vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   How do I make my Banner a Fixed size? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=156838)

David Lama 09-02-2007 06:58 AM

How do I make my Banner a Fixed size?
 
i dont know if i phrased the question correctly but i have a banner that i placed in a skin that i havent made public yet.. i dont want to make it public till i fix this. but my banner seems fine when the window of a browser is fully open. but once you minimize the screen the banner becomes larger than the width of the borders of the tables.. how do i fix this??

my banners size is 841 width, 190 height

here's the code i'm using

Code:

<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
<tr>
<td width="841" height="190" align="center" valign="top"><img src="http://www.bragginwrites.com/forums/images/BragginWrites_Skin/Banner.jpg" width="841" height="190" alt="" /></td>



</td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- /logo -->

the main table width of the style im using this banner for is 85%. i already tried putting 85 in the border= part but that didnt work either and made things even more worse. please help :(

Dean C 09-02-2007 09:37 AM

You can't do this. Images are fixed size, and cannot be dynamically reducded in width on the fly, unless you have a portion of the image that can be made repeatable. As a standard, no content on your page should be bigger than around 760px :)

David Lama 09-02-2007 06:29 PM

ok i just made it 700 and im still having the same exact problem. so whats the issue?

Dean C 09-02-2007 08:06 PM

Erm, maybe i'm not following. Can you try and explain the problem again, as clearly as possible :)?

David Lama 09-02-2007 08:19 PM

thanks adeptus

AdeptusAstartes 09-02-2007 08:36 PM

here is the solution, make your template fixed to 841 or 700 (same size as your banner)

Styles&Templates > Edit Templates > All Options (from the drop down menu of the desired template) > Main Table Width

David Lama 09-02-2007 08:47 PM

^i did that. same problem still

actually nevermind i was doing that wrong. thanks that did fix the problem

AdeptusAstartes 09-03-2007 12:39 AM

you are welcome


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01051 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,717KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (8)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete