vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Remove "Threads in forum" (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=179594)

Jibba Jabbas 05-18-2008 01:16 AM

Remove "Threads in forum"
 
I just made a normal forum and using it as a main forum for a few sub forums. Bit like a category but on the main page it looks like a forum (and is already in a category).

But when you go into the forum not only do you see the sub forums but this huge box saying "There are no new threads". How do i get rid of the box that holds all the threads because there will be no threads in this, it's just a container for a few subforums.

Thanks

veenuisthebest 05-18-2008 01:34 AM

To create a category, your settings for the category Forum must be:-

Posting Options:-

Act as Forum: No
Forum is Active: Yes
Forum is Open: No
Index New Posts in Search Engine: Yes

Hope this helps. If not, create your sub-forums as well and post a screenshot of your problem.

Jibba Jabbas 05-18-2008 02:02 AM

That would make my forum a category.. which would mean a category in a category, which just looks a mess.

I need it looking like a forum but not displaying the box... here is some images:

http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/9...bforumssn9.jpg - Thats the forum inside the category which when i click into it i just want to display the sub forums...

http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/6...forums2og7.jpg - Thats inside the forum and i've put a big pink square around what i want to disappear.

I tried making it a category as you mentioned above but that just makes things look really messy because of the styling difference for categories and forums.

veenuisthebest 05-18-2008 02:27 AM

Quote:

There are no new threads
This is what you said, but screens say POSTS and not THREADS.
You should have posted screenshots earlier.. they make understanding easier.

anyways.. to get rid of that, you'll have to make that forum a category as I told earlier. It would ofcourse look messy, that is why it is suggested to keep it there. It even contains the Forum Tools menu.

However, if you still want to get rid of that.. you'll have to edit a bit of code in the FORUMDISPLAY template with a conditional that checks for the forum ID which is a category.

Find this in FORUMDISPLAY:-

Code:

    <!-- show no threads message -->
    <tbody>
    <tr>
        <td class="alt1" colspan="$foruminfo[bottomcolspan]" align="center">
            <div style="padding: 16px">
                <if condition="$show['noposts']"><strong>$vbphrase[no_posts_in_this_forum]</strong><else /><strong><phrase 1="$daysprune">$vbphrase[no_posts_last_x_days_forum]</phrase></strong><br />
                <span class="smallfont">$vbphrase[try_controls_below_for_older_posts]</span></if>
            </div>
        </td>
    </tr>
    </tbody>
    <!-- end show no threads message -->

Replace with this:-

Code:

<if condition="$forum[forumid] != X">
    <!-- show no threads message -->
    <tbody>
    <tr>
        <td class="alt1" colspan="$foruminfo[bottomcolspan]" align="center">
            <div style="padding: 16px">
                <if condition="$show['noposts']"><strong>$vbphrase[no_posts_in_this_forum]</strong><else /><strong><phrase 1="$daysprune">$vbphrase[no_posts_last_x_days_forum]</phrase></strong><br />
                <span class="smallfont">$vbphrase[try_controls_below_for_older_posts]</span></if>
            </div>
        </td>
    </tr>
    </tbody>
    <!-- end show no threads message -->
</if>

Replace the X in the code above with the Forum ID where you do not want to display that box.

Use this for multiple forums:-

Code:

<if condition="in_array($forum['forumid'], array(1,2,3,6))">

Jibba Jabbas 05-18-2008 03:56 AM

Sorry about the mix up, thanks i understand the general idea now but it seems the forum id part of it isn't working, it isn't hiding it in the forum.. i put the right ID in, double checked. I tried with other ID's too because my forum has no posts i could test with other forums i've recently made but it didn't work in those either.

veenuisthebest 05-18-2008 03:58 AM

Quote:

but it seems the forum id part of it isn't working but i put the right ID in.
what is the solution then ?? how did you get it to work ??

Jibba Jabbas 05-18-2008 11:07 AM

I don't know, i haven't got it to work.

By "the forum id part" i ment the condition in the code you gave me, sorry again for not fully explaining.. i was up rather late last night.

Jibba Jabbas 05-22-2008 07:48 PM

Bump!

veenuisthebest 05-23-2008 01:28 AM

if its just a conditional problem.. try this.. should work

Code:

<if condition="in_array($forumid, array(1,2,3,6))">

</if>


Jibba Jabbas 05-23-2008 09:33 AM

That worked great, thanks! Although it would be <else /> then the table inside the else because thats saying "if in this array show this" which is the opposite of what i want lol.

Also needed to put it around the table headers and stuff too aswell as the icons but that was easily figured out.

Thanks again


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01207 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,738KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete