Go Back   vb.org Archive > Community Discussions > Modification Requests/Questions (Unpaid)
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2004, 04:43 PM
latinguy latinguy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Customizing login.php

Hi,

How can I modify the login.php file so when someone tries to log in it only checks 2 fields in the db table, the username and password. Nothing about salt and others.. only check if the username and password entered are in the database table, if they are found then you are logged in if they are not found give the error.

Thanks in advance

Daniel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2004, 04:56 PM
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,863
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Impossible. You need the salt as for security reasons passwords aren't stored in the database - only MD5-Hashes with a salt to randomize the results.
This makes it more difficult to crack passwords, as MD5 itself is not collision-free.

But you could simplify the login very much, avoiding almost all "vB-Overhead".
What exactly do you want to achieve?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2004, 05:04 PM
latinguy latinguy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
Impossible. You need the salt as for security reasons passwords aren't stored in the database - only MD5-Hashes with a salt to randomize the results.
This makes it more difficult to crack passwords, as MD5 itself is not collision-free.

But you could simplify the login very much, avoiding almost all "vB-Overhead".
What exactly do you want to achieve?
What I want to do is this.. in http://vac.dndweb.net/forum when someone tries to log in on top and click 'log in' the action page only looks for the username and password. If the query recordcount is 1 (meaning it was found) then you are successfuly logged in if not you get an error.

How can I do this??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2004, 05:27 PM
latinguy latinguy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by latinguy
What I want to do is this.. in http://vac.dndweb.net/forum when someone tries to log in on top and click 'log in' the action page only looks for the username and password. If the query recordcount is 1 (meaning it was found) then you are successfuly logged in if not you get an error.

How can I do this??
I was thinking something like this:

function login($username,$password)
{

global $myDB;

$myquery = "SELECT username, password FROM forum_user WHERE (username = '$username') AND (password = '".md5($password)."')";
$myresult = $myDB->query($myquery);

... rest of coding here before it gets logged in ...

}

login($_POST['vb_login_username'],$_POST['vb_login_password']);

Don't know if that makes sense at all.

Hope you get what I want to do

Hugs,

Daniel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2004, 05:41 PM
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,863
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

So you actually just want to verify that username and password are correct?

Then this might get you started:

PHP Code:
<?php
  
if (!isset($_POST[username])) {
    echo 
"Please enter your username &amp; password below<br />";
    echo 
"<form method=\"post\" action=\"$PHP_SELF\">";
?>
    Username: <input name="username" size="30"><br /> 
    Password: <input name="password" type="password" size="30"><br>
    <input type="submit">&nbsp;<input type="reset">
    </form>
<?php    
  
} else {
    
// Check if combination is correct
    
include('./includes/config.php');
    
$link mysql_connect($servername$dbusername$dbpassword) or die("Could not connect mySQL-Server");
    
mysql_select_db($dbname) or die ("Could not open vB database"); 
    
$res mysql_query("SELECT userid,username,password FROM user WHERE MD5(CONCAT(MD5('$_POST[password]'), salt)) = password AND username='$_POST[username]'"$link) or die ("Invalid query");
    if (
mysql_num_rows($res) == 1)
      echo 
"Login OK";
    else
      echo 
"Login failed";
  }
?>
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2004, 07:20 PM
yoyo yoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Oh, thank you! I searched ages for this!

Can I ask, though, are there any security implications in accessing username and password in this way?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04234 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,217KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (6)post_thanks_box
  • (6)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (6)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (6)postbit
  • (6)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (6)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete