vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Adding Variables, Globals, etc. (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=91627)

binjured 07-04-2005 09:00 PM

Adding Variables, Globals, etc.
 
Okay, I have come with another question. I am trying to understand how vB is structured so that I can more easily modify it. Take modifying a Postbit, for example. To my knowledge, there are two parts to this:

1) class_postbit.php -- contains the class and various functions used with it to create postbit objects.

2) postbit[_legacy] -- template that uses the variables that are created to draw the page.

So, I tried modifying the postbit to include the word "TEST" before anything else...

Step 1) Opened class_postbit.php, found a spot I thought would be decent for inclusion, and tried to create another variable.
PHP Code:

    function prep_post_end()
    {
    
$this->post['a_test'] = 'TEST';
    } 

Step 2) Opened postbit_legacy template (the one I'm using), and added at the top:
HTML Code:

<div>$post[a_test]</div>
This did not work, what am I doing wrong?


If I wanted to include, say, $vbulletin->$user[userid] somewhere, what would I have to do? add something like:
PHP Code:

global $vbulletin;
$variable $user[userid

;
I know that doesn't work, but what would?

Sorry about all the questions, I am just trying to understand vB's structure so I can ask a lot fewer questions later. I would consult the manual or something, but that doesn't seem to provide any kind of information like this.

Thanks!

Andreas 07-04-2005 10:00 PM

As you can see in the Code, the Class has a Property registry.
This is a reference to the global vB_Registry Object (aka $vbulletin).
So as the P?ostbits are being processed within the Class, you can use $this->registry->userinfo['userid'] to get the Userid.
Or in Templates you can (still?) use $bbuserinfo['userid']

If you set $this->post['foobar'], you must also use $this->post in the Template - just $post is smth. different :)

merk 07-04-2005 11:07 PM

Yeh, if you look at the templates in the template table, $vboptions is translated to $vbulletin->options and same with bbuserinfo.

binjured 07-05-2005 05:42 PM

Problem Solved.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01048 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,717KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (4)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete