vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Hiding Quick Reply... (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=215971)

Saviour 06-12-2009 02:13 AM

Hiding Quick Reply...
 
Currently running vb 3.8.3...

Can someone instruct me on how to hide the Quick Reply area on certain forums?

I'm assuming I have to edit the SHOWTHREAD template and look for the following code:

Code:

<if condition="$show['quickreply']>

However...I'm showing two locations for that after searching the SHOWTHREAD template. I find these two entries:

Code:

<if condition="$show['quickreply'] OR $show['ajax_js']">

and...

Code:

<if condition="$show['quickreply']">

If anyone can help...I certainly would appreciate it.

Lynne 06-12-2009 03:20 AM

Looking at the page source leads me to think it's the second one. However, you may be able to do this just with a plugin. Find a hook location in the showthread template, do a check for the forumid, and if it's one you don't want to show Quick Reply on, set $show['quickreply'] to false. I've never tried that, but I'm guessing it would work.

1Unreal 06-12-2009 03:20 AM

vB Options -> Message Posting and Editing Options -> Quick Reply

It's saying $show['ajax_js'] aswell as $show['quickreply'] because the quick reply is an ajax feature

Saviour 06-12-2009 03:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 1828061)
Looking at the page source leads me to think it's the second one. However, you may be able to do this just with a plugin. Find a hook location in the showthread template, do a check for the forumid, and if it's one you don't want to show Quick Reply on, set $show['quickreply'] to false. I've never tried that, but I'm guessing it would work.

Thanks Lynne...but I'm a little lost. Would ya mind simplifying what you just said to me...it's been a long day.

Thanks...

Lynne 06-12-2009 03:58 AM

Something like

PHP Code:

if ($forumid == 'xx'$show['quickreply'] = '0'

OR, I forgot it's also just an option as 1UnReal said, so:
PHP Code:

if ($forumid == 'xx'$vbulletin->options['quickreply'] = '0'


Saviour 06-12-2009 04:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 1828081)
Something like

PHP Code:

if ($forumid == 'xx'$show['quickreply'] = '0'

OR, I forgot it's also just an option as 1UnReal said, so:
PHP Code:

if ($forumid == 'xx'$vbulletin->options['quickreply'] = '0'



Lynne...thanks for the replies...

Okay...I understand what you're doing with the code...but the problem I face is where to put this code.

I know absolutely nothing about plugins...and I read the how to in the Articles section here...and I'm still lost.

So...someone's going to have to take me by the hand on this one...and make sure I don't get anything on me...

Maybe I should be wearing a bib.

Lynne 06-12-2009 04:21 AM

Just go to Plugins & Products > Add New Plugin. Select fetch_foruminfo as the hook location (that one should work), give it a title, leave the order, add the code from above (I'd use the one regarding the options, not the first one) but replace xx with the forum id, make the plugin active, save. Test it out. If it works, do the same on your live site.

Saviour 06-12-2009 04:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 1828097)
Just go to Plugins & Products > Add New Plugin. Select fetch_foruminfo as the hook location (that one should work), give it a title, leave the order, add the code from above (I'd use the one regarding the options, not the first one) but replace xx with the forum id, make the plugin active, save. Test it out. If it works, do the same on your live site.

Okay...I don't have a test site.

Also...I'll have multiple forums for which I do not want the Quick Reply to appear. How would that be coded...individually?

Thanks, again...

--------------- Added [DATE]1244786990[/DATE] at [TIME]1244786990[/TIME] ---------------

I just added a line for each forum...and all seems well.

I'm sorry I was such a bother...but really do appreciate your help. It works...and I'm happy. That's all that matters...right?

Thanks, again...

I can now go to sleep...

Lynne 06-12-2009 04:03 PM

For multiple forums, try this:

PHP Code:

if (in_array($forumid,array(x,y,z))) $vbulletin->options['quickreply'] = '0'


Saviour 06-12-2009 04:58 PM

Thanks, Lynne...

Code changed and it works...much obliged.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01171 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,745KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (5)bbcode_php_printable
  • (3)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete