vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   How Do I Drop Down Menus in the Header? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=223283)

LCN2007 09-15-2009 07:51 PM

How Do I Drop Down Menus in the Header?
 
Im looking to add some drop down menus in my header where i already have some navigation buttons.

I have tried to figure this out with this article but im really having no luck. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=122523

Any help would be greatly appreaciated.

Lynne 09-16-2009 03:20 PM

Linking to the thread doesn't help since no one wants to go through the whole thing looking for where you posted. You should either link to your post, or repost it here.

LCN2007 09-16-2009 04:15 PM

I didnt post anything that i havent posted in this thread.

Im simply asking how to put drop downs in the header where i already have nav buttons?

Then i stated i tried to see if i could use the technique in the thread i linked.

What would i need to copy from the other thread where i tried to help someone else use that article?

Lynne 09-16-2009 04:21 PM

I thought you posted some code. You can use that article to make your dropdowns wherever you like. If it's in the header, then put it in the header.

LCN2007 09-18-2009 12:08 AM

Well i tried this in my header with no success.

I dont have any of the code that the article is talking about so i just added the code were i thought it might go.

I put this below the last button code in the header
Code:

<td id="custommenu" class="vbmenu_control">
    <a href="#">Custom Menu</a>
    <script type="text/javascript">
        vbmenu_register("custommenu");
    </script>
</td>

Then i added this at the bottom of the header just befor the content table.
Code:

<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="custommenu_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
        <tr>
            <td class="thead">Custom Menu</td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
            <td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">
content row
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>

The final result was no drop down but rather a template break.

:(

Lynne 09-18-2009 12:23 AM

We need to see about 10 lines above and below your added code so we can see what else is going on. We have no idea what your header template looks like, so how can we possibly help without getting some idea from you about what it looks like?

LCN2007 09-18-2009 12:48 AM

Here is my whole header.
Im wanting to turn the stuff in red into menus with additional dropdown items.

Thanks for your help.

Code:

<div id="wrap">

<div id="topnav"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_right.gif" class="fright" alt="" /><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_left.gif" alt="" /><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('topnav_home','','http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_home_over.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_home.gif" name="topnav_home" id="topnav_home" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a><a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('topnav_forum','','http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_forum_over.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_forum.gif" name="topnav_forum" id="topnav_forum" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a><a href="calendar.php$session[sessionurl_q]" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('topnav_events','','http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_events_over.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_events.gif" name="topnav_events" id="topnav_events" alt="$vbphrase[calendar]" /></a><a href="$vboptions[contactuslink]" rel="nofollow" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('topnav_contact','','http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_contact_over.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_contact.gif" name="topnav_contact" id="topnav_contact" alt="$vbphrase[contact_us]" /></a><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/topnav_mid.gif" alt="" /></div>

<div class="fright" id="nav">

<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/garage.php" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('nav_garage','','http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_garage_over.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_garage.gif" name="nav_garage" id="nav_garage" alt="Garages - Time Slips - Dyno Charts" /></a>

<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/classifieds/index.php" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('nav_classifieds','','http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_classifieds_over.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_classifieds.gif" name="nav_classifieds" id="nav_classifieds" alt="Classifieds" /></a>

<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/payments.php" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('nav_support','','http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_support_over.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_support.gif" name="nav_support" id="nav_support" alt="Support the Community" /></a>

<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/advertise.php" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('nav_vendor','','http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_vendor_over.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_vendor.gif" name="nav_vendor" id="nav_vendor" alt="Supporting Vendors" /></a>

<a href="faq.php$session[sessionurl_q]" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('nav_faq','','http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_faq_over.gif',1)"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_faq.gif" name="nav_faq" id="nav_faq" alt="$vbphrase[faq]" /></a>


<img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/onlydev/misc/nav_bottom.gif" alt="" /></div>


Lynne 09-18-2009 01:00 AM

I think you'd have to totally redo the links in your navbar in order to do dropdowns like in that article. The article is based around the links being in table cells and your navbar links are not. So, you would have to either redo it completely like how vbulletin does it, talk to the style designer about redoing it for you, or google another dropdown menu option to use.

LCN2007 09-18-2009 01:07 AM

Im fine with redoing them i dont need the hoover feature im not even using that so if we need to turn them in to regular nav code thats fine.

I just need it to be a vertical navebar and on the right side of my header like:

Nav Button 1
Nav Button 2
Nav Button 3
Nav Button 4

Then when you click them the drop dowsn open.

Lynne 09-18-2009 02:28 AM

Well, create a table to hold the links and follow the article on how to make each of the links dropdowns.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01961 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,756KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete