Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Catagory Icons Details »»
Catagory Icons
Version: 1.0.1, by Adrian. Adrian. is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2014 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.6.1 Rating:
Released: 09-23-2006 Last Update: 09-23-2006 Installs: 673
DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

Catagory Icons
Tested on 3.6.1
By Adrian at Development chat.com

Current Version: 1.0.1
1.0.1 Status: Working Fine.

Hey,

I noticed a few people around the 'net wanted a modification like this, It wasn't too hard so i thought i would give it ago.

You can specify a image path/url to use for your catagory icon, if none is specified, the forum will use vBulletins default image.
See bottom of post for screenshots

Installation
Import product-catagoryicons.xml (It should make the needed Mysql tables too)
Go to Options > Catagory Icons to enable the mod'.

Template Edits
Open Forum Home Templates > forumhome_forumbit_level1_post
Find:
HTML Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" />
or

HTML Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
Replace with:
HTML Code:
<if condition="$vboptions[customimg_enabled] == 1">
	<if condition="$forum[customimg] == ''">
		<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />

<else />
		<img src="$forum[customimg]" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
</if>

<else />
	<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
</if>
Save.
Open up Forum Home Templates > forumhome_forumbit_level2_post
Find:
HTML Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" />
or

HTML Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
Replace with:
HTML Code:
<if condition="$vboptions[customimg_enabled] == 1">
	<if condition="$forum[customimg] == ''">
		<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />

<else />
		<img src="$forum[customimg]" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
</if>

<else />
	<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
</if>
Done.

That should be it.

To set catagory icons, just edit a forum, the image field is at the bottom.
If you have any problems, just ask.

If you use it, please click install.

Thanks.

Adrian

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #92  
Old 01-03-2007, 03:52 PM
zompus zompus is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Essex
Posts: 55
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Im trying to setup this for my subforum image icons, only. However it's not working: http://www.doubleyellowcard.com/premiership/

Code:
<li style="margin-left: -10px;"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"">
<if condition="$vboptions[customimg_enabled] == 1">
<if condition="$forum[customimg] == ''">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
<else />
<img src="$forum[customimg]" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
</if>
<else />
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
</if>
</a></li>

<if condition="$childforumbits">
<tbody>
	$childforumbits
</tbody>
</if>
Edit: Sorry, being the dumbarse I am forgot to switch the 'Catagory Icons' setting on.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 01-04-2007, 05:44 PM
StarBuG's Avatar
StarBuG StarBuG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This hack sounds totally great but is also not usable for me because the "new post" / "no new post" feature is more important then having own images for every forum.

I really would love to see this implemented.

I would nominate this HOTM then
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 01-05-2007, 01:31 PM
KURTZ KURTZ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,257
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

agree, cause the category icon must go after the "new post" icon like i say previously ...
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 01-05-2007, 04:05 PM
StarBuG's Avatar
StarBuG StarBuG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

No replace the icons like it is now is ok with me
(that is exactly what I am looking for).

We "simply" need to have the possibility to add 2 other graphics per forum.
One for no new posts and one for closed

Placing icons next to it can be done like this:

Create your graphics and name them ForumID.png (e.g.: 2.png)

Then place

Code:
<img src="http://www.yourForum.com/images/statusicon/$forumid.png" alt="" class="sectionImages" />
next to

Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
in the templates
forumhome_forumbit_level2_post
forumhome_forumbit_level1_post
forumhome_subforumbit_nopost
forumhome_subforumbit_post


depending on where you want it.

If you want to modify something via css, create an additional css entry for .sectionImages

Hope this helps

StarBuG

ps: I use this methode for my forum images here: http://www.patientenfragen.net
Just the placement is a little different
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 01-06-2007, 09:34 AM
admin0's Avatar
admin0 admin0 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 123
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke Brown256 View Post
Just as a question, can this mod be updated to give the user the option to place 4 custom images:
One for new posts
one for no new posts
One for Locked forum & no new posts
& one for locked and NEW posts
Has this been implemented?
Someone please tell me how.

For now, I just need an icon as default, and one when there are new posts.



Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:51 AM
KURTZ KURTZ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,257
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

interesting but i do not understand one thing, i would have to repeat your modification for every forum that i have on my board? so after this i find in my templates too many lines how much forum that i have?
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 01-06-2007, 05:21 PM
trickfly trickfly is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 222
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

where can I find loads of catergory icons free ? please PM me
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 01-06-2007, 06:28 PM
StarBuG's Avatar
StarBuG StarBuG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

@admin0: no its not implemented yet. Only one Icon per forum

@KURTZ: you only need to install this hack once, but then you need to define an icon for every forum.

@trickfly: google for free icon libraries or such
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 01-07-2007, 11:14 AM
KURTZ KURTZ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,257
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StarBuG View Post
you only need to install this hack once, but then you need to define an icon for every forum.
yes for every forum and in 4 templates ... so if i've 10 forum i must do 40 modifications right?

thx for the suggestion Star but it's too much job for me, maybe in future ... anyway thx

PS. i know the ctrl+c/ctrl+v function but i prefer a automated (or simly) hack
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:31 PM
GFX Brands GFX Brands is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus,Ohio
Posts: 48
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i tried this hack on v3.6.4 and the images are not showing up only the default ones and i have turned on the hack any help?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.08192 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,331KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_html
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete