vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   using a variable and conditional in template (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=68569)

da prez 08-20-2004 07:08 PM

using a variable and conditional in template
 
i wrote a simple query that returns a numeric value or 1, 2, or 3 etc.

what i want to do is use this variable to make a conditional.
$string6 is my variable and it does return proper #
can i use this variable in a conditional within a template to do something like this ??

example:
Code:

<if $string6="1">Hello</if>

<if $string6="2">Goodbye</if>

how would i go about it ?

i have a shoutcast radio station up,
and based on which dj is online i want to show diff info.

da prez 08-20-2004 07:32 PM

oops i think this is is in wrong forum.

sorry for that.

Colin F 08-21-2004 04:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by da prez
i wrote a simple query that returns a numeric value or 1, 2, or 3 etc.

what i want to do is use this variable to make a conditional.
$string6 is my variable and it does return proper #
can i use this variable in a conditional within a template to do something like this ??

example:
Code:

<if $string6="1">Hello</if>

<if $string6="2">Goodbye</if>

how would i go about it ?

i have a shoutcast radio station up,
and based on which dj is online i want to show diff info.

yes, you can use $string6 (allthough I would rename it so that you know what's in it, if you edit the code again in a few month's time...)

Try this:
<if condition="$string6==1">Hello
<else />
<if condition="$string6==2">Goodbye
</if>
</if>

da prez 08-21-2004 03:14 PM

thanks much,

i had actually went with the if condition statement, and the double ==,
but i put the quotes in wrong spot <if condition=$string6=="1"> or <if condition $string6=="1">
i had been up and down all the combinations i could think of, but the one that works.
always something simple that gets me..... LOL !!

problem solved.

oh yeah, and i am gonna rename it, when i get some more of it sorted out,
i had a couple of probs with variables clashing.

thanks again.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01202 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,719KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (4)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete