![]() |
Something strange about cronjobs
After looking into some error reports on my Thread of the Week hack, i found the reason of the errors in some strange (in my eyes) behaviour of job run using the Scheduled Task Manager.
Test script 'includes/cron/test.php': PHP Code:
Now add a new Task with the Scheduled Task Manager, pointing to this file, set it to log the action. If you now press "Run Now" and look at the lines written into the Scheduled Task Log. It will look like this: Code:
134 test 18:34, 6th Feb 2005 In function test1 i set the vars $log and $count to global, thus giving me access to the same vars as used in the mainline. I again add a line to the $log and increase $counter. Now return to mainline. Back in the main line $counter still contain the value as set in the function, and $log now contain 2 lines. I add 1 more line, write $log to the Scheduled Task log and finish. This is exactly what happens when i run it with the "Run Now" button. Now i repeat the test, but this time i let it run automatic, by setting a time for the Task to run. I wait till it has run, and go look in the Scheduled Task Log. I expect exactly the same output, since it is the same script. But, output is as follows: Code:
138 test 18:44, 6th Feb 2005 What am i missing here? PS Yes when i also in the main line declare these 2 vars as global, or if i would pass them as parameters to the function, i could make this work. But that is not the point. I just want to understand what is going on. |
Hmm a tiny bump?
|
Nobody got an opinion about this??
PS Maybe if a Mod would move it to the "PHP / MySQL / JS / (X)HTML" section, although i think it more belongs here. Bee-Baa-Bumper |
Bumperty, Bumperty, Bump
Really nobody? |
hmm can you explain in 2 line what exsacly are you tring to do ?
|
Well put shortly: In the main line i define a variable $var, assign a value to it, i call a function. In that function i do a "global $var;", assign a new value to $var and return to main.
If i run this with "Run Now", all go like expected: $var gets assigned in main, after the "global $var" i can in the function access the value set in the mainline, and on return to mainline, i still have the new value set in the function. If run through the scheduler however, this will not pass the value of $var to the function or back to the mainline. PS Sorry 3 lines :D |
Time for a small bump i think
|
I too have found this to be the case. I am writing a scheduled task as we speak and it's just not running. Existing vB scheduled tasks run fine. Mine runs fine from the run now button, but it does absolutly nothing on schedule.
I read threads at vBulletin.com and it seems they are not giving anyone that points this out any more then the answer that it works. But it don't. |
Yes i know it doesn't work as you would expect. Took me a long time and the help of a frustrated user of my Thread of the Week hack to find out what was "wrong"
If you need help with your cronjob, let me know. Think i know now what to look for. |
Quote:
Actually, I got mine working after I posted. I don't give up easily! Thanks for your input though. My problem was exactly that, my problem. The thing works as intended. I'm not sure about all of it, but I got the job done. |
All times are GMT. The time now is 11:03 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|