vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Joomla+vbulletin wrapped (how to change forum's urls?) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=168377)

Sunsetdriver 01-21-2008 02:29 PM

Joomla+vbulletin wrapped (how to change forum's urls?)
 
Hello,

I've asked the same question in vb.com but they told me to ask it here :p


I'm currently using Joomla 1.0.13 + vbulletin 3.6.8PL2 wrapped into joomla.

Since I'd like to have members using other feauters like blogs, groups, videos....I wrapped the forum inside joomla.

I'm currently using 3rd-party bridge to link Joomla to vb (no core files modifies, vb and joomla on each database).

I know that I could modify vb's template to include Joomla's header and make the forum not wrapped.

But let's focus on having forum wrapped.

Link to my forum is something like: http://www.mysite.com/component/opti...per/Itemid,91/
Forum's threads links are like: http://www.mysite.com/forum/showthread.php?t=99999
Forum's post's links are like: http://www.mysite.com/forum/showpost...56&postcount=1


Of course if someone is browsing the forum from the website, all threads and posts got displayed within the frame.

BUT if someone googles for our forum (or a members would give a thred's link to a friend) and he'll visit http://www.mysite.com/forum of course the forum will be displayed off of joomla's layout.
Same for links posted in posts. Since vb's default settings got links opened in new window.

So, is there any way to got links like 'http://www.mysite.com/forum/showthread.php?t=44824' changed to something like 'http://www.mysite.com/component/opti...ad.php?t=44824'.

Thanks in advance.

cheesegrits 01-21-2008 10:48 PM

If you are running Apache with mod_rewrite enabed, you could just rewrite the URL's in an .htaccess file in your web root dir. Something like ...

RewriteRule ^forum/showthread.php?t=(\d+) component/option=com_whatever?t=$1

Sorry, couldn't copy your exact component path as your links above are hosed up. Basically, the $1 in the Joomla side of the rule is whatever matched the (\d+) in the vB side.

-- hugh

Sunsetdriver 01-21-2008 11:00 PM

^ thanks! I'll give it a try. ;)

cheesegrits 01-21-2008 11:18 PM

There's a little more to creating a workable, safe htaccess than just the single RewriteRule above, but that'd be the core of it. You'd probably want to match on a few more patterns, and put in some RewriteCond's but there are plenty of good tutorials on building htaccess files, google is your friend.

Let me know if you get stuck ...

BTW, which bridge are you using? I'm a Joomla / vB crossover kinda guy as well, and am always interested in what people are using and their experiences with it.

-- hugh

Sunsetdriver 01-21-2008 11:36 PM

I'll google too. Even if I think it will be hard. I'm not a coder nor a tech. :p
I've also in mind to disable vb's members' profiles and got members' urls redirected to their Community Builder's profiles.:eek:

I'm using vB Duo Sync Bridge.

our website: www.mjjcommunity.com :)

cheesegrits 01-21-2008 11:49 PM

Cool, the Duo Sync bridge is one of the better ones. I was afraid you might be using BB Pixel.

Are you using SEF in Joomla? If so, and if Joomla is at the root of your site, you probably already have a .htaccess in your webroot, and should just be able to add that rule before any other rules.

If you aren't using SEF, you could try enabling it on a test box, and look at the htaccess file that Joomla generates - it's a pretty good example of how to structure a good URL rewriting htaccess file.

-- hugh

MoT3rror 01-22-2008 01:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunsetdriver (Post 1426271)
I'll google too. Even if I think it will be hard. I'm not a coder nor a tech. :p
I've also in mind to disable vb's members' profiles and got members' urls redirected to their Community Builder's profiles.:eek:

I'm using vB Duo Sync Bridge.

our website: www.mjjcommunity.com :)

You can do the redirect by in the member profile template. Just need to put some variables in there.
HTML Code:

<meta http-equiv="REFRESH" content="0;url=http://www.the-place to the user profile.com">

Javi_gray 02-01-2008 09:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cheesegrits (Post 1426277)
Cool, the Duo Sync bridge is one of the better ones. I was afraid you might be using BB Pixel.

Are you using SEF in Joomla? If so, and if Joomla is at the root of your site, you probably already have a .htaccess in your webroot, and should just be able to add that rule before any other rules.

If you aren't using SEF, you could try enabling it on a test box, and look at the htaccess file that Joomla generates - it's a pretty good example of how to structure a good URL rewriting htaccess file.

-- hugh

Uggh! I wish I had read this before I installed bbpixel! How can I get rid of it? What are the better bridges?

cheesegrits 02-01-2008 09:52 PM

Well, it's all personal opinion. I wouldn't put too much stock in my rantings! :)

BBPixel does a fine job at bridging a single J!/vB install on the same server and same db.

I just had some issues with it early on, and kinda got put off. But the current version is supposed to be a lot more solid.

Note that they will not be officially supporting vB 3.7 until it goes gold. It should work, but no guarrantees.

-- hugh

sickboy6ths 02-12-2008 06:27 AM

How can I implement this kind of rewrite rule without looping?

With looping I mean:
You request a page at vBulletin forum, url gets rewritten to use the wrapper, but the wrapper also requets page at vBulletin forum, so it's looping :)

Hope this wasnt too confusing :eek: :)
Thanks for any insight

Some more info posted elsewhere
Quote:

Hi Im using e.g:
RewriteRule ^vbulletin/(.*)$ /index.php?option=com_jfusion&wrap=$1 [L,QSA]

But this creates a loop when viewing vbulletin pages through the wrapper.
You kinda get wrapper into wrapper into wrapper, because the wrapper also accesses the same vBulletin urls (which get rewritten).

Anyone able to help me to get the joomla wrapper url in the addressbar in browser, while retaining the dynamic url of the page ur viewing, e.g: showthread.php?t=555


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.00987 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,740KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (3)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete