vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Member Archives (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=202)
-   -   Some Possible PHP in Templates (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=58682)

HeTz 11-18-2003 07:45 PM

Some Possible PHP in Templates
 
I've read the posts around here concerning PHP in templates and found that it is nearly impossible. I was wondering if there were possibly ways around it. Here's what I'm trying to do:

I'm designing a new feature for our RX-8 Club. It allows you to add your vehicle information into your profile. We have three types of owners we're aiming at: Mazda Protege, Mazda RX-7, and Mazda RX-8. Now... when a user's goes to add their car, they have 4 HTML form boxes: Year, Model, Color, and Options. These boxes are automatically filled from an SQL database when they select a certain item. Such as, if they select 2004, only the Prot?g? and RX-8 will be available Models... If they Select 1995, only the Prot?g? and the RX-7 will be available Models... and so on for Color and Options. Now - These HTML select boxes operate off of PHP code. This is an example of one of the select boxes' code:

<?php
SelectBox ("Year", "reg_caryear");
?>

That's for the Vehicle Year (also has Model, Color, Options). Then, also I need this PHP function:

<?php
function SelectBox( $Label, $selectName ){
?>
<tr ALIGN="LEFT">
<td width="15%"><?php echo $Label ?></td>
<td align="left">
<select name="<?php echo $selectName ?>">
<option></option><option></option><option></option>
<option>--------- Not Yet Loaded ---------</option>
</select>
</td>
</tr>
<?php
}
?>

Here's a demo of what I'm talking about:
http://www.lanops.net/rx8club/test/select.php

Is this possible any other way? This is the only way I have figured out how to do auto-populated form boxes... Thanks everyone for your help.

sabret00the 11-19-2003 10:49 PM

to my knowledge the closest you'll get is the 'conditional templates hack' but don't quote me on that :)

assassingod 11-20-2003 05:43 AM

sabe is right. Except that will only allow things such as
if ()
{

}

etc etc (IIRC)

You might want to try embedded PHP in templates by filburt:)


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02321 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,712KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (3)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete