vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB5 Design and Graphics Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=264)
-   -   Forum Borders / Gridlines (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=311446)

aleheroix 05-17-2014 07:02 PM

Forum Borders / Gridlines
 
*I've moved to a new thread in the correct forum, please delete this thread*

Hi, I've asked vBulletin and they've directed me here, as it isn't a minor customisation apparently.

I have been using the following code to add border lines to the forum module on the forum page and sub forum pages :
Code:

.forum-list-container { border-spacing: 3px; }
.topic-list-container { background: none repeat scroll 0 0 #B6B6B8; border-spacing: 3px; }

Putting that (on fresh install) however causes the lines to appear out of place, and independent of the frontend structure of the forum you see on your page. See below...

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2014/05/19.png
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2014/05/20.png

Now, I have been told by support that...
"it exists to house the rss feed icon when it is enabled, and it's showing like that because the style is designed not to have table borders...putting the borders in shows the table." (Ticketid: 1257733)

Traditionally forums have lines on them, its just something that should be optional, which it isn't in vB5. :confused:

Code:

.cell-count {
padding-left: 5px !important;
}
.cell-lastpost {
padding-left: 5px !important;
}

If this code worked (which it doesn't) I would probably be able to make do, but on topics page, we would still need to address the issue of the extra (empty) column.

aleheroix 05-19-2014 11:32 PM

bump!

Spangle 05-21-2014 10:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aleheroix (Post 2498210)
*I've moved to a new thread in the correct forum, please delete this thread*

Hi, I've asked vBulletin and they've directed me here, as it isn't a minor customisation apparently.

I have been using the following code to add border lines to the forum module on the forum page and sub forum pages :
Code:

.forum-list-container { border-spacing: 3px; }
.topic-list-container { background: none repeat scroll 0 0 #B6B6B8; border-spacing: 3px; }

Putting that (on fresh install) however causes the lines to appear out of place, and independent of the frontend structure of the forum you see on your page. See below...

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2014/05/19.png
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2014/05/20.png

Now, I have been told by support that...
"it exists to house the rss feed icon when it is enabled, and it's showing like that because the style is designed not to have table borders...putting the borders in shows the table." (Ticketid: 1257733)

Traditionally forums have lines on them
, its just something that should be optional, which it isn't in vB5. :confused:

Code:

.cell-count {
padding-left: 5px !important;
}
.cell-lastpost {
padding-left: 5px !important;
}

If this code worked (which it doesn't) I would probably be able to make do, but on topics page, we would still need to address the issue of the extra (empty) column.

Hoirizontal lines maybe, but not vertical, why not just alternate the column colours, that way you can do away with the lines, but you still create the illusion of a boundary between the headers?

aleheroix 05-21-2014 11:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spangle (Post 2498771)
Hoirizontal lines maybe, but not vertical, why not just alternate the column colours, that way you can do away with the lines, but you still create the illusion of a boundary between the headers?

TBH I, like most others, am considering going to vB4 instead. vB4 has lines/borders. Such a shame because everything else is great but it's just a must that we have the lines, thats what is required.

Using colours wouldn't work, as we have a lot of older users who want the lines, they want a traditional looking forum page. (I don't see what the problem is though, 5.05 had the lines in the correct place with the above code, why did they change it?)

Spangle 05-21-2014 01:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aleheroix (Post 2498774)
TBH I, like most others, am considering going to vB4 instead. vB4 has lines/borders. Such a shame because everything else is great but it's just a must that we have the lines, thats what is required.

Using colours wouldn't work, as we have a lot of older users who want the lines, they want a traditional looking forum page. (I don't see what the problem is though, 5.05 had the lines in the correct place with the above code, why did they change it?)

what you want must be achievable, have you tried asking the question on VB.com.

You may also want to change the thread title, as it doesn't really describe what you are trying to do

aleheroix 05-21-2014 01:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spangle (Post 2498787)
what you want must be achievable, have you tried asking the question on VB.com.

You may also want to change the thread title, as it doesn't really describe what you are trying to do

Yep, the ticket number is in OP. They redirected me to ask here.

I totally agree, it must be achievable and I would have thought they would be able to do it.

Spangle 05-21-2014 06:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aleheroix (Post 2498789)
Yep, the ticket number is in OP. They redirected me to ask here.

I totally agree, it must be achievable and I would have thought they would be able to do it.

Seems strange that you were directed here, when most of the support staff who are able to help out with this sort of thing are also on VB.com forum !

aleheroix 05-22-2014 07:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spangle (Post 2498834)
Seems strange that you were directed here, when most of the support staff who are able to help out with this sort of thing are also on VB.com forum !

What can I say/do? TBH this is the only issue we have with vB5, everything else is great! Like I mentioned earlier, the lines/borders looked great on 5.05 and the code worked. But for some reason with 5.1 that has changed.

I would hate to have to go to vB4 seen as I have never used it before, I've had about a year or so learning vB5, I don't want to have to start again over something so small...

Spangle 05-23-2014 07:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aleheroix (Post 2498913)
What can I say/do? TBH this is the only issue we have with vB5, everything else is great! Like I mentioned earlier, the lines/borders looked great on 5.05 and the code worked. But for some reason with 5.1 that has changed.

I would hate to have to go to vB4 seen as I have never used it before, I've had about a year or so learning vB5, I don't want to have to start again over something so small...

What you could do is use "inspect element", right click on the page in firefox and it's in the menu that appears, that will show you the page html and css, you can make alterations in there to see what effect it has.

When you get the desired effect search for the css in templates, or add it to the css additional css.

aleheroix 05-24-2014 11:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spangle (Post 2499075)
What you could do is use "inspect element", right click on the page in firefox and it's in the menu that appears, that will show you the page html and css, you can make alterations in there to see what effect it has.

When you get the desired effect search for the css in templates, or add it to the css additional css.

The issue is that the code that puts gridlines on the forum module, etc doesn't allow you to then move those borders (or remove them).


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01305 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,752KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete