vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB4 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=251)
-   -   custom template in an existing template (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=293861)

markuswarren 01-12-2013 04:16 PM

custom template in an existing template
 
Hello all.
I'm fairly new to vb4. I have updated one of my own mods following guides on here, but I've got a couple of other changes I want to make and I am a little stumped, so some help would be appreciated.

Here goes:

In vb3 I added a new template named custom_postbit_badges which contained this code:

Code:

<br>

<if condition="$post['field8'] == 'Yes'"><img src="images/mataharibadges/administrator.png" alt="$post[username] is an Administrator"></if>

<if condition="$post['field12'] == 'Yes'"><img src="images/mataharibadges/regulator.png" alt="$post[username] is a Regulator"></if>

<if condition="$post['field9'] == 'Yes'"><img src="images/mataharibadges/foundingfather.png" alt="$post[username] is a Founding Father"></if>


<if condition="$post['field11'] == 'Yes'"><img src="images/mataharibadges/prodetailer.png" alt="$post[username] is a Pro Detailer"></if>

<if condition="$post['field26'] == 'Yes'"><img src="images/mataharibadges/trainer.png" alt="$post[username] is a Trainer"></if>

<if condition="$post['field24'] !=''"><img src="images/mataharibadges/$post[field24].png" alt="$post[username] is an Approved Supplier"></if>

<if condition="$post['field13'] == 'Yes'"><img src="images/mataharibadges/sponsor.png" alt="$post[username] is a Sponsor"></if>

<if condition="is_member_of($post, 12)"><img src="images/mataharibadges/donator.png" alt="$post[username] has donated to Detailing Paradise"></if>

<if condition="is_member_of($post, 13)"><img src="images/mataharibadges/first48hours.png" alt="$post[username] is a member of the first 48 hour club"></if>

<if condition="$post['field21'] == 'Yes'">
<img src="images/mataharibadges/photographer.png" alt="$post[username] is a Photographer">
<else />

<if condition="is_member_of($post, 10)"><img src="images/mataharibadges/photographer.png" alt="$post[username] is a Photographer"></if>
</if>


<if condition="is_member_of($post, 9)"><img src="images/mataharibadges/loungeaccess.png" alt="$post[username] has access to The Lounge"></if>


<if condition="$post['field25'] !=''"><img src="images/mataharibadges/$post[field25].png"></if>

Obviously that code needs to change for vb4, if anyone wants to elaborate on that, it would also be appreciated, but a quick forum search would probably find it for me, so I'm not too bothered about that. Anyway.

I then edited postbit_legacy and added this line of code in the appropriate place:

Code:

<!-- START Badges by Profile Field Code -->

$custom_postbit_badges
                               
<!-- END Badges by Profile Field Code -->

Finally I had a plugin, which was setup like this:

Code:

Product: bulletin
hook location: cache_templates
Title: cache template custom_postbit_badges
execution order: 5
php code:

$globaltemplates = array_merge($globaltemplates, array('custom_postbit_badges'));


I think you can probably guess where this is going :D

So, how (can?) I replicate this behaviour in vb4?

Thanks in advance.

Lynne 01-12-2013 05:28 PM

See this article about vb4 template conditions/syntax - https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=231525

and this thread about rendering templates and registering variables for use in them - https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=228078

markuswarren 01-12-2013 08:08 PM

Hello Lynne,
Thanks for the reply.

Stupid question. Would I put the html like code into a plugin and reference it there, rather than a custom template file, or can I put the following sort of code into the custom template:

Code:

$templater = vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    $templater->register('my_var', $my_var);
    $templater->register('my_array', $my_array);
$templater->render();


I think that is the main thing that confuses me as I'm unsure if that code can go in an template, or has to go in a plugin

Lynne 01-13-2013 02:11 AM

You will need something like what you wrote in order to use the variable $custom_postbit_badges in your template.

kh99 01-13-2013 12:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by markuswarren (Post 2396509)
I think that is the main thing that confuses me as I'm unsure if that code can go in an template, or has to go in a plugin


That code goes in a plugin. You can probably use hook location parse_templates.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01500 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,730KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (5)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete