vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB4 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=252)
-   -   Row count (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=228474)

Mythotical 11-20-2009 07:12 PM

Row count
 
Did anything change how row count is done?

PHP Code:

$sql $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT * FROM `" TABLE_PREFIX "download_cats` WHERE cat_active = '1'");

$total $vbulletin->db->num_rows($sql);
$i=0;
$perrow $total-2;

while (
$row $db->fetch_array($sql))
{
        
$i++;

    if (
$total !== 0)
    {
  
    if (
$total $perrow){
        
$catc '</td>';
        
$perrow $perrow+2;
    } else {
        
$perrow $perrow-2;
        
$catc '</td></tr><tr>';
    } 

I'm not sure if that is the problem but when I refresh my page is keeps displaying:
HTML Code:

</td></td></tr><tr>
Not sure if its the row count or not. Hard to say right now.

Thanks
Steve

Lynne 11-20-2009 08:00 PM

num_rows is still num_rows. You are missing an end } to your code though.

Mythotical 11-20-2009 08:12 PM

Nah its there, here is the full snippet:
PHP Code:

$sql $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT * FROM `" TABLE_PREFIX "download_cats` WHERE cat_active = '1'");

$total $vbulletin->db->num_rows($sql);
$i=0;
$perrow $total-2;

while (
$row $db->fetch_array($sql))
{
    
$cid $row['catid'];
    
$cat $row['catitle'];
    
$description $row['cat_description']; 
    
$caticon $row['cat_icon'];
        
$i++;

    if (
$total !== 0)
    {
  
    if (
$total $perrow){
        
$catc '</td>';
        
$perrow $perrow+2;
    } else {
        
$perrow $perrow-2;
        
$catc '</td></tr><tr>';
    }

            
$cat_data vB_Template::create('bfc_download_cat_bit');
            
$cat_data->register('cid'$cid);
            
$cat_data->register('cat'$cat);
            
$cat_data->register('description'$description);
            
$cat_data->register('caticon'$caticon);
            
$cat_data->register('catc'$catc);
            
$cat_data->register('cat_bit'$cat_bit);
            
$cat_bit .= $cat_data->render();  
    }




Lynne 11-20-2009 08:42 PM

If you are just getting "</td></td></tr><tr>" all the time, then perhaps your template is incorrect. I assume you want something else to be input in there which is missing?

Mythotical 11-20-2009 08:57 PM

If you look at the code I have it set that if there are 2 cats to display then it will and it will add </td></tr><tr> then start a new row but if their is only one it will not throw that out yet, it will use </td> only instead.

Lynne 11-20-2009 09:06 PM

Yeah, I get that. perhaps for debugging purposes, you should be spitting $perrow out also to see what it is set to.

Adrian Schneider 11-20-2009 09:11 PM

Just a suggestion:
Put each cell into an array, and then use array_chunk to get your groups. Much more solid than messing around with counters and stuff.

Mythotical 11-20-2009 10:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SirAdrian (Post 1918004)
Just a suggestion:
Put each cell into an array, and then use array_chunk to get your groups. Much more solid than messing around with counters and stuff.

Um....how do you mean? Got an example or somewhere I can look at an example? I'm a visual person, visual aids help me more to do code than just being told.

Cheers
Steve

Adrian Schneider 11-20-2009 10:52 PM

Here's a sample
PHP Code:

$columns 5;
$width   floor(100 $columns);

// generate $cells array containing each HTML cell
$cells = array();
while (
$row $db->fetch_array($result)) {
    
$cells[] = '<td style="width: ' $width '%">HTML For the Cell</td>';
}

// pad with empty cells until last row would be full
while (count($prepared) % $columns) {
    
$prepared[] = '<td style="width: ' $width '%"></td>';
}

// group into rows with variable number of columns
$rows '';
foreach (
array_chunk($prepared$columns) as $row) {
    
$rows .= '<tr>' implode(' '$row) . '</tr>';
}

// done
return '<table border="0" width="100%">' $rows '</table>'


Mythotical 11-20-2009 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SirAdrian (Post 1918051)
Here's a sample
PHP Code:

$columns 5;
$width   floor(100 $columns);

// generate $cells array containing each HTML cell
$cells = array();
while (
$row $db->fetch_array($result)) {
    
$cells[] = '<td style="width: ' $width '%">HTML For the Cell</td>';
}

// pad with empty cells until last row would be full
while (count($prepared) % $columns) {
    
$prepared[] = '<td style="width: ' $width '%"></td>';
}

// group into rows with variable number of columns
$rows '';
foreach (
array_chunk($prepared$columns) as $row) {
    
$rows .= '<tr>' implode(' '$row) . '</tr>';
}

// done
return '<table border="0" width="100%">' $rows '</table>'


Ahhhhh, I see what you mean now, thank you very much. Never fails you come to my rescue on things. LOL

I'll have to give it a try tomorrow, heading out for a night on the town with the wife.

--------------- Added [DATE]1258848871[/DATE] at [TIME]1258848871[/TIME] ---------------

BTW, I figured out that I was using wrong code in the template:
HTML Code:

{vb:var catc}
But once I changed to:
HTML Code:

{vb:raw catc}
It all worked out, the code appearing at top went away so now I just need to convert to Adrian's suggestion and it will be good to go.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01048 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,775KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_html_printable
  • (4)bbcode_php_printable
  • (2)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete