vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   need help about function (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=227584)

MyPornLife.info 11-08-2009 02:52 AM

need help about function
 
plz look at these 3 types of code

type 1:
PHP Code:

$query $vbulletin->db->query_first("SELECT * FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "table");

function 
abc($var)
{
echo 
$query[$var];



type 2:
PHP Code:

function abc($var)
{
global 
$vbulletin;
$query $vbulletin->db->query_first_slave("SELECT * FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "table");
echo 
$query[$var];



type 3:
PHP Code:

$query $vbulletin->db->query_first("SELECT * FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "table");

function 
abc($var)
{
global 
$query;
echo 
$query[$var];



i tried all 3 of those....type 1 didn't work. type 2 & 3 work

but i dont want to use type 2....coz everytime i use that function it will connect to DB & waste a lot of resource. if i use this function 10 times in a page, it will connect to DB 10 times....too bad!

but not sure about type 3....what about it? is it waste resource like type 2 ??


help me plz

MyPornLife.info 11-09-2009 11:36 AM

<font size="3">too bad...ppl r not willing to help, these days</font>

Redneck-Melly 11-09-2009 12:10 PM

I'm not sure many people would know the answer to that, I know I don't... Sorry, but be patient someone might :)

Lynne 11-09-2009 03:44 PM

I don't understand what you are trying to do, so I can't really help. It's hard to look at such a general piece of code and make comments. All I can say is I wouldn't go for number 2. I wouldn't really go for any of them since you are grabbing the whole table. I would think you would only need some of it.

MyPornLife.info 11-10-2009 03:22 AM

ok, in a page im using a function more than 10 times.

inside that function i need to call a DB table. yes lynne u r right, i dont wanna use Type-2 too.

but what about type-3 ?

when declare global $query....i just want to know, is it connect to DB everytime u use that function in this case or not.

Lynne 11-10-2009 04:22 AM

Type 3 should not be connecting to the database everytime the function is called. However, I have to wonder why you are using a function just to spit something out. That seems unnecessary.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.00973 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,725KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (6)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete