Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
vBTwitter Details »»
vBTwitter
Version: 1.0.4, by King Kovifor King Kovifor is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2015 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Integration with vBulletin - Version: 3.8.x Rating:
Released: 02-08-2009 Last Update: 07-13-2009 Installs: 402
DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Templates
Additional Files Translations  
No support by the author.

Description

This modification adds basic Twitter integration to vBulletin. Once a user defines their Twitter username & password within their vB Options (User CP -> Edit Options), the Tweet This X links will appear.

It automatically adds a tweet to their account with the default text of "Check this out! " (which can be edited editing the "twitter_checkout" phrase) and uses your forum URL with either tp or tt.php as the link. These redirect to the thread / post that was tweeted.

Installation
  1. Upload files in the /upload/ folder of the .zip into the directories as is.
  2. Install product file.
  3. Register an OAuth Application here, using:
  4. Click Install on vB.org
  5. Tell Your users.
  6. Enjoy
Upgrading to v1.0.4
  • Upload all files, overwrite everything.
  • Install product file.
  • Register an OAuth Application here, using:
  • Gain and copy the Consumer Key & Secret into vBulletin Options.
Upgrading to v1.0.3 or before.
  • Upload all files, overwrite everything.
  • install product file.
  • Remove template edits. For the record, they are here:
    • Open the postbit or postbit_legacy template (depending on what you use). Find:
      HTML Code:
      <if condition="$show['postcount']">#<a href="showpost.php?$session[sessionurl]p=$post[postid]&amp;postcount=$post[postcount]" target="new" rel="nofollow" id="postcount$post[postid]" name="$post[postcount]"><strong>$post[postcount]</strong></a></if>
      Add before that:
      HTML Code:
      <if condition="$post['twitter_username']"><a href="tweet.php?do=post&amp;id=$post[postid]&amp;c=$post[postid]">Tweet this post!</a></if>
    • Open the SHOWTHREAD template.
      Find:
      HTML Code:
      	<if condition="$show['addpoll']">
      	<tr>
      		<td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></td>
      	</tr>
      	</if>
      Add After:
      HTML Code:
      	<if condition="$vbulletin->userinfo['twitter_username']">
      	<tr>
      		<td class="vbmenu_option">
      			<a href="tweet.php?do=thread&ampid=$threadinfo[threadid]">Tweet This  Thread!</a>
      		</td>
      	</tr>
      	</if>
      Find:
      HTML Code:
      		<if condition="!$show['search_engine']">
      
      			<div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/printer.gif" alt="$vbphrase[show_printable_version]" vspace="1" /> <a href="printthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$threadid" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[show_printable_version]</a></div>
      			<div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/sendtofriend.gif" alt="$vbphrase[email_this_page]" vspace="1" /> <a href="sendmessage.php?$session[sessionurl]do=sendtofriend&amp;t=$threadid" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[email_this_page]</a></div>
      		</if>
      Add After:
      HTML Code:
      		<if condition="$vbulletin->userinfo['twitter_username']"><a href="tweet.php?do=thread&amp;id=$threadinfo[threadid]">Tweet This  Thread!</a></if>
Requirements

THIS MODIFICATION REQUIRES PHP 5 DUE TO THE CLASS THAT IS USED!

PHP'S CURL EXTENSION IS ALSO USED! THE API CALLS ARE COMPLETELY DEPENDENT ON THEM!


This modification should work on vBulletin v3.5+, but was only tested on a vB 3.8 install.

Using the "tp.php" switch added in v1.0.2

With the release of v1.0.2, a switch between showpost.php?p=ID&postcount=COUNT and showthread.php?p=ID#postID has been added. Using it is simple, but requires a code edit (Note: This is a SUPPORTED code edit!). Open up tp.php and find this line:

PHP Code:
define('SHOWPOST'true); 
Change that line to this:

PHP Code:
define('SHOWPOST'false); 

This will automatically trigger the change any time it is loaded. This works retroactively and any links will automatically use the new settings once changed!

Download Now

File Type: zip vBTwitter v1.0.4.zip (13.2 KB, 1233 views)

Screenshots

File Type: jpeg tweet1.jpg.jpeg (81.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpeg tweet2.jpg.jpeg (89.5 KB, 0 views)

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #532  
Old 07-15-2009, 03:28 PM
mykkal's Avatar
mykkal mykkal is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 485
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelaS View Post
Hey King, I am having a problem (of course)

After I installed and configured vB Twitter (which was smooth and easy..THANKS!), it seems that I am having a problem making any post on twitter at all..in fact when I hit "Tweet this Thread!" all that seems to happen is a page refresh - no twitter.

Any ideas?

Thanks man, you rock!
that means your application is set to read only. Even if you fix it you will still have problems. create a new application set it up as read & write access and then use it. if you use the application on the wrong settings in the beginning that user is screwed. you can change it to the correct settings and other users setting up the application will work fine but the user that authorizes the app under read only is screwed
Reply With Quote
  #533  
Old 07-15-2009, 04:27 PM
MichaelaS MichaelaS is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks! that does make sense. You rock!

I wonder if there is a way to "reset" a user's settings so that the person is no longer screwed..
Reply With Quote
  #534  
Old 07-15-2009, 05:10 PM
fmckinnon fmckinnon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 75
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hooray - glad I waited - will do a clean install this evening and report!
Reply With Quote
  #535  
Old 07-15-2009, 05:23 PM
mykkal's Avatar
mykkal mykkal is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 485
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i uninstalled. I'll reinstall when the "check this out!" portion is changed to custom titles and links.

I've heard Oauth is a improvement but for myself and my users... there's nothing different here. I need custom thread titles. We all do

Great work King. Let me know when you take that big step we've all been wanting
Reply With Quote
  #536  
Old 07-15-2009, 05:52 PM
barcena's Avatar
barcena barcena is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 262
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barcena View Post
Sorry if my question is already posted but I can't posibly read 35 pages.

1. Will this work with vbseo or it is irrelevant? (Don't have it yet but planning to..)

2. I did everything as the instructions says, or so I think, and
I'm not seeing the twitter icon
I'm getting this error when click on the Twitter feature. (See attachment)
Any help I will appreciate very much.

Please can somebody answer me?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #537  
Old 07-15-2009, 10:11 PM
King Kovifor's Avatar
King Kovifor King Kovifor is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 3,872
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybertims View Post
All works well except when it posts to Twitter it doesn't post a link as such....just some text. There is no more tinyurl link in the twitter update.

Cheers
There's no link? It auto posts a test tweeting saying a successful authorization.

Quote:
Originally Posted by barcena View Post
Sorry if my question is already posted but I can't posibly read 35 pages.

1. Will this work with vbseo or it is irrelevant? (Don't have it yet but planning to..)

2. I did everything as the instructions says, or so I think, and
I'm not seeing the twitter icon
I'm getting this error when click on the Twitter feature. (See attachment)
Any help I will appreciate very much.
I have no vBSEO support, it redirects to the direct link. I don't have vBSEO. No twitter icon? In the thread drop down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykkal View Post
King, please make me a priority this morning.

I cleared the OAUTH fields to in an attempt to resetup my account to twtter. It allowed me to authenticate to twitter but now I cannot log into my site! whenever I use my password it tells me it cannot authenticate me. why is this?

Its definitely related to the vbtwitter app. only the users that I deleted the tokens for are having this problem. All the other users are not.

I'm absolutely sure i'm logging in correctly. please assist this is urgent becuase i have jobs we've been paid to post and cannot.
If you uninstall and reinstall, it will remove OAuth tokens. I am not sure if deleting tokens such as that will screw everyone over...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelaS View Post
Hey King, I am having a problem (of course)

After I installed and configured vB Twitter (which was smooth and easy..THANKS!), it seems that I am having a problem making any post on twitter at all..in fact when I hit "Tweet this Thread!" all that seems to happen is a page refresh - no twitter.

Any ideas?

Thanks man, you rock!
Did you set you application as Read & Write?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykkal View Post
i uninstalled. I'll reinstall when the "check this out!" portion is changed to custom titles and links.

I've heard Oauth is a improvement but for myself and my users... there's nothing different here. I need custom thread titles. We all do

Great work King. Let me know when you take that big step we've all been wanting
This update only has check this out. That was intentional. All major feature updates, such as custom titles and links are found in v1.1. That has been the plan all along. I'm just tired of dealing with mcrypt so I made this quick update. I'm sorry that it isn't "up to your par," but it's all your going to get right now. Until v1.1 is ready, you'll have it. Give it the time it needs...
Reply With Quote
  #538  
Old 07-15-2009, 10:15 PM
King Kovifor's Avatar
King Kovifor King Kovifor is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 3,872
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squishi View Post
So what's new in v1.0.4?
Maybe you could add the features to the first post?
OAuth integration. The second post in this thread (Comment #1) is the change log.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykkal View Post
Got past this problem but when i click 'Tweet this thread' the post never appears. I saw that a few others had this problem.

Everything is setup correctly as I can see. Will check the installation procedure again but its all done.

I just attempt to tweet and nothing happens

Also... I noticed a feature in your screenshots that I don't see on my board after installation. "tweet this post' is only availble from the thread tools drop down. There's no link to it next to the permalink like in your example. Is that a defect?

Look here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachmen...7&d=1235596093
If you are talking about the "Twitter" Drop down, that's only in v1.1. But what feature don't you see? And it should still appear there. It's fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybertims View Post
All works well except when it posts to Twitter it doesn't post a link as such....just some text. There is no more tinyurl link in the twitter update.

Cheers
No link? Are you talking about the successful tweet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by barcena View Post
Sorry if my question is already posted but I can't posibly read 35 pages.

1. Will this work with vbseo or it is irrelevant? (Don't have it yet but planning to..)

2. I did everything as the instructions says, or so I think, and
I'm not seeing the twitter icon
I'm getting this error when click on the Twitter feature. (See attachment)
Any help I will appreciate very much.
You didn't upload all files, and still confused on the first one.
Reply With Quote
  #539  
Old 07-16-2009, 03:10 AM
barcena's Avatar
barcena barcena is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 262
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Kovifor View Post
OAuth integration. The second post in this thread (Comment #1) is the change log.



If you are talking about the "Twitter" Drop down, that's only in v1.1. But what feature don't you see? And it should still appear there. It's fine.



No link? Are you talking about the successful tweet?


You didn't upload all files, and still confused on the first one.
Hi, this is what I have, please see the attachted pics, I don't know technicalities but I guess I did it right, could it be my server or I'm missing something?

I think I did it like on Upgrading to v1.0.4 instead of the simple Installation, did I took the hard way?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Twitter.jpg (75.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Twitter2.jpg (232.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Twitter3.jpg (158.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Tweet5.jpg (140.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #540  
Old 07-16-2009, 03:54 AM
King Kovifor's Avatar
King Kovifor King Kovifor is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 3,872
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barcena View Post
Hi, this is what I have, please see the attachted pics, I don't know technicalities but I guess I did it right, could it be my server or I'm missing something?

I think I did it like on Upgrading to v1.0.4 instead of the simple Installation, did I took the hard way?
Did you just install the .xml and not upload all the files found in /upload/? As that would cause all your errors. Because it looks like you just installed the .xml.
Reply With Quote
  #541  
Old 07-16-2009, 07:00 AM
barcena's Avatar
barcena barcena is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 262
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hum... lenme double check.

Know what I will uninstall and install the product again. Thanks King, I will let you know.

Update:

King bear with me here please (or any other member willing to help me out) as I'm not expert or anything. The file named Upload.. when I try to upload anything from there it will give me an error, it only allows me to upload (trought products and plugins) the XML file. What should I do step by step please?.

Meaning, there's a file named vBTwitter v1.0.4==>Upload file/product XML==>Images/Includes/4 other files==>etcetc

When you say
Quote:
Upload files in the /upload/ folder of the .zip into the directories as is.
What are the directories? Sorry about my ignorance but I want to learn and do it myself.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.11855 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,390KB
  • Queries Executed 27 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (6)bbcode_html
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (14)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (7)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete