vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Using "trim" not working anymore? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=100659)

gopherhockey 11-12-2005 05:14 PM

Using "trim" not working anymore?
 
A person wrote a system that allowed us to update mountain bike trail conditions on a single page - displaying all our trails and a quick condition next to each one.

This was written a while ago and I was able to get it working with vb 3.0 - but now the new 3.5 broke it again.

I went in and replaced a bunch of $db calls and it seems to display just fine. However, when i click on a trail to edit the condition the script does not seem to pull out the action of "edit"

Here is the snip of code that I think is not working and how it is called:

Called via:
Code:

http://www.morcmtb.net/forums/trail.php?s=&action=edittrail&trailid=21


Code:

// now the function used to get the info of the trail updated
function gettrailinfo (&$trailid) {
global $db;
global $trailcache;
$trailid = intval($trailid);
// if (!isset($trailcache[$trailid])) {
if ($db->trailcache[$trailid] == null) {
        $trailcache[$trailid]=$db->query_first("SELECT * FROM conditiontrail WHERE trailid='$trailid'");
}
return $trailcache[$trailid];
}
 
$action = trim($action);
// if (!isset($action) or $action=="") {
if (($db->action == null) or ($action=="")) {
$action="showtrail";
}

The action is always set to "showtrail" so somehow it seems the trim function is not changing the $action variable correctly.

Can someone help?

Its probably pretty obvious I'm no coder and its a real mess...

calorie 11-12-2005 05:47 PM

It's not the trim function; it's because $action isn't set:
Code:

// do like this to clean and set $action

$vbulletin->input->clean_array_gpc('r', array('action' => TYPE_NOHTML));
$action = $vbulletin->GPC['action'];

// do like this to use $action in a query

action = '" . $db->escape_string($action) . "'


gopherhockey 11-12-2005 09:10 PM

I'll give that a shot. Thanks!

Looks like I'm getting farther along now in the script. It now sees edittrail - thanks.

Now I get an error I hope someone can help me through. The error is:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT descript FROM conditiontrail_general WHERE generalid=;

The code on the line that generates this is:

Code:

 
                  $lastconds=$db->query("SELECT descript FROM conditiontrail_general WHERE generalid=$trailinfo[general]");



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.00982 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,715KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (3)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete