Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
  #1  
Old 11-11-2005, 04:37 PM
harmor19 harmor19 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,324
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default sql injection through address bar.

I am reading this article on security and it mentions something about passing data through the address bar.

If I had
PHP Code:
UPDATE $table SET ReadCount ReadCount 1 WHERE MessageID $MID
I could pass this through the address bar
PHP Code:
mypage.php?table=admin SET Password 'foo';
I noticed that I have this in my own script
PHP Code:
$query="UPDATE rpg_character 
     SET 
     move_v = '
$move_v', 
     move_h ='
$move_h'
     WHERE characterid='"
.$rpg['characterid']."'";
     
mysql_query($query); 
So I wanted to test it but it doesn't work.
PHP Code:
rpg_index.php?move_v='60' WHERE characterid '1'
Here's the article http://www.hudzilla.org/phpbook/read.php/17_1_1

I am guessing that browsers recognize the "#" character.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2005, 04:39 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Behind you
Posts: 2,779
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

it would only work if a variable of the same name existed, was used in a query string, and was not previously cleansed.

In a nutshell, it CAN happen - but its rare and really only through irresponsible coding or a complete oversight.

BTW: It couldnt happen the way you are trying to do it anyway. Why exactly are you posting this anyway? This is 'hacking' fodder which kind of concerns me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2005, 04:46 PM
harmor19 harmor19 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,324
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I don't plan on hacking anyone's site, I just wanted more insight about sql injection to protect myself.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2005, 04:55 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Behind you
Posts: 2,779
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Here is a little information on protecting yourself from injections with vb however it looks a bit dated (globalize isnt used as such anymore)

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...ight=injection

HTHs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2005, 06:41 PM
harmor19 harmor19 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,324
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thank you.

This is offtopic
I have four button "up, down, right, left"
When a button is pressed it adds or substracts from the value and re-inserts into the database.

PHP Code:
if (isset($_POST['up']))
    {
      
$move_v $rpg['move_v'] + 10;
    }
    elseif (isset(
$_POST['down']))
    {
       
$move_v $rpg['move_v'] - 10
    }  
    else
   {    
      
$move_v $rpg['move_v'];   
    }
      
//code for left and right buttons here ($move_h)

$query "UPDATE rpg_character 
     SET 
     move_v = '
$move_v', 
     move_h ='
$move_h'
     WHERE characterid='"
.$rpg['characterid']."'";
     
mysql_query($query); 
What I'm doing is using the php image function and on that script I'm getting the vertical ($move_h) and the horizontal ($move_h) positions.
It'll place and image according to those coordinates.

So my question is if I have a lot of people playing at the same time will it bog down the server?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2005, 06:53 PM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well it for sure could get wrong results (there is a little time between calculating and submitting the query). I suggest somehting like the following:

PHP Code:
$move = array();
if (isset(
$_POST['up']))
{
  
$move[] = "move_v = move_v + 10";
    } 
    elseif (isset(
$_POST['down'])) 
    { 
       
$move[] = "move_v = move_v - 10";
    }   

if (
$move)
{
  
$move_sql implode(", "$move);
$query "UPDATE rpg_character  
     SET  
     
$move_sql
     WHERE characterid='"
.$rpg['characterid']."'"
     
mysql_query($query);  

Just typed it here, so not tested and probably made a typo somewhere, but you get the idea.

You can add the code to add to the $move array for horizontal yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2005, 09:39 PM
harmor19 harmor19 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,324
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I did the mktime on my script using my way and your way and they're both pretty much the same.

For my way I get "0.00130414962769" seconds
For your way I get "0.00123000144958" seconds
I'll use your way since it looks more complex.

I have anoher offtopic question

How can I pass a variable to a script without loading the script I'm sending it to?
Instead of doing this...
Code:
<form action='somescript.php' method='post>
Then on somescript.php I would use $_POST['var']
But I would like to send $_POST['var'] to somescript.php with the browser redirecting to somescript.php?
I know it sounds weird but I may have an use for it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04147 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,233KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_php
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (7)post_thanks_box
  • (7)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (7)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (7)postbit
  • (7)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (7)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete