vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   SQL ERROR 1064 - Think it is a single quote error (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=104415)

alqadir 01-04-2006 11:12 AM

SQL ERROR 1064 - Think it is a single quote error
 
Hi Guys,
I was hoping someone out there can help me out with this sql error I am having. I am thinking it has something to do with " ' " single quotes. In the code a user can input text into a text box. The data stored in this text box is assigned to a string variable,which is stored in the database via an sql statement. The code works fine until a " ' " is used in the text box.

Here is the error:

Code:

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.4:

Invalid SQL:
                                INSERT INTO thread(title, lastpost, forumid, open, replycount,
                                postusername, postuserid, lastposter, dateline, iconid, visible, attach)
                                VALUES
                                        ('[Sell]  ADMS 2320 : Statistics for Man't and Econ Edition:6 Keller  ISBN: 0-534-39186-9  $80 ', 1135971661, 70,
                                        1, 0, 'ssrashid', 1383,
                                        'ssrashid', 1135971661, 0, 1,
                                        0)
                       
mysql error: You have an error in your SQL syntax.  Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 't and Econ Edition:6 Keller  ISBN: 0-534-39186-9  $80 ', 11359

mysql error number: 1064

one solution might be to search the string for the invalid character.
is there a try catch routine with php?

harmor19 01-04-2006 12:12 PM

Is this from a custom script you made or from vbulletin itself?

alqadir 01-07-2006 11:29 AM

it is from an Erwin Form to Post hack.

filburt1 01-07-2006 03:32 PM

Escape quotes in all strings you use in the query. addslashes works but vB's MySQL class also has a method to do it.

Guest190829 01-07-2006 03:36 PM

vB's class uses:

PHP Code:

$db->escape_string($foo


Paul M 01-07-2006 03:39 PM

Does that exist in 3.0 ?

Guest190829 01-07-2006 03:41 PM

Nope, it was implemented with 3.5. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01226 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,722KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (7)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete