubscription&amp;f={vb :raw forum.forumid}" title="{vb:rawphrase unsubscribe_from_this_forum}">{vb:rawphrase unsubscribe_from_this_forum}</a></li><vb:else /><li class="forumactionlink subslink"> <a href="subscription.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=addsubscription&amp;f={vb:ra w forum.forumid}" title="{vb:rawphrase subscribe_to_this_forum}">{vb:rawphrase subscribe_to_this_forum}</a></li></vb:if></vb:if>
</ul>
<h4 class="nocss_label">{vb:rawphrase forum_statistics}:</h4>
<ul class="forumstats td">
<li>{vb:rawphrase threads}: {vb:raw forum.threadcount}</li>
<li>{vb:rawphrase posts}: {vb:raw forum.replycount}</li>
</ul>
<div class="forumlastpost td">
<h4 class="lastpostlabel">{vb:rawphrase last_post}:</h4>
<div>
{vb:raw forum.lastpostinfo}
</div>
</div>
</vb:if>
</div>
<vb:if condition="$childforumbits">
<ul class="childsubforum">
{vb:raw childforumbits}

</ul>
</vb:if>
</li>

After i ho in acp forum manager and in the line for the address i put the full path or also the direct but i do not see nothing in my forums
seeing nothing strange
but do u use any other third party image blockers
or limited guests mods ,
last thing what u can do is disable all of your mods/plugs except the forum icon mods
and see what it does
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 02-05-2010, 12:05 PM
cindy helmond cindy helmond is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 334
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritvn View Post
Should use the full path to test. Use IE if you see a red X, it's bad link, if you dont see anything, it's wrong code.

So revert the template and do like my post #119:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....&postcount=119

For who want place it nearby the forum description:

Find:

Code:
<vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><p class="forumdescription">{vb:raw forum.description}</p></vb:if>
Replace with:

Code:
<vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']"><img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="float:left; padding-left: 2px; padding-right: 2px;" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}"/><p class="forumdescription">{vb:raw forum.description}</p><vb:else /><p class="forumdescription">{vb:raw forum.description}</p></vb:if></vb:if>
Edit the red pixel number to style it fix your design.

Below code is for who wanna make it below the forum description:

Code:
<vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><p class="forumdescription">{vb:raw forum.description}</p><vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']"><img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" style="float:left; padding-left: 2px; padding-right: 2px;clear: both;" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}"/></vb:if></vb:if>
It's easy to help if you give your link
ok thx but i have default style of vb 4 what i have to do :

red X ??
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 02-05-2010, 12:11 PM
Spiritvn's Avatar
Spiritvn Spiritvn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cindy helmond View Post
ok thx but i have default style of vb 4 what i have to do :

red X ??
It's for default style

Just revert the template to default, then re-do it, you can test yourself.

Remember, it's for POSTED FORUM. If your forum without post, it does not use that template, so, post some testing post first.

Again, If s1 need help, give the forum i will check if what u r doing wrong.


---------

The X within IE display means WRONG LINK IMAGE. Firefox does not display the wrong link so you hard to know if you got the wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 02-05-2010, 12:20 PM
dangerin's Avatar
dangerin dangerin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 136
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I only have a product for the resize of images that i've also disabled but is ever the same result.
i do not understand what's happening..
but now i can not deactive all the products
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 02-05-2010, 12:29 PM
cindy helmond cindy helmond is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 334
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritvn View Post
It's for default style

Just revert the template to default, then re-do it, you can test yourself.

Remember, it's for POSTED FORUM. If your forum without post, it does not use that template, so, post some testing post first.

Again, If s1 need help, give the forum i will check if what u r doing wrong.


---------

The X within IE display means WRONG LINK IMAGE. Firefox does not display the wrong link so you hard to know if you got the wrong.
ok thx !!
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 02-05-2010, 02:36 PM
Spiritvn's Avatar
Spiritvn Spiritvn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dangerin View Post
I only have a product for the resize of images that i've also disabled but is ever the same result.
i do not understand what's happening..
but now i can not deactive all the products
Did you read and do as i said?
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 02-05-2010, 05:23 PM
dangerin's Avatar
dangerin dangerin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 136
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
This is included in vbulletin by default. There is no need to use a hack to show forum icons.
What do you mean?
I'm interested becaus i'm trying from two days to change icons but i do not see nothing . ..
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 02-05-2010, 05:24 PM
dangerin's Avatar
dangerin dangerin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 136
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritvn View Post
Did you read and do as i said?
Yeas read and done bu without result
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 02-05-2010, 06:58 PM
dangerin's Avatar
dangerin dangerin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 136
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by House M.D. View Post
To make the forum icon sit to the left of the title and description, you need to do this :

Uninstall any previous version and install a fresh copy. Do not make any edits to the mod except for what you see below.

It took a lot of trial and error to get this right - If you like what you see, please make a PayPal donation to mcs@sunwave.net to cover my time in getting this done. Thank you.

1) Install a fresh copy of this mod

2) Open up : Styles and Templates / Style Mananger / Edit Templates / Forum Home Templates / forumhome_forumbit_level2_post


Look for :
Code:
<div class="datacontainer">

Add this code after that line :
Code:
<div style="float: left; margin-right: 5px;">
<vb:if condition="$forum['iconlocation']"><a href="{vb:link forum, {vb:raw forum}}"><img src="{vb:raw forum.iconlocation}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" /></a></vb:if>
</div>
<div style="float: left; width: 90%;">


Look for :
Code:
<vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><p class="forumdescription">{vb:raw forum.description}</p></vb:if>

Replace that line with :
Code:
<vb:if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><p class="forumdescription">{vb:raw forum.description}</p></vb:if></div>


That's it! - Hit the "Save and Reload" button and your done.

This will show the icon to the left of the title and description. Also, if you hover your mouse over the icon, it will show that board titles name. If you click on the icon, it will take you to that boards location.

I hope you enjoy it - any donations would be greatly appreciated.

Here is what the results will look like :


I've also done all that is written in this post but without result.
if i change the principal incon that appear in imges/statusicon it appear but i can not manage evry forum how i could with this great mod but unsupported.
Is possible for the futur to indicate in a mod that is unsupporte so i do not download and install more? thanks to all and i hope to have solution about this problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.12575 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,377KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (9)bbcode_code
  • (8)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (1)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (3)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete