vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Simplying a few MySQL Queries - Help Needed (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=99337)

CommuneZoom 10-26-2005 03:33 AM

Simplying a few MySQL Queries - Help Needed
 
I have the following queries that, if possible, I need to simplify. I'd like to knock this down to as few queries as possible as I will need to call additional (probably 2 other items) from the same row.

I am just looking to get the number of rows matching each set, though I'd rather knock 4 queries down to 1-2 if there is another way to do so.

PHP Code:

$getpending $db->query_read("SELECT * FROM son_customers WHERE ispending = '1'");
$totalpending $db->num_rows($getpending);

$getactive $db->query_read("SELECT * FROM son_customers WHERE ispending = '0'");
$totalactive $db->num_rows($getactive); 

Is there an alternative, of will I be stuck making 4 seperate calls?

Guest190829 10-26-2005 03:48 AM

Try the below, maybe it will work. I need to start coding php more, and stop with vb.net. I'm starting to forget stuff!

PHP Code:

 $getcustomers $db->query_read("SELECT COUNT(*) FROM son_customers");
 WHILE (
$result $db->fetch_array($getcustomers))
{
    if (
$result[ispending] == '0')
    {
        
$totalpending $totalpending 1
    
}
    else
    {
        
$totalactive $totalactive 1
    
}



CommuneZoom 10-26-2005 04:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Danny.VBT
Try the below, maybe it will work. I need to start coding php more, and stop with vb.net. I'm starting to forget stuff!

PHP Code:

 $getcustomers $db->query_read("SELECT COUNT(*) FROM son_customers");
 WHILE (
$result $db->fetch_array($getcustomers))
{
    if (
$result[ispending] == '0')
    {
        
$totalpending $totalpending 1
    
}
    else
    {
        
$totalactive $totalactive 1
    
}



Thanks for the reply, however, I need them both to be showing at the same time and not alternating.

As I need it to report the total for the entire table, the above will not work. I have 8 entries in the table and the above reports a blank for active and 1 for pending (when all 8 are pending).

Guest190829 10-26-2005 04:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CommuneZoom
Thanks for the reply, however, I need them both to be showing at the same time and not alternating.

As I need it to report the total for the entire table, the above will not work. I have 8 entries in the table and the above reports a blank for active and 1 for pending (when all 8 are pending).

Try it without the Count clause. So...

PHP Code:

 $getcustomers $db->query_read("SELECT * FROM son_customers");
 WHILE (
$result $db->fetch_array($getcustomers))
{
    if (
$result[ispending] == '0')
    {
        
$totalpending $totalpending 1
    
}
    else
    {
        
$totalactive $totalactive 1
    
}



Paul M 10-26-2005 06:02 AM

I think the logic may be backwards in that, totalactive should be when ispending = 0.

Try ;

PHP Code:

$getcustomers $db->query_read("SELECT ispending FROM son_customers"); 
 WHILE (
$result $db->fetch_array($getcustomers)) 

    if (
$result[ispending]) 
    { 
        
$totalpending += 
    

    else 
    { 
        
$totalactive += 
    




Marco van Herwaarden 10-26-2005 12:43 PM

PHP Code:

$getcustomers $db->query_first("SELECT SUM(IF(ispending = 1, 1, 0)) as pending,  SUM(IF(ispending = 0, 1, 0)) as active FROM son_customers"); 

finished.

Guest190829 10-26-2005 04:53 PM

Can you explain this bit?

[sql]IF(ispending = 1, 1, 0)) [/sql]

I've never seen this before...

Marco van Herwaarden 10-26-2005 05:43 PM

if the value of ispending is '1', it will result in a value of 1, otherwise 0 (zero), if you then sum it, you will count 1 for each row that have ispending = 1.

By testing ispending = 0, you can reverse the count.

Paul M 10-26-2005 05:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarcoH64
PHP Code:

$getcustomers $db->query_first("SELECT SUM(IF(ispending = 1, 1, 0)) as pending,  SUM(IF(ispending = 0, 1, 0)) as active FROM son_customers"); 

finished.

Interesting question, is it quicker to use a more complicated SQL query, or a simpler query and a bit of PHP.

Marco van Herwaarden 10-26-2005 08:48 PM

That depends totally on the query. Since this one are simple embedded functions, not used in where/order by/join conditions, i would say the query is much faster then doing it in php.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01151 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,756KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_php_printable
  • (3)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete