vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4 Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=242)
-   -   Adding user options in usercp for mod's [Not in the manual] (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=233416)

almannai 01-17-2010 10:00 PM

Adding user options in usercp for mod's [Not in the manual]
 
Hi,

This article is a part of "Not in the manual" series of articles that I hope will wrtie from time to time.

Ok .. So if you have been programing in Vb3.x you are used to adding changes in the user cp by adding more options to one of the Login, Messaging, Thread View, Date/Time or the "Other" Section of the $customfields array.

For example adding a textbox option to the "other" section in the usercp was as simple as adding the following plugin to the "profile_complete" hook


PHP Code:

//build our customfield
    
$profilefieldname 'my_profilefieldname';
    
$profilefield['description'] = 'This is a description of my_profilefieldname';
    
$profilefield['size'] = 5;
    
$profilefield['maxlength'] = 5;
    eval(
'$tempcustom = "' fetch_template('userfield_textbox') . '";');
 
//add our customfield
    
$customfields['other'] .= $tempcustom



To explain the above code: First we are setting our profilefield variable like name, textbox size, description etc. We write the system 'userfield_textbox' in our variable tempcustom. Then we add that variable to the other section of the customfields array.

Well that is a straightforward coding and maybe that is because we are used to it. In vb4 it is little bit more extra coding. First off all the customfields array is not there, so we have to insert our changes by replacing the "other" section of the "modifyoptions" template with the "other"section plus our custom code. Plus some other minor changes and here is same code but for vb4


PHP Code:

//build our customfield
    
$profilefieldname 'my_profilefieldname';
    
$profilefield['description'] = 'This is a description of my_profilefieldname';
    
$profilefield['profilefieldid']=$profilefieldname;
    
$profilefield['currentvalue'] = $vbulletin->userinfo['my_profilefieldname'];
    
$profilefield['maxlength'] = 5;
    
$templater vB_Template::create('userfield_textbox'); 
    
$templater->register('profilefieldname'$profilefieldname);  
    
$templater->register('profilefield'$profilefield);  
    
$tempcustom=$templater->render();
 
//add our customfield
    
$tempcustom "\n" .'  '.$tempcustom.'  ';        
    
$other_search  '\' ' '. $customfields['.'\''.'other'.'\''.'] . \''
    
$other_replace '\' ' '. $customfields['.'\''.'other'.'\''.'] . \''.$tempcustom;               
    
$vbulletin->templatecache['modifyoptions'] = str_replace($other_search$other_replace$vbulletin->templatecache['modifyoptions']); 


The first part of the code is setting our profilefield variables then saving the 'userfield_textbox' template to our $tempcustom using vb4 way. That is by using
vB_Template class and registering 'profilefieldname' and 'profilefield' then rendering it.

The second part we search for $customfields['other'] and replace by $customfields['other'] itself plus the $tempcustom. Don't get confused by the too many commas in the code I made it like this to make it easier [I think] to read. Actualy here how the other section part looks in the 'modifyoptions' template ' . $customfields['other'] . '

In case you want to add Dropdownlist see the following example

PHP Code:

    $profilefieldname 'my_profilefieldname';
    
$profilefield['title'] = $vbphrase['my_profilefield_title'];
    
$profilefield['description'] = $vbphrase['my_profilefield_description'];
    
$profilefield['profilefieldid']=$profilefieldname;
    
$profilefield['currentvalue'] = $vbulletin->userinfo['my_profilefieldname'];

    
$selectbits '';
    
$options = array(
        
'option1'    => $vbphrase['option_1'],
        
'option2'    => $vbphrase['option_2'],
    );
    
    
$templater vB_Template::create('userfield_select_option'); 
    foreach(
$options AS $key=>$val) {
        
$selected $vbulletin->userinfo['my_profilefieldname'] == $key 'selected="selected"' '';
        
$templater->register('selected'$selected);  
        
$templater->register('key'$key);  
        
$templater->register('val'$val);  
        
$selectbits.=$templater->render();
    }
    
    
$templater vB_Template::create('userfield_select'); 
    
$templater->register('profilefieldname'$profilefieldname);  
    
$templater->register('profilefield'$profilefield);  
    
$templater->register('selectbits'$selectbits);  
    
$tempcustom.=$templater->render(); 



I will not go farther to explain this code cause I'm sure you will figure it out. Just small hint though; in this code we used $vbphrase to save our title and description as this is the proper way of doing it if you want to make more professional way of building mod's.

Happy coding:)

MARCO1 01-18-2010 10:34 PM

Very Nice, Thanks.

almannai 01-19-2010 08:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MARCO1 (Post 1959713)
Very Nice, Thanks.



Nice seeing you here MARCO1

MARCO1 01-20-2010 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by almannai (Post 1960003)
Nice seeing you here MARCO1

That's my home my friend ;)

almannai 01-22-2010 04:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MARCO1 (Post 1961405)
That's my home my friend ;)

I know...:)

What do you think about my new mod that is the everywhere sidebar?

MARCO1 01-22-2010 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by almannai (Post 1963592)
I know...:)

What do you think about my new mod that is the everywhere sidebar?

Check this : https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....17&postcount=4

almannai 01-23-2010 06:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MARCO1 (Post 1963624)

Thank you for your continuous support

ARP 04-14-2010 08:15 PM

Hello, Can you make a simple Mod of this plugins to add the options ? I can't get this working :D
Maybe I doing something wrong

almannai 04-15-2010 06:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ARP (Post 2021361)
Hello, Can you make a simple Mod of this plugins to add the options ? I can't get this working :D
Maybe I doing something wrong

I've used same techniques in one of my mods

check it out here
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=232639

ARP 04-16-2010 11:25 PM

Check your PM's


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01303 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,772KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete