Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2011, 03:28 AM
downloadsuk downloadsuk is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: China
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Use forumdisplay as forum home

So,

My board at the moment has one single forum and I want to have the forum posts as the home page.

I know I could make my own custom page, but seeing as FORUMDISPLAY is already set up to do this, it seems like a needless task. However - FORUMDISPLAY will only display the forum it's passed a request like "?f=4"

I can set the forumhome page to be FORUMDISPLAY, however, vbulletin appends .php after the name, so I can't put "FORUMDISPLAY.PHP?f=4" as the home page because the url ends up being "/forumdisplay.php?f=4.php"

I've been looking and looking at all the vbulletin files to see if I can find the place where the values get parsed to tell FORUMDISPLAY exactly which forum display. i

is it in init.php? forumdisplay.php itself? and how can I modify the values to make it display a forum by default if it isn't supplied in the URL?

Any help is greatly apprecaited.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2011, 03:32 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Do a redirect in your CPanel.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2011, 06:30 AM
downloadsuk downloadsuk is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: China
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

A redirect to what? the point is I don't want to have to use a GET request at the end of the URL as if I set the forum home page or the cpanel URL options to direct to that, it will mess up other requests if they get specifically sent to forum home?

Or am I missing something?

Essentially what I want is to have the main forum.php AS a forum. no sub forums or having to click through to get the main forum. I just want it to contain posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2011, 07:15 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Right, you want to to redirect to this:

forumdisplay.php?f=4.php

when you first go to your site right?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-02-2011, 07:30 AM
downloadsuk downloadsuk is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: China
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I can set the forumhome page to be FORUMDISPLAY, however, vbulletin appends .php after the name, so I can't put "FORUMDISPLAY.PHP?f=4" as the home page because the url ends up being "/forumdisplay.php?f=4.php"

So here's the rub:

you can set the forum / cms / blog page to values in the ACP, and you can also go to forum settings to set the forum home. but this is good enough.

Essentially, I want "forums.php" to not display a list of forums (as I only have one) but a list of posts. This is done naturally through vbulletin @ forumdisplay.php.

forumdisplay.php will only display a forum if it gets a valid GET / POST request. So I want to find a way so if forumdisplay.php is called without a value (a $REQUEST value) then it will still display my single forum.

Make sense?

**** Added ****

I thought about adding a file as the home page : forumjump.php

and making it

Code:
<?php

   header( 'Location: http://www.mysite.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4' ) ;

?>
but this isn't good for SEO right?

**** end add ****
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-2011, 08:02 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You can redirect your domain to:
Quote:
http://www.yourdomain.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4.php

in the CPanel. that way, whenever someone goes to your domain, they will automatically be redirected there. You can also do it in a index.php file in your domain root.

Make sense?

--------------- Added [DATE]1299060340[/DATE] at [TIME]1299060340[/TIME] ---------------

Quote:
I thought about adding a file as the home page : forumjump.php

and making it

Code:
<?php

   header( 'Location: http://www.mysite.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4' ) ;

?>
but this isn't good for SEO right?

**** end add ****
I did mine that way for years until I started doing it in the CPanel.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-2011, 08:17 AM
downloadsuk downloadsuk is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: China
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

<a href="http://www.yourdomain.com/forums/forumdisplay" target="_blank">http://www.yourdomain.com/forums/forumdisplay</a>.php?f=4.php

my beef with this is that it's a malformed get request. I don't like it and it's ugly. Any other alternatives?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-02-2011, 08:37 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

None that I know of.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05208 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,228KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (8)post_thanks_box
  • (8)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (8)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (8)postbit
  • (8)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (8)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete