Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 General Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2012, 04:56 PM
Brexen Brexen is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 81
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Replacing a Colour with FieldID in CSS

Hi there.

I would like to make a colour variable in CSS selectable via Profile Fields.

In short, I want to change the following part of my code;

REMOVED by Poster

into;

REMOVED by Poster

So that the value set in ProfileField 2 will become the colour used in the CSS.

I know how to make the List of variables in the Profile Fields however I don't know how to link the Field ID into the CSS.

Normally it would be something like;
REMOVED by Poster

However, I don't think this will work with the CSS. Please correct me if i'm wrong however.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:33 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If you want each post author's color selection to be used in the postbit, then you can't put it in the CSS. But you could use it directly in the postbit template.

ETA: or if you must put that info in the CSS and you have a relatively small number of choices, you could make a class for each one then have the dropdown values be the class names, and then use the class name in the postbit template.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2012, 06:30 PM
Brexen Brexen is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 81
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
If you want each post author's color selection to be used in the postbit, then you can't put it in the CSS. But you could use it directly in the postbit template.

ETA: or if you must put that info in the CSS and you have a relatively small number of choices, you could make a class for each one then have the dropdown values be the class names, and then use the class name in the postbit template.
Hey there,

I tried doing what you said, but it's given me an error for some reason.

Here's my CMS;

.ghosthax-blue {
color: #FFFFFF;
font-weight: bold;
text-shadow: 0px 0px 2px #FFFFFF, 1px 0px 1px #000099, 0px -1px 1px #000099, 0px 1px 1px #000099, -1px 0px 1px #000099, 1px 0px 1px #000099;
}

This is what was entered in the Postbit;

{vb:raw post.field21}Status:</span> {vb:raw post.onlinestatus}</div>

This is the Profile Field;



and here is the outcome;



Any ideas?

It will look stunning if I can get it working. Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2012, 06:57 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You can't include html in profile field options, the special characters get escaped and you get something like you see above. Why don't you just make the choices the color names then in postbit use something like:

Code:
<span class="ghosthax-{vb:raw post.field21}">Status:</span> {vb:raw post.onlinestatus}</div>

(of course you could also do this:
Code:
<span class="ghosthax" style="color:{vb:raw post.field21}">Status:</span> {vb:raw post.onlinestatus}</div>

then you wouldn't need the separate color classes).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2012, 07:00 PM
Brexen Brexen is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 81
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
You can't include html in profile field options, the special characters gets escaped and you see the result. Why don't you just make the choices the color name then in postbit something like:

Code:
<span class="ghosthax-{vb:raw post.field21}">Status:</span> {vb:raw post.onlinestatus}</div>

(of course you could also do this:
Code:
<span class="ghosthax" style="color:{vb:raw post.field21}">Status:</span> {vb:raw post.onlinestatus}</div>

then you wouldn't need the classes).
Even better would this work?

<span class="ghosthax-{vb:raw post.field21}">Status:</span>

Then change the options in the Profile field to the colour name, like blue.

Is that right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2012, 07:05 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brexen View Post
Even better would this work?

<span class="ghosthax-{vb:raw post.field21}">Status:</span>

Then change the options in the Profile field to the colour name, like blue.

Is that right?
Yes, I think that should work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2012, 07:11 PM
Brexen Brexen is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 81
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
Yes, I think that should work.
Ok, next problem. I've changed the ProfileField to the colours now. However, this is the problem I am getting.





It's either, my forum hasn't updated the ProfileField (It's been 5 mins) or something is still not correct =/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2012, 07:17 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If you change the choices I think each user that had a value will have to go to their profile and save it again, or else they'll still have the old value. Also, users that haven't edited their profile since you added that field will have a blank value for that profile field, even if you specified a default, so you'll have to account for that somehow (I suppose you could make a class named "ghosthax-" that's the same as ghosthax-default).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-07-2012, 07:28 PM
Brexen Brexen is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 81
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
If you change the choices I think each user that had a value will have to go to their profile and save it again, or else they'll still have the old value. Also, users that haven't edited their profile since you added that field will have a blank value for that profile field, even if you specified a default, so you'll have to account for that somehow (I suppose you could make a class named "ghosthax-" that's the same as ghosthax-default).
Yes sorry, stupid mistake by me. I couldn't thank you you enough. You've been amazing help.

Thankyou.

--------------- Added [DATE]1331196951[/DATE] at [TIME]1331196951[/TIME] ---------------

New Problem;





Results in the following;



The value in the {vb:raw post.field21} doesn't seem to be entered into the template in DB Tech templates.



Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2012, 01:43 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

We can't help with mod-related problems in this forum, you'd have to ask in the mod thread.

It could be that $post isn't registered in their template, but you'd have to look at the code to see.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03942 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,256KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete