vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   RPG Integration Hack (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=102)
-   -   Class Type Item Error (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=93959)

legendarysam 08-09-2005 09:39 PM

Class Type Item Error
 
I read through the RPG FAQ and ran through the first two pages of this forum for similar problems and came up with nothing. So don't yell at me for cloneposting, because I checked. x]

When the RPG is installed, it has one class type, Generic (Duh). I added more class types, and aligned specific classes with those types, then created items per each class. Okay, now, when people buy an item for their class type, it does not appear in their inventory...infact...it isn't...at all, however; the item was sold, as it appears to be deducted from the stock total, and added to the sold total.

If I use only one class type (IE: Generic), it works perfectly fine, however; I have no way of stopping people from buying odd weapons (IE: A mage buying a broadsword >.>).

So, with this, I require your help.

Revan 08-10-2005 08:29 AM

Did you make sure the Item Types were set for each item?
And I have no idea about the problem where items don't appear in their inventories, it works for just about everyone else :ermm:
And if a mage buys a Broadsword, provided the Item Types are set correctly, he will be unable to use it in combat.

legendarysam 08-12-2005 09:24 PM

Okay. I've done some tests and this is what I got, so far.

Classes: Swordsman, Mage
Item Type: Generic >> Swordsman, Mage
Item: Knife >> Generic

Follow me? Okay. A swordsman and mage can both buy that knife. But there's more.

Classes: Swordsman, Mage
Item Types: Blade User, Staff User >> Swordsman; Mage (Respectivly)
Items: Knife, Staff >> Blade User; Staff User (Respectivly)

The mage cannot buy the knife, and the swordsman cannot buy the staff. This is what I want, however; when the swordsman tries to buy a knife, or the mage tries to buy the staff, one of the respective items will decrease in stock, and everything appears to be fine, but the item will not appear in the user's inventory.

So, I thought to myself, "It only happens when there's multiple item types. When there's one, and every class is set to one, they can buy items without a hitch. Maybe if there's two types, but each class has access to the type, it will work."

Classes: Swordsman, Mage
Item Types: Blade User, Staff User >> Swordsman & Mage (On both)
Items: Knife, Staff >> Blade User, Staff User (On both)

Now, even though there are two item types, both classes can buy whatever item they please. So I try it, and to my suprise, the item still does not appear in the inventory, after purchase.

So, I conclude that this glitch only happens to me when there are more than one type, regardless of settings. With the default setting of one "Generic" class, everything functions fine.

Something came to mind while typing this, I will be off to test once more...

I've tested and, once again, came up with a suprising result.

I ran the following queries from the admincp:

[sql]
TRUNCATE TABLE rpg_type
[/sql]
[sql]
TRUNCATE TABLE rpg_class
[/sql]
[sql]
TRUNCATE TABLE rpg_items
[/sql]
[sql]
TRUNCATE TABLE rpg_items_cats
[/sql]

I created a generic type, a swordsman class, and a knife item. I went to purchase the knife, and......it did not appear in the user inventory. Which means that either I am missing a step to creating a whole new type or I messed up some vital info while trunicating some RPG tables.

Revan 08-12-2005 10:56 PM

Wow, it sure is nice to see someone doing some extensive research on a bug report rather than just "it doesn't work".
I will do the same tests on my localhost and see what happens.
Thanks for the extended info, it's gonna make my job alot easier :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by legendarysam
Classes: Swordsman, Mage
Item Types: Blade User, Staff User >> Swordsman; Mage (Respectivly)
Items: Knife, Staff >> Blade User; Staff User (Respectivly)

The mage cannot buy the knife, and the swordsman cannot buy the staff. This is what I want, however; when the swordsman tries to buy a knife, or the mage tries to buy the staff, one of the respective items will decrease in stock, and everything appears to be fine, but the item will not appear in the user's inventory.

I cannot reproduce. I did the following:
  1. Added Class Types 'Blade User' and 'Staff User'
  2. Edited Blood Sword to have both Generic AND 'Blade User' properties
  3. Edited Flame Staff to have both Generic AND 'Staff User' properties
  4. Edited Ex-Soldier to be 'Blade User'
  5. Edited Archmage to be 'Staff User'
  6. Went to HQ, made myself Ex-Soldier
  7. Went to Itemshop, and bought Blood Sword.
Everything went fine. The item was added, the stock decreased and the money deducted.
This was on a very mint install on 3.0.8, I did only the minimum required file edits (/global.php, /includes/init.php, /admincp/global.php, /admincp/adminpermissions.php, /admincp/index.php), and I emulated 'uttpoints' by creating it manually in my user table. It was also a fresh download of the zip file in the release thread.

I did not test any of what you said beyond this, as to put it like the vBug Tracker: 'Awaiting Feedback' ;)

legendarysam 08-12-2005 11:38 PM

Well, I'm sure it would work fine, however; from my test results, I concluded:

Quote:

Originally Posted by legendarysam
...either I am missing a step to creating a whole new type or I messed up some vital info while truncating some RPG tables.

I DID truncate almost all of the RPG tables so I could start with my own stuff. So that might be part of the reason...

...I will try to recall a list of what I truncated...
  • rpg_alignment
  • rpg_battle_midis
  • rpg_battle_scenes
  • rpg_battle_stats (By way of 'Reset' command via ACP.)
  • rpg_clan
  • rpg_class
  • rpg_element
  • rpg_ibots
  • rpg_items (By way of 'Reset' command via ACP.)
  • rpg_items_cats (By way of 'Reset' command via ACP.)
  • rpg_items_user (By way of 'Reset' command via ACP.)
  • rpg_lottery
  • rpg_monster_battles
  • rpg_race
  • rpg_type

Is there anything...vital...that you stored on those tables... >.>

Revan 08-12-2005 11:56 PM

Try to either uninstall & reinstall then follow the steps I followed to create the new stuff.
If you can't do this because of user stats, then you must extract the INSERT INTO's from the /install/rpg_mysql-schema.php
What I stored in those tables are... well basically what the table names would indicate. But I can tell you that without proper info and relations between tables, bad things will start to happen even if this issue goes away :p

Btw, I just tested creating a new Class and making it "Blade User", and I could still have the item added to my inventory.

legendarysam 08-12-2005 11:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Revan
Btw, I just tested creating a new Class and making it "Blade User", and I could still have the item added to my inventory.

Yeah, yeah, rub it in.

Okay, so problem sovled. I messed up, I'll just reinstall the hack. This can be closed now. Thank you so much for your support. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01010 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,737KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (7)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete