vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Requests/Questions (Unpaid) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   User profile field that can parse links (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=161271)

Brent H 10-27-2007 08:09 PM

User profile field that can parse links
 
I'm trying to find a way for a custom user profile field to parse links. You could have a multiline textbox, and on each line the user would enter a URL which would be turned into a link after submission.

Anyone have any ideas?

Analogpoint 10-27-2007 09:12 PM

Create a plugin on the member_customfields hook, and turn the urls into links. Where 6 is the profile field ID.

Code:

if ($profilefield['value'] != '' AND $profilefield[profilefieldid] == 6)
{
        $links = explode ("\n", $profilefield['value']);
        $output = array();
        foreach ($links as $link)
        {
                  $link = trim($link);
                  if (!empty($link))
                  {
                            $output[] = '<a href="' . $link . '">' . $link . '</a>';
                  }
        }
        $profilefield['value'] = implode('<br />', $output);
}


Brent H 10-27-2007 09:35 PM

When I enable that plugin, the field I'm applying it to doesn't show up.

My field ID is 9, and this is what I have for the plugin:
Code:

if ($profilefield['value'] != '' AND $profilefield[profilefieldid] == 9)
{
        $links = explode ("\n", $profilefield['value']);
        $output = array();
        foreach ($links as $link)
        {
                  $link = trim($link);
                  if (!empty($link))
                  {
                            $ouput[] = '<a href="' . $link . '">' . $link . '</a>';
                  }
        }
        $profilefield['value'] = implode('<br />', $output);
}

I've tried it on a multiline text box and a single line text box; both are displaying nothing when enabled, and only the plain text when disabled. What am I doing wrong?

Analogpoint 10-27-2007 09:57 PM

I had a typo in the code. There is a 't' missing from the word 'output' in the if block in the foreach loop. :(

Brent H 10-27-2007 10:28 PM

Excellent, it works beautifully. Thank you very much!

jacobi 09-26-2008 12:05 PM

This is awesome! Thank you.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01009 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,716KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (6)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete