vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   General Hosting/Server Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=197)
-   -   Easy Redirecting Subdomain Question (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=121003)

zooki 07-12-2006 12:22 PM

Easy Redirecting Subdomain Question
 
Hi, i have two servers one is with Servage and does not have cPanel.

In cPanel you can easily redirect a subdomain using the additional options.

In Servage there are no clear options for that. How do i go about doing it? Is it through .htaccess ??

let me know what im to do please.. steo by step thanks.

Mythotical 07-14-2006 02:39 AM

Use an HTML redirection page:

HTML Code:

This page shows how to use an HTML <META> tag in the header to redirect to another page. The <META> tag goes in the <HEAD> section of your HTML document. The <META> tag on this page looks like:

    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Refresh"
          CONTENT="5; URL=html-redirect.html">


The "5" means to wait 5 seconds before redirecting. The "html-redirect.html" after "url=" is the URL of the page to which to redirect.

These two pages, "html-redirect.html" and "html-redirect2.html", will continue to switch back and forth until you close the window.

It is customary to include a direct link to the page that will be switched to automatically in case you get an older browser that doesn't support the feature or the user doesn't want to wait. Something like:

    This page has moved. If your browser doesn't automatically redirect to its new location, click here.

Just follow the instructions above to setup a redirection page, such as inside index.html or what not.

Cheers
Steve

The Chief 07-15-2006 01:42 PM

Thanks, this was very useful :)

Paul M 07-15-2006 06:35 PM

If you are running php you can also create an index.php containing just this one line;

PHP Code:

<?php header("Location: http://www.newdomain.com/path/"); ?>

and place it in the root of the old domain/subdomain.

Guest210212002 07-17-2006 02:26 AM

That should be a mini-howto, Paul. I've known about META redirects for ages, but I had no idea you could do it that way.

kobescoresagain 07-17-2006 09:53 PM

I believe you can do a .htaccess redirect as well. I am not sure which one of these are the fastest, or best. You can find .htaccess redirects with a simple google search.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01245 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,719KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (6)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete