vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Working on a fetch_news script (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=65040)

mOdEtWo 05-12-2004 07:03 PM

Working on a fetch_news script
 
I've asked multiple times to get someone to create a simple fetch_news script that will make you able to use the script outside of vB as a news page. It will display news (topics) from a given forumid. It won't have a portal kind-of-look, just a simple template that can be changed to fit in with the rest of your website.

There has been released such a thing for vB2, but still nothing for vB3. We do have the great vBAdvanced and vBIndex (?) hacks, but they are... hacks. I just want a php script that connects to a template in vB, and fetch news posts from a given forumid. Simple as that. I don't want to have to alter any php files just to get a nice newspage. And once it is made, I can use it for the rest of my website aswell.

You still reading? Good. :)

Since no-one have showed any interest in making such a script, I'll try to do so myself. I'm a real php newbie tho, so I got stuck after 6 lines of code. ;) - Here's what I got so far:

PHP Code:

chdir("/home/modetwo/public_html/vb/");
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// This is where I want to set what forum to fetch news from.  Now, how to use it?
$fetch_forumid 1;

require_once(
"./global.php");

$globaltemplates = array(
'fetchnews' // This is the template containing the xhtml-code for the news site.
'newsbox' // This is the template for the box containing the xhtml-code for news article, headline, poster, date etc. I just got to add variables such as $poster, $date, etc?
);

eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('fetchnews') . '");'); 

Ok, now don't flame me for my noobie-skills. I'm trying to learn here. ;)

Your turn, what to do next? The template fetchnews displays just fine now, but it just displays the xhtml code from the template, no news yet. Please kick me in the right direction. :)

PS: If it ever gets done, I'll release it to others who might find this usefull.

Brad 05-12-2004 08:20 PM

<font color="red">code removed because of errors</font>

mOdEtWo 05-13-2004 04:49 AM

Brad.loo, that's just SO great. Thanks for your time! :D

Why don't you test/clean up that script a bit, and release it as a "hack"? I'm sure lots of people would enjoy to have something like this!

mOdEtWo 05-13-2004 05:59 AM

Brad, there is an error in the $sql_news = DB_site->query somewhere. I get error 1064. Could you take a quick look at it? I've been checking for errors there, like a missing ;, but didn't find anything.

Also, why are you fetching the index_newsbits template? Shouldn't that be the news_box template instead?

Again, thanks for your time. :)

Brad 05-13-2004 11:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mOdEtWo
Brad, there is an error in the $sql_news = DB_site->query somewhere. I get error 1064. Could you take a quick look at it? I've been checking for errors there, like a missing ;, but didn't find anything.

Also, why are you fetching the index_newsbits template? Shouldn't that be the news_box template instead?

Again, thanks for your time. :)

Yes I noticed the errors after you pm'ed me, i'll clean it up and start a hack thread for the code so others will be able to find it easier.

Zach 05-14-2004 02:00 AM

I have someting like this - if you register at my forums - http://sportsforum.ws - and then in your options click the options that say yea you agree with not being an idiot to turn on the news, - basically I have it set up so any post can be news, with different levels of permissions on if editing, etc - I have no Q system, cause it would defeat my purpose - I just have a one strike your out - and then lock em out permanently - (though I have been busy and have done nothing with this for months :) - finished it and have never started using it


anyway look at that if you wish and if its something you like let me know and I will try to figure out what I did - (send me a pm here/there if you register and look at it and want it, I may never find my way back to this thread)

Zach 05-14-2004 02:02 AM

I am gonna guess though, knowing who made it - that it does not pull it from the database - it would use flat files since that is a far better way to go than to pull from the db as you go.

mOdEtWo 05-14-2004 05:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zach
I am gonna guess though, knowing who made it - that it does not pull it from the database - it would use flat files since that is a far better way to go than to pull from the db as you go.

Hey Zach, thanks for your offer. But I want to have the news script fetch posts from the DB, not from files. I want my admins to be able to post mews directly from vB in a news forum.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brad.loo
Yes I noticed the errors after you pm'ed me, i'll clean it up and start a hack thread for the code so others will be able to find it easier.

That's great! Thank you.

Zach 05-14-2004 02:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mOdEtWo
Hey Zach, thanks for your offer. But I want to have the news script fetch posts from the DB, not from files. I want my admins to be able to post mews directly from vB in a news forum.


.


Um, mine does - it does everything out of the database, except show it to the end user. If its edited, its edited out of the database, if its anything, its done out of the database - except if its read - then its read from a flat file.

Think of it this way.

If 10,000 people hit an article or news item on your site - and its pulling from your database, whats gonna happen?

Now if 10,000 people hit an html page, that is dynamically bringing in that article or news item not from the database, but just a text file - what is gonna happen?



1) Nothing, and I mean nothing - server gonna die.

2) Server should have no problem handing out ten thousand copies of a flat html file.

Rafe 05-14-2004 02:32 PM

I can post something to the beta releases forum if you really want something. I use it myself, but haven't done anything about cleaning it up or anything.

Rafe

Done soemthing...
See: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...379#post512379


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01029 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,743KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete