vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB5 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=262)
-   -   Changing vb5.0 urls (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=297626)

ghostofkc 04-26-2013 05:10 PM

Changing vb5.0 urls
 
I just set up a new install of VB5.0 after a recent upgrade. Not even sure what this is called to search for it. Sorry for the probably duplicated post -

My problem is this -

I renamed the default forum from "main-forum" to "new_name" but the url still says
"mysite.com/forum/main-category/main-forum"
when I want it to say
"mysite.com/forum/new_name"

This seems like something that should automatically update or there should be an update tool somewhere for the links.

Anyone know what I should do?


Thanks! :confused:

Ben.Smith 04-26-2013 06:48 PM

I'm not that sure whether that can be configured in vB itself or not.

So once looking through the options, i'd go for a url-rewrite in your .htaccess file ;)

ghostofkc 04-26-2013 07:00 PM

but the link is being generated by vbulletin its not something i am making by hand. I just renamed an existing forum but it did not change the name in the URL.

http://knightsofchaos.org/forum/main-category that link points to a forum called "public news" not main-category. Can I not rename existing forums anymore?

Ben.Smith 04-26-2013 07:34 PM

Just tried it and it works for me.

Did you try clearing the system cache?

Lynne 04-26-2013 07:46 PM

It's a bug - http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-6125

It needs to be done via that database - the routenew table, field regex - and there should be two rows to change (the routeids should be consecutive). Actually, if it is a parent forum, then you would have to also change it for all the rows of the child forums also.

Make sure you do a database backup prior to making ANY changes to your database!!!!

ghostofkc 04-26-2013 08:50 PM

Thanks for the information - I will just switch back to version 4 and upgrade when 5 is ready. Its not worth messing around with the database. Hopefully a fix comes out in the next few weeks:up:

JesusSuarz 05-29-2018 03:25 AM

Hello

The best way to achieve this is with a sql statement.

run this on phpmyadmin to leave your forum at yourforum.com/

Code:

UPDATE routenew SET prefix = REPLACE(prefix, 'forum/', '');
UPDATE routenew SET regex = REPLACE(regex, 'forum/', '');

the url will remain as yourforum.com/sub-forum/asdasdasd

if you want your forum to be otherwise.

For example: yourforum.com/foro2/sub-forum

then it will be like this:


Code:

UPDATE routenew SET prefix = REPLACE(prefix, 'forum/', 'foro2');
UPDATE routenew SET regex = REPLACE(regex, 'forum/', 'foro2');


please remember to create backup of your database before doing this.


You can see a demo on my site.

https://hastlegames.com

Cruisey 09-26-2018 07:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JesusSuarz (Post 2594965)
Hello

The best way to achieve this is with a sql statement.

run this on phpmyadmin to leave your forum at yourforum.com/

Code:

UPDATE routenew SET prefix = REPLACE(prefix, 'forum/', '');
UPDATE routenew SET regex = REPLACE(regex, 'forum/', '');

the url will remain as yourforum.com/sub-forum/asdasdasd

if you want your forum to be otherwise.

For example: yourforum.com/foro2/sub-forum

then it will be like this:


Code:

UPDATE routenew SET prefix = REPLACE(prefix, 'forum/', 'foro2');
UPDATE routenew SET regex = REPLACE(regex, 'forum/', 'foro2');


please remember to create backup of your database before doing this.


You can see a demo on my site.

https://hastlegames.com

Based on this, do we need to always manually run that script/code? Is this permanent when a user creates a new content? I'll start a new topic on this subject.

delicjous 09-27-2018 04:21 AM

I Think that is not the best way and I know there are some tutorials(in posts) from wayne at vbulletin.com but I could not find it with my quick search.

I think you could edit the url by editing the template in sitebuilder...

In Omnibus 09-27-2018 07:10 AM

This thread is five years old and, no, the best way to change a URL is not to use a replace command. The best way is to actually change the root URL. vBulletin 5 redirects URLs from previous versions without running SQL commands.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01457 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,740KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete