vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Querying and such. (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=53906)

gengar003 06-05-2003 11:26 PM

Querying and such.
 
I know there's a way to do this, but I'm not sure what....

I want to select information from a table in mySQL, only 2 fields in the table, `name`, and `data`, and I want it to repeat a piece of code until there's none left.... Hard to express my idea...

[poorexamplephp]
global $count
(Insert code looping until it's read all of table `query`)
$name = (insert way to call the current row's `name`field)
$dat = insert way to call the current row's `data`field)

echo $name;
echo "=";
echo $dat;
$count ++

(insert end of loop stuff)
[/poorexamplephp]

A
||
||

That... What should be `insert` 'ed?

Also, how would I query 2 out of 3 fields, or only 1?

Dean C 06-06-2003 10:13 AM

PHP Code:

<?php
<table cellpadding=\"0\" cellspacing=\"0\" border=\"1\">
$getstuff = $DB_site->query("SELECT item1,item2 FROM table ORDER BY item1");
while(
$lala = $DB_site->fetch_array($getbattles))
{
<tr>
<td>
$lala[item1]</td>
<td>
$lala[item2]</td>
</tr>
}
</table>
?>

That will do it :)

- miSt

gengar003 06-09-2003 12:02 PM

Just one question.... where on earth did $getbattles come from? .... ? :confused"

Boofo 06-09-2003 12:10 PM

$getbattles should actually be $getstuff

Chris M 06-09-2003 12:41 PM

It is probably something he was thinking about at the time;)

And yes - '$getbattles' = '$getstuff'

Satan

gengar003 06-09-2003 02:37 PM

Okay, using that code, I've modified it to run through a table, called "tacemon" until there's nothing left, and each time, execute a bit of code:

PHP Code:

$mypkmndat "";
$tacemonqing $DB_site->query("SELECT name,catchname FROM tacemonquery ORDER BY name"); 
while(
$loopy $DB_site->fetch_array($tacemonqing)) 

$th_rite_name $loopy[name];
$th_rong_name $loopy[catchname];


if (
$bbuserinfo[$catchname]=="1") { 

$mypkmndat .= "<img src=\"http://pgsforum.com/vb/images/tac/tac/caught/";
$mypkmndat .= $th_rite_name;
$mypkmndat .= ".gif\">"
} else  { 
}

 


$bbuserinfo['tacemon'] = $mypkmndat

$DB_site->query("UPDATE user SET tacemon = '".$bbuserinfo[tacemon]."' WHERE userid='".$bbuserinfo['userid']."' LIMIT 1"); 

Anyway, When I hard-code the code in the while loop for each entry in the DB table, it works, but not when I use the loop. However, when I place an "echo $loopy[name];" in the loop, but not in the if statement, It prints the names on the page, so I know the loop works.


This probably has to do with global/local variables, but I tired declaring $mypkmndat as global (Which I assume is the problem, since it's the variable that I want to use outside of the loop) but that didn't help.

Anyway, anyone know what I've done wrong?

EDIT: *sigh* after all that typing describing my problem, I found the answer going over my post. $catchname should've been $th_rong_name. I changed it, an' it works.

:o :o :o :o :dead: :mad: :nervous: :cry:

Now the real test will be how it handles me adding a new row...

gengar003 06-09-2003 03:10 PM

Anyway, another question. I get this error:

Warning: Cannot use a scalar value as an array in /home/pgsforum/public_html/catch.php on line 55

Warning: Cannot use a scalar value as an array in /home/pgsforum/public_html/catch.php on line 56

Warning: Cannot use a scalar value as an array in /home/pgsforum/public_html/catch.php on line 99

Warning: Cannot use a scalar value as an array in /home/pgsforum/public_html/catch.php on line 115

on every vbhome(lite) page.

What would I look for to fix it? Is it something like trying to do

$var ="0";
$arrary[$var] = $arryvar?

(Quoted variable value used as thingy in an array?)

Plz help.

Also, the # of new threads, posts, articles, and messages aren't showing up....

Chris M 06-09-2003 07:09 PM

It is possible you globalised a variable used by vBhome(lite)...

Satan

gengar003 06-09-2003 07:53 PM

I didn't add any global thingies, though...

Dean C 06-10-2003 02:32 PM

gengar - oopsiee at the copy and paste job and edit job from my battle script hehe :)

That's basically the jist of it though :)

- mISt


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01107 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,744KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete