vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   How Do I Pass the Current Absolute URL to Adsense to Prevent Rejected Ad Requests? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=293101)

carsafety 12-18-2012 05:58 PM

How Do I Pass the Current Absolute URL to Adsense to Prevent Rejected Ad Requests?
 
Hoping someone here might have an answer, had also posted at vB.com but perhaps it's not an officially supported function.

Some of my ad placements have a very small percentage of rejected ad requests (less than 1%). The Google Adsense help page indicates most of these are due to placing the Adsense code within an iframe or third party ad manager. In my case, they are all directly placed on the page, so it is unusual, even if it is only a small number of rejected impressions.

https://support.google.com/adsense/b...answer=2594855

The fix is to include a line of code in the Adsense tag script that tells the crawler where to find the content used to place the right ads. It is like this:

Code:

google_page_url = "http://myurl.com/fullpath";
I used a fixed page as the url, like my home page, and it seems to be resolving the problem with the rejected requests. Of course, the content of the home page may vary somewhat from the specific page where the ad is served, assuming it is a forum thread or post or something.

Is there a way to insert a dynamic vbulletin url link into my adsense code within an ad location template, such that it sends the full path url of the current vbulletin thread page (or home page or forum listing or social group or wherever) back to Adsense?

Thanks for any help!

Brandon Sheley 12-18-2012 06:55 PM

that link.. takes us here..


We're sorry, but the information you've requested cannot be found. Please try searching or browsing the AdSense Help Center for answers to your AdSense questions.

With that said.. you shouldn't need to edit anything in your adsense tag, just grab the code from google and paste it in your ad_location templates.

carsafety 12-19-2012 12:21 PM

Fixed broken link, sorry.

To clarify, yes, I can put in a fixed link, such as my home page, into the adsense code. So far this seems to be working as far as the rejected requests are concerned. The problem is that theoretically, a fixed link will tell the crawler to adjust the ads to the content on the fixed link, rather than the content of the page where the ad is being served.

Therefore, ideally, one would not supply a fixed link into the adsense code, like the one in the code link in my first post. Instead, you'd prefer to pass them some clever code, perhaps with a vbulletin variable or php script or some other method of sending them the dynamic url of the page where the ad is being requested. This would potentially increase your earnings by placing more suitable ads if the content on a thread varied somewhat from your home page or other page where the fixed link was. Anyone know a way to do this?

Brandon Sheley 12-19-2012 02:18 PM

Thanks for fixing the link.

This part here.

Quote:

This occurs when our URL detection has determined our ad unit is within an iframe, and has no content.
why would your ads be in a frame?
Where exactly are you trying to place them, are you using a 3rd party adserver like openX possibly?

carsafety 12-19-2012 06:52 PM

As I said, the Adsense code is all directly placed. No iframe. No ad manager. Nada. Adsense code snippet right into the template. This is why it isn't obvious why I get these errors at all, even though the rejection rate is very low.

My error page lists the following as the "incorrect sites": ad.doubleclick.net, googleads.g.doubleclick.net, ib.adnxs.com . The same is true of some placements I have on a Wordpress site, hosted on a different service provider. So, yeah, it's a mystery. Unless perhaps someone else is serving my code through these managers or some weird thing like that.

carsafety 01-03-2013 07:28 PM

Aside from the reasons that are causing this issue, does anyone have any idea if there is a vBulletin variable or PHP trick or something that will allow me to pass the URL that is currently being viewed by a visitor back to Google Adsense, such that their ads are being targeted to the right page's content?


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.00926 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,726KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (6)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete