vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   We have is_browser (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=76964)

neocorteqz 02-24-2005 10:23 AM

We have is_browser
 
Is it possible to also create a new variable called is_os so we can define OS specific conditionals?

And how would one do this exactly?

Zachery 02-24-2005 11:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by neocorteqz
Is it possible to also create a new variable called is_os so we can define OS specific conditionals?

And how would one do this exactly?

Er. why would you want to do that?

neocorteqz 02-24-2005 12:26 PM

Mainly

The Q3PX plugin doesn't work for Linux or mac. And i find it's rather annoying to see empty boxes saying you need to install this plugin.

the plugin works fine for mozilla and other browsers, but doesn't work with Linux and no developement is planned for a linux plugin.

Zachery 02-24-2005 12:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by neocorteqz
Mainly

The Q3PX plugin doesn't work for Linux or mac. And i find it's rather annoying to see empty boxes saying you need to install this plugin.

the plugin works fine for mozilla and other browsers, but doesn't work with Linux and no developement is planned for a linux plugin.

The only way to determin the users OS would be the browser string IIRC.

sabret00the 02-24-2005 12:43 PM

what's the q3px plug-in?

neocorteqz 02-24-2005 02:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sabret00the
what's the q3px plug-in?

http://q3px.khimtech.com/en/forUser.html

It's a browser plugin that allows you to see who's playing is some game servers.

@ Zach

Yes, the only way to know what OS someone is using is the useragent string.

Functions.php:
PHP Code:

// #################### Start is browser ##########################
// browser detection script
function is_browser($browser$version 0)
{
    global 
$_SERVER;
    static 
$is;
    if (!
is_array($is))
    {
        
$useragent strtolower($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']);
        
$is = array(
            
'opera' => 0,
            
'ie' => 0,
            
'mozilla' => 0,
            
'firebird' => 0,
            
'firefox' => 0,
            
'camino' => 0,
            
'konqueror' => 0,
            
'safari' => 0,
            
'webkit' => 0,
            
'webtv' => 0,
            
'netscape' => 0,
            
'mac' => 0
        
);

        
// detect opera
            # Opera/7.11 (Windows NT 5.1; U) [en]
            #Mozilla/4.0(compatible;MSIE 6.0; MSIE 5.5; Windows NT 5.0) Opera7.02Bork-edition [en]
            #Mozilla/4.0(compatible;MSIE 6.0; MSIE 5.5; Windows NT 4.0) Opera 7.0[en]
            #Mozilla/4.0(compatible; MSIE 5.0; Windows 2000) Opera 6.0 [en]
            #Mozilla/4.0(compatible; MSIE 5.0; Mac_PowerPC) Opera 5.0 [en]
        
if (strpos($useragent'opera') !== false)
        {
            
preg_match('#opera(/| )([0-9\.]+)#'$useragent$regs);
            
$is['opera'] = $regs[2];
        } 

As you see in the snipet of code, it already uses the User agent string to identify the browser.

So what I'm asking, is it possible to code something in functions.phptolook for OS'es Like it already does with is_browser. And how I'dgoabout doing that. Maybe I posted in the wrong section, Maybe Ishouldhave asked in the Request section? :)

And I can't wait till vBorg upgrades to 3.0.7. :) Still having probs with text spacing.

Zachery 02-24-2005 06:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by neocorteqz
http://q3px.khimtech.com/en/forUser.html

It's a browser plugin that allows you to see who's playing is some game servers.

@ Zach

Yes, the only way to know what OS someone is using is the useragent string.

Functions.php:
PHP Code:

// #################### Start is browser ##########################
// browser detection script
function is_browser($browser$version 0)
{
    global 
$_SERVER;
    static 
$is;
    if (!
is_array($is))
    {
        
$useragent strtolower($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']);
        
$is = array(
            
'opera' => 0,
            
'ie' => 0,
            
'mozilla' => 0,
            
'firebird' => 0,
            
'firefox' => 0,
            
'camino' => 0,
            
'konqueror' => 0,
            
'safari' => 0,
            
'webkit' => 0,
            
'webtv' => 0,
            
'netscape' => 0,
            
'mac' => 0
        
);

        
// detect opera
            # Opera/7.11 (Windows NT 5.1; U) [en]
            #Mozilla/4.0(compatible;MSIE 6.0; MSIE 5.5; Windows NT 5.0) Opera7.02Bork-edition [en]
            #Mozilla/4.0(compatible;MSIE 6.0; MSIE 5.5; Windows NT 4.0) Opera 7.0[en]
            #Mozilla/4.0(compatible; MSIE 5.0; Windows 2000) Opera 6.0 [en]
            #Mozilla/4.0(compatible; MSIE 5.0; Mac_PowerPC) Opera 5.0 [en]
        
if (strpos($useragent'opera') !== false)
        {
            
preg_match('#opera(/| )([0-9\.]+)#'$useragent$regs);
            
$is['opera'] = $regs[2];
        } 

As you see in the snipet of code, it already uses the User agent string to identify the browser.

So what I'm asking, is it possible to code something in functions.phptolook for OS'es Like it already does with is_browser. And how I'dgoabout doing that. Maybe I posted in the wrong section, Maybe Ishouldhave asked in the Request section? :)

And I can't wait till vBorg upgrades to 3.0.7. :) Still having probs with text spacing.

You'd have to do a match on the useragent and then define them

neocorteqz 02-26-2005 05:43 AM

Last bump.

Can this be moved to the vB3 request forum, this should have gone there fist.

I don't know hwere to start on this seeing as i lack php coding. So maybe someone can do a hack on this?


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01126 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,773KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (8)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete