vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Can't use custom profile fields. (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=131253)

nul7 11-11-2006 05:35 AM

Can't use custom profile fields.
 
I've added custom profile fields to my board, but they don't display in the "Edit Profile" page. "Private Field" is set to "No". "Which page displays this option" is set to "Edit Profile". I have all other information entered, and still no luck... is there some hidden option that I'm missing somewhere???

nul7 11-12-2006 01:39 PM

bump... anyone know why they won't display?

Paul M 11-12-2006 01:52 PM

Are they set to be editable ?

nul7 11-12-2006 02:39 PM

"Required, Editable, Searchable, Members List "

Paul M 11-12-2006 02:43 PM

Dunno then, can you post a screenshot of the edit page showing all the options.

nul7 11-12-2006 02:53 PM

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2006/11/17.jpg

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2006/11/18.jpg

OK, more info... I'm using the vehicleprofiles mod which makes the following changes to php files:

functions_user.php

Original:
Code:

        // get extra profile fields
        $profilefields = $vbulletin->db->query_read_slave("
                SELECT * FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield
                WHERE editable IN (1,2)
                        AND form " . iif($formtype, '>= 1', '= 0'). "
                ORDER BY displayorder
        ");

Modified:
Code:

        // get extra profile fields
        $profilefields = $vbulletin->db->query_read_slave("
                SELECT * FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield
                WHERE profilefieldid NOT IN (50,51,52,53,54,55,56,57,58,59,60,61,62,63,64,65) AND editable IN (1,2)
                        AND form " . iif($formtype, '>= 1', '= 0'). "
                ORDER BY displayorder
        ");


member.php

Original:
Code:

// CUSTOM PROFILE FIELDS
$profilefields = $db->query_read_slave("
        SELECT profilefieldid, required, type, data, def, height
        FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield
        WHERE form = 0 " . iif(!($permissions['genericpermissions'] & $vbulletin->bf_ugp_genericpermissions['canseehiddencustomfields']), "
                AND hidden = 0") . "
        ORDER BY displayorder
");

Modified:
Code:

// CUSTOM PROFILE FIELDS
$profilefields = $db->query_read_slave("
        SELECT profilefieldid, required, type, data, def, height
        FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield
        WHERE profilefieldid NOT IN (50,51,52,53,54,55,56,57,58,59,60,61,62,63,64,65) AND form = 0 " . iif(!($permissions['genericpermissions'] & $vbulletin->bf_ugp_genericpermissions['canseehiddencustomfields']), "
                AND hidden = 0") . "
        ORDER BY displayorder
");

Those are the only changes made to any of the actual source files. The code looks fine (keep in mind I am still learning php, but I have years of experience working with dbs - I am an application developer), but I thought there may be an incompatibility that I'm not aware of. However, if I revert the code to original, all the vehicle profile info shows in "Edit Profile" but NOT any that I add manually.

Reeve of shinra 11-12-2006 04:16 PM

Try changing field required to "no" and see if you can go in and edit it then.

edit1: If that doesn't work, try reverting those manual file edits to see if they are the cause. (looking at the code, I personally can't tell)

edit2: The vehicle mod seems to make use of vbulletins profile fields.... so even if you remove the hack, if the profile fields for the vehicles are still in place, vbulletins default code will still pull the info in them and display it. (if that made any sense)

nul7 11-12-2006 04:37 PM

I'll try changing "required".

I reverted the file edits last night, and all the vehicle profile fields showed up in "Edit Profile" but NOT any of the fields I entered. The mod is for timeslips, but it uses custom profile fields to store information about the vehicle. The file edits are there so they don't show up in the user's regular profile.

I'll keep messing with it......

nul7 11-15-2006 12:06 AM

Finally got some time to mess with this. It was the required option. So... what is the point of the required option if it causes it to not display?? I just set the first option as the default to have a weak work around for it.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.00975 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,732KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (9)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete