Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:23 PM
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,481
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Counting users posts in particular forum?

Hi all, i have an add on by Bananalive (easy forms), this add on posts the contents of a form to a particular forum, the post shows it was posted by the user but it doesnt add to the post count, however, is it possible to count the posts in that forum per user and show the count in the users info in postbit?

So for arguments sake, you would have Username then under that age....etc then Top Tip Count xx (Top Tips is the forum that users will have submitted the form), i'm no coder but quite capable of doing as instructed, i have made some template changes myself with no problem but nothing very special.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2009, 09:30 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I did that on my site. I added a couple of columns to the user table for the counts to go in and then created a plugin (newthread_post_complete) so if they posted in xx forum, it increased this new column number. I never really finished it to delete threads if the thread is deleted, so I made a quick php script to run as a cron when I feel like it to do a recount.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2009, 10:06 PM
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,481
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
I did that on my site. I added a couple of columns to the user table for the counts to go in and then created a plugin (newthread_post_complete) so if they posted in xx forum, it increased this new column number. I never really finished it to delete threads if the thread is deleted, so I made a quick php script to run as a cron when I feel like it to do a recount.
Lynne, thanks for the response, i know i have a couple of hundred posts but they were either asking questions or answering something i actually knew about!

Could you possibly give me a blow by blow on how to?, i am very capable of doing as instructed but need some help on how.

--------------- Added [DATE]1233446955[/DATE] at [TIME]1233446955[/TIME] ---------------

EDIT: The posts won't be deleted (or at least they shouldn't) the forum is purely to recieve the form, members only have viewing rights to the forum nothing else.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2009, 11:08 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Um, yikes! I posted the wrong response in this thread. That was meant to go into another thread. Sometimes I just CANNOT multitask!!!

OK, let's see.... I keep count for two different reasons, one in forum a&b, another in forum c&d. I added two columns to the user table - ttdtrader_s and ttdtrader_v - int(10), unsigned, not null, default 0. Then created a plugin at newthread_post_complete with the following code:
PHP Code:
if (in_array($foruminfo['forumid'], array(a,b))) { 
    
$db->query_write("UPDATE user SET ttdtrader_s = ttdtrader_s + 1 WHERE userid=" $vbulletin->userinfo['userid']); 

if (
in_array($foruminfo['forumid'], array(c,d))) { 
    
$db->query_write("UPDATE user SET ttdtrader_v = ttdtrader_v + 1 WHERE userid=" $vbulletin->userinfo['userid']); 

To initially do the count, I ran a couple of queries - I actually wrote them into a Scheduled Task so I can run it easily:

PHP Code:
$vbulletin->db->query("
    UPDATE " 
TABLE_PREFIX "user
    SET user.ttdtrader_s = (SELECT count(*) FROM " 
TABLE_PREFIX "thread WHERE thread.postuserid = user.userid AND forumid IN ('a','b') AND sticky=0)"
);
$vbulletin->db->query("
    UPDATE " 
TABLE_PREFIX "user
    SET user.ttdtrader_v = (SELECT count(*) FROM " 
TABLE_PREFIX "thread WHERE thread.postuserid = user.userid AND forumid IN ('c','d') AND sticky=0)"
); 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2009, 12:22 AM
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,481
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Lynne, thanks for sticking with this!, i created a table using:
PHP Code:
CREATE TABLE ctoptip (count INT(10UNSIGNED NOT NULL);
INSERT INTO ctoptip SET count 0
and created aplugin as instructed with
PHP Code:
if (in_array($foruminfo['forumid'], array(52))) { 
    
$db->query_write("UPDATE user SET ctoptip = ctoptip + 1 WHERE userid=" $vbulletin->userinfo['userid']); 

where can i put the rest so that it updates in the postbit for the user everytime the create the post via the form?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2009, 02:20 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I did NOT create a new table, I just added two new columns to the user table so the variables would be available to me whenever the userinfo was grabbed. You can do it your way, but you will have to make sure to modify the queries where needed to get the variables you want (like in the postbit you are talking about).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2009, 09:09 AM
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,481
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok, i deleted that new table and added to the vb_user table (when setting up vbulletin i chose vb as the prefix for the database) could you tell me where i need to put the next section of code in order for it to show in the Postbit and always update when they fill that form in? ( i know its only half of the next section of code as i am only working with one forum id52)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2009, 03:16 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Say your new column is called "simon1", it will be available as $post[simon1] in the postbit templates. What I did is create a new template (I had a few lines for mine), say postbit_simon with the new values in there:

HTML Code:
<if condition="$post['simon1']>= '1'">$post[simon1] Threads in Simon's forum<br /></if>
Then I created a plugin using postbit_display_start to insert that line using a template hook:

PHP Code:
eval('$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_right] .= " ' fetch_template('postbit_simon1') . '";'); 
If you only have the one line in the template, you can probably just do it directly in that plugin:

PHP Code:
if ($post[simon1] >= '1') {
eval(
'$template_hook[postbit_userinfo_right] .= "$post[simon1] Threads in Simon\'s forum<br />";');

(NOT tested, but it's something like that. html must be escaped properly if using that method.)

If you use that method, don't forget to also cache the template. (Well, you don't have to, but it's good practice.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2009, 04:57 PM
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,481
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Lynne, thanks again for the help, i can't get it to work, i added a column called ctoptip i created a template like you said (called postbit_ctoptip) and the new plugin but it shows nothing?

Its getting frustrating now, like i said i'm no coder!

--------------- Added [DATE]1233515657[/DATE] at [TIME]1233515657[/TIME] ---------------

I made a post directly in the forum and got a db error user doesn't exist
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2009, 05:22 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

user doesn't exist? But there is nothing in there to do with the user. What was the exact error? And what is the exact code/template code your are using?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04283 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,266KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (6)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete