Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[HOW TO - vB4] Create your own vBulletin page
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41,180

 

California/Idaho
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Lynne Lynne is offline 11-15-2009, 10:00 PM

This is an updated article on how to create your own vbulletin powered page. It's only for use with vB4.

This is NOT my work. I'm posting this from another thread where vB Style took the time to write this out. And his work is based on the article by Gary King here - How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates)

Instructions to Create your Own Page:


1. Create the php page:
- Create a new file, whatever you want to call it (let's say test.php).
- Open up test.php and add the following (replace TEST with whatever template you want to show - WARNING: the template name is CASE SENSITIVE!!!):
Code:
<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################

define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'test');
define('CSRF_PROTECTION', true);  
// change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array();

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array();

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array('TEST',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array();

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
// if your page is outside of your normal vb forums directory, you should change directories by uncommenting the next line
// chdir ('/path/to/your/forums');
require_once('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = construct_navbits(array('' => 'Test Page'));
$navbar = render_navbar_template($navbits);

// ###### YOUR CUSTOM CODE GOES HERE #####
$pagetitle = 'My Page Title';

// ###### NOW YOUR TEMPLATE IS BEING RENDERED ######

$templater = vB_Template::create('TEST');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar', $navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle', $pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());

?>
- Be sure to change 'TEST' to the actual template name (WARNING: the template name is CASE SENSITIVE!!!), and change 'test' to the filename or a unique name for the page. Also, change 'Test Page' and 'My Page Title' to whatever you want to show in the navbits, such as 'Viewing Member Profile' (just an example).

2. Create the Template:
- If you are in debug mode, create the template in your MASTER STYLE so it shows up in all your styles, otherwise make sure you create the template in the style you are using. If following the page above, call the template TEST (WARNING: the template name is CASE SENSITIVE!!!) with the following content:
HTML Code:
{vb:stylevar htmldoctype}
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="{vb:stylevar textdirection}" lang="{vb:stylevar languagecode}" id="vbulletin_html">
  <head>
    <title>{vb:raw vboptions.bbtitle} - {vb:raw pagetitle}</title>
    {vb:raw headinclude}
    {vb:raw headinclude_bottom}
  </head>
  <body>
    
    {vb:raw header}
    
    {vb:raw navbar}
    
    <div id="pagetitle">
      <h1>{vb:raw pagetitle}</h1>
    </div>
    
    <h2 class="blockhead">Title</h2>
    <div class="blockbody">
      <div class="blockrow">
        Text
      </div>
    </div>
    
    {vb:raw footer}
  </body>
</html>
.
Instructions to Add your Page to the Who's Online List (WOL):
Create two plugins using the following hooks. Replace mypage and similar with your information.

1. hook location - online_location_process:
Code:
switch ($filename)
{
    case 'test.php':
        $userinfo['activity'] = 'mypage';
        break;
// add more cases here if you have more than one custom page. no need for multiple plugins. one plugin can handle all.
}
.
2. hook location online_location_unknown:
Code:
switch ($userinfo['activity'])
{
    case 'mypage':
        $userinfo['where'] = '<a href="test.php?'.$vbulletin->session->vars[sessionurl].'">My Page</a>';
        $userinfo['action'] = "Viewing My Page";
        $handled = true;
        break;
// add more cases here if you have more than one custom page. no need for multiple plugins. one plugin can handle all.
}
.
The colored part in the code above shows what you need to change in the plugins (both reds should be the same and both blues should be the same, whereas green can be whatever you want).


Please see this article for help with rendering templates - [vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide
Reply With Quote
  #792  
Old 03-30-2012, 06:17 PM
MacroPhotoPro MacroPhotoPro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 122
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocket2009 View Post
I don't know about methods (1) and (2). As suggested elsewhere in this thread I effectively use a little code in the php page (not the vBulletin template). Mine looks like:

PHP Code:
// #######################################################################

// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################

// #######################################################################

if (!is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo67515139111612))  
{
// give no permission unless in usergroup x, y, or z
        
print_no_permission();
}  

$navbits construct_navbits(array('' => 'TMGA Logos'));

$navbar render_navbar_template($navbits);

// ###### YOUR CUSTOM CODE GOES HERE ##### 


How about a variation on this that also employs create/edit/delete permissions?

For example, in the other custom pages I want to design, these are going to be for an image-hosting service I am making. I want people to pay a fee to host their images, and I want "everyone" to be able to "see" these images, but where only the Administrator and Paid Subscibers can edit, delete, or create new pages.

Further, the permissions should be configured to where Paid Subscribers are only able to edit/delete their own self-created pages, but to where they can't edit/delete the pages of other Paid Subscribers, while the Administrator can edit/delete anyone's pages.

I know how to do this with my CMS Manager, but because these custom pages we're here aren't controlled by that, how would they be thus-configured by hand?

Thanks!

--------------- Added [DATE]1333138408[/DATE] at [TIME]1333138408[/TIME] ---------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
2. Create the Template:
- If you are in debug mode, create the template in your MASTER STYLE so it shows up in all your styles, otherwise make sure you create the template in the style you are using. If following the page above, call the template TEST
How do I operate in debug mode, and will this still work if I am not?
Reply With Quote
  #793  
Old 04-03-2012, 01:02 PM
cbiweb cbiweb is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 238
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I've created the page, and everything works except that users are no longer logged in when visiting the custom page. Clicking any tab or link to navigate away from the page brings me back to the normal logged in state, but the custom page is logged out. How do I fix that?

edit: Found the problem. It's a privacy policy page, and in Options > Site Name / URL / Contact Details the link to the page was the full path (http://sitename.com/forums/privacy.php) instead of relative (privacy.php). Once I made it relative it worked fine.
Reply With Quote
  #794  
Old 04-03-2012, 03:58 PM
MacroPhotoPro MacroPhotoPro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 122
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Code:
<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################

define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'scrImages');
define('CSRF_PROTECTION', true);  
// change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array();

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array();

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array('IMAGE_HOSTING',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array();

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
// if your page is outside of your normal vb forums directory, you should change directories by uncommenting the next line
// chdir ('/path/to/your/forums');
require_once('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = construct_navbits(array('' => 'Macro Image Hosting'));
$navbar = render_navbar_template($navbits);

// ###### YOUR CUSTOM CODE GOES HERE #####
$pagetitle = '';
echo 'I am here';

// ###### NOW YOUR TEMPLATE IS BEING RENDERED ######

$templater = vB_Template::create('IMAGE_HOSTING');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar', $navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle', $pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());

?>

Okay, I have followed your instructions in this tutorial to the letter and am getting a blank test page to generate just fine.

However, the moment I try to add custom code to it, the setup fails. I just did a basic "I am here" insertion, but where you have indicated Your Custom Code Goes Here is generating the quote at the TOP of my test page, rather than in the body where it should be, as follows:


What am I doing wrong and why is the "I am here" quote being displayed at the top of the page, rather than in the body where it should be going?

Thanks for any help!

Jack
Reply With Quote
  #795  
Old 04-03-2012, 04:27 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You need to insert any text you want on the page into the template. You cannot use echo. You would need to do something like:
PHP Code:
$message 'I am here'
and in the appropriate place near the bottom, add:
PHP Code:
$templater->register('message'$message); 
And then in the template, put this where you want the text to appear:
HTML Code:
{vb:raw message}
Reply With Quote
  #796  
Old 04-03-2012, 05:38 PM
MacroPhotoPro MacroPhotoPro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 122
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Okay, I have that bit working right now, thank you.

In order to create an actual page now, can I just use HTML tags, or do I have to register more code with the template?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #797  
Old 04-03-2012, 11:39 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If you have static content for your page, you may just want to type it into the template directly. Using variables is usually something you'd only want to do if you are using php to define some text.
Reply With Quote
  #798  
Old 04-04-2012, 01:57 AM
MacroPhotoPro MacroPhotoPro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 122
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
If you have static content for your page, you may just want to type it into the template directly. Using variables is usually something you'd only want to do if you are using php to define some text.
Okay thank you. Moving on from a basic block of text, what if I just want to make a basic HTML template within my custom page? For example:

Code:
<h1>My Title</h1>

My text

<ul>
  <li>Cameras</li>
    <ul>
      <li>DSLRs</li>
      <li>Point & Shoot</li>
    </ul>
  <li>Lenses</li>
  <li>Etc.</li>
</ul>

More text.

<a href="mailto:myemail">My Email</a>
How would I set the template/php page up? In other words, you had me place {vb:raw imghost_content} just to put "I am here," what kind of variable would I need to add to construct a basic HTML page?

Thanks again!!
Reply With Quote
  #799  
Old 04-04-2012, 05:15 AM
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Use the template code given in the article to create a custom vBulletin page. To just create any html page (without showing the forum framework) use standard html page architecture (basically, you'll find that in the template code in the article, too).
Reply With Quote
  #800  
Old 04-04-2012, 12:59 PM
MacroPhotoPro MacroPhotoPro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 122
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cellarius View Post
Use the template code given in the article to create a custom vBulletin page. To just create any html page (without showing the forum framework) use standard html page architecture (basically, you'll find that in the template code in the article, too).
I placed the simple code I put up top in the "your code goes here" element of the .php page, and my text showed up, but my HTML did not.

I assume I am missing something
Reply With Quote
  #801  
Old 04-04-2012, 02:05 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacroPhotoPro View Post
I placed the simple code I put up top in the "your code goes here" element of the .php page, and my text showed up, but my HTML did not.

I assume I am missing something
Please give us a URL to view the page. My guess is the HTML did show up, but your CSS is causing it to not do what you want.

Search this article for discussions on the problems using <li> on this page and the CSS you need to add to fix it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.08307 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,396KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_html
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (58)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete