vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   How do I do this in php (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=162169)

marc100 11-07-2007 08:44 PM

How do I do this in php
 
This is a very basic question and since I know 0 about php, I dont know how to do it :)


I have 30 different "if" conditions and I dont know how to do them properly.
Its for a shopping website.
I want to say If the category is Shoes, then print "Shoes" on the screen. If The category is Belts, print Belts.

I need it to run fast because my site is busy and I dont want it to slow my site down.

This is what I have now, but for 30 different categories:


< ?php
if (is_category('Shoes')) {
echo "Shoes";
}
?>


< ?php
if (is_category('Belts')) {
echo "Belts";
}
?>


< ?php
if (is_category('Ties')) {
echo "Ties";
}
?>

< ?php
if (is_category('tshirts')) {
echo "tshirts";
}
?>

< ?php
if (is_category('Socks')) {
echo "Socks";
}
?>

and so on and so on.

See the problem? I start and stop 30 different programs right at the top of the page.
Anyone know how I can make that all into 1 big program, instead of a lot of little programs? so it runs faster?

thanks for any help!

ragtek 11-07-2007 08:47 PM

switch case should help you
http://de.php.net/manual/en/control-...res.switch.php

marc100 11-07-2007 09:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ragtek (Post 1378015)

thanks, but that looks really complicated to use variables and stuff.
Sorry Im really a dummy at programming.

If there an easy way to do nested if/else in 1 program block without stopping it and starting over?

flup 11-07-2007 09:25 PM

<?php
if(is_category('Shoes')) { echo 'Shoes'; }
elseif(is_category('Socks')) { echo 'Socks'; }
else { echo 'No category'; }
?>

perhaps you mean something like this?

marc100 11-07-2007 10:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by flup (Post 1378037)
<?php
if(is_category('Shoes')) { echo 'Shoes'; }
elseif(is_category('Socks')) { echo 'Socks'; }
else { echo 'No category'; }
?>

perhaps you mean something like this?

yeah that would work, Thanks!

Would that run faster than my first example of starting and stopping the programs? Or would they run at the same speed?

Opserty 11-08-2007 12:24 PM

You need some kind of input...like what you are going to check is the category of.

Example:
PHP Code:

$input 'Socks';
switch(
$input)
{
    case 
'Socks':
        echo 
'Socks';
        break;
    case 
'Belts':
        echo 
'Belts';
        break;
    default:
        echo 
'No matches';
        break;
}

/*=============================
 * Outputs: 'Socks'
 *=============================
 *
 * If we say 
 * 
 * $input = 'Cheese';
 * 
 * Output: 'No matches';
 */

// ############ EVEN BETTER WAY ##############

$input 'Socks';

switch(
$input)
{
    case 
'Your':
    case 
'Categories':
    case 
'Here':
        echo 
$input;
        break;
    default:
        echo 
'No matches found';
        break;


If you don't know any PHP or very little you may want to consider at least learning the basic concepts before you go about editing files e.t.c.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.00990 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,730KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (2)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (6)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete