vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=246)
-   -   New Posting Features - World of Warcraft MMO-Database Linking (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=256765)

crazyace 01-07-2011 10:00 PM

World of Warcraft MMO-Database Linking
 
1 Attachment(s)
I would like to share with you a very easy edit to allow you to link MMO-Database items to your forum with tool tips. With using this edit you can do the following.
  • Link items with correct item color
  • Drop links to items in your post and they will auto parse after you submit your post
  • Item tooltips

Note: You must have "Automatically parse links in text" checked when posting


Install

In your admin panel click on: Styles & Templates -> Style Manager

Under the style that you want to edit click the drop down and choose "Edit Templates"

Find "headinclude" in the template list and double click it.

Find
Code:

<meta name="generator" content="vBulletin {vb:raw vboptions.templateversion}" />
and below it add the MMO-Database code


MMO-Database Code:
Code:

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://db.mmo-champion.com/tt.js"></script>

Now save and go create a test post.

Post example:
Code:

I just got a new http://db.mmo-champion.com/i/34995/brutal-gladiators-chopper and its really awesome
Important! You must now remove the trailing "/" at the end of the item's URL when you post it. If not it will no longer auto change the name and color for you. Something changed in the java code they use.


Make sure to press F5 to refresh your browser to see the changes take place.


Demo <--- Check it out

Lazorbeam 01-10-2011 06:32 PM

Very cool, I'm using a similar addon and it's a resource hog as it loads on every page regardless if it is needed or not. I think this has to do with putting the code within header. Is there a way around this?

crazyace 01-10-2011 10:04 PM

Depends on the MOD really. But using the header can help a bit.

jimfries 01-14-2011 05:48 PM

Very very cool.

Is this possible to use for wowhead.com also? I have users that frequent both websites (I personally am a fan of mmo-champion.com)

Quickness 01-15-2011 06:03 PM

It only seems to work for me when I do a preview of the post. After I actually post it, then URLs are just URLs, they do not change or give you a tooltip.

Any thoughts?

crazyace 01-16-2011 01:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimfries (Post 2149078)
Very very cool.

Is this possible to use for wowhead.com also? I have users that frequent both websites (I personally am a fan of mmo-champion.com)

You can do wowhead, but it requires BBCode. It doesn't work as easy as the MMO Champion hack.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Quickness (Post 2149620)
It only seems to work for me when I do a preview of the post. After I actually post it, then URLs are just URLs, they do not change or give you a tooltip.

Any thoughts?

After you make the post it might not show up right away. You can sometimes just press F5 to refresh the page and it will work. Or just leave the post and come back.

crazyace 03-18-2011 01:08 PM

Important! You must now remove the trailing "/" at the end of the item's URL when you post it. If not it will no longer auto change the name and color for you. Something changed in the java code they use.

sweede 03-21-2011 03:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazyace (Post 2149800)
You can do wowhead, but it requires BBCode. It doesn't work as easy as the MMO Champion hack.

The way that you are doing things, using the full mmo link, will work exactly the same with wowhead.com


You can put the url to wowheads power.js file and post the wowhead links (http://www.wowhead.com/item=44094)

crazyace 05-03-2011 11:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sweede (Post 2175689)
The way that you are doing things, using the full mmo link, will work exactly the same with wowhead.com


You can put the url to wowheads power.js file and post the wowhead links (http://www.wowhead.com/item=44094)

Looks like I have been corrected :) Thanks for the info.

Bulbucan 01-10-2012 02:16 PM

is there any way to modify it to show custom items from private server database?


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01173 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,737KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete