vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   vB Drupal CMS, Search Engine Optimization (SEO) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=97807)

tamarian 10-06-2005 10:00 PM

vB Drupal CMS, Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
 
This is an addon module for vB Drupal: Community Plumbing

This addon should work for both vB Drupal versions, the 3.0.x version and 3.5 version.

What does it do: This module will automatically generate search engine optimized links to your vB Drupal content.

vB Drupal by default has two options that make it search engine friendly, custom path alias, and clean URL's.

This module extends those options by enhancing those clean URL's by adding text. For example, a blog entry titled "The meaning of life", will generate an auto link in the index as "mysite.com/The_meaning_of_life". It will also map user id's to user names. So instead of /blog/2" it will become "blog/tamarian" etc.

The pathauto module from Drupal will not work with vB Drupal, this modified version allows it to work with your vB Drupal.

One major change from the original module is that it will not scan your entire user table, only users who have content. This avoids timeout issues, and optimizes the performance by only generating links to users who have content.

Orginal source: http://drupal.org/node/17345

License: GPL

Installation: Unzip and upload the entire pathauto directory to your vB Drupal module directory. Activate the module in your module settings, and configure the settings/pathauto page. Note that you should also activate the path module, they need to work together.

EvilWa 10-08-2005 03:23 AM

Great Thanks!! :nervous:

Funchiestz 10-11-2005 09:39 AM

i will try this^^

silurius 10-14-2005 05:37 PM

Tamarian, this mod is giving me problems when I attempt to delete a category. The category does delete, but I get taken to an error page:
Code:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: path_set_alias() in /server/database/site.com/drupal/modules/pathauto/pathauto_taxonomy.inc on line 104
where 104 reads:
Code:

path_set_alias('taxonomy/term/'.$category->tid);

tamarian 10-14-2005 05:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by silurius
Tamarian, this mod is giving me problems when I attempt to delete a category. The category does delete, but I get taken to an error page:
Code:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: path_set_alias() in /server/database/site.com/drupal/modules/pathauto/pathauto_taxonomy.inc on line 104
where 104 reads:
Code:

path_set_alias('taxonomy/term/'.$category->tid);

Have you disabled the other module "path"? They both need to be activated.

silurius 10-14-2005 05:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tamarian
Have you disabled the other module "path"? They both need to be activated.

Wait, they both need to be activated, or "path" needs to be disabled?

tamarian 10-14-2005 05:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by silurius
Wait, they both need to be activated, or "path" needs to be disabled?

They both need be active together, as pathauto requires path :)

silurius 10-14-2005 06:07 PM

Success. Thanks!

(I'm very literal sometimes and trip myself up).

tamarian 10-14-2005 06:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by silurius
Success. Thanks!

(I'm very literal sometimes and trip myself up).

I've added a note in the instructions, as it's easy to assume pathauto is a replacement to path, not a compliment to it.

Zhen-Xjell 10-23-2005 05:56 PM

Thanks for this. I've got it installed and both path and this enabled. I'm unable to generate the user/1 to user/name or blog/1 to blog/name scenario.

tamarian 10-23-2005 06:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zhen-Xjell
Thanks for this. I've got it installed and both path and this enabled. I'm unable to generate the user/1 to user/name or blog/1 to blog/name scenario.

Did you run the bulk update in settings?

Zhen-Xjell 10-23-2005 10:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tamarian
Did you run the bulk update in settings?

Yes I have tried that. I'll attempt it again now.

Zhen-Xjell 10-23-2005 10:07 PM

I checked for all bulk updates to occur, and get this:

The configuration options have been saved.
Bulk update of user blogs completed, 0 aliases generated.
Bulk update of nodes completed, 0 aliases generated.
Bulk update of terms completed, 0 aliases generated.
Bulk update of users completed, 0 aliases generated.
Bulk update of index aliases completed, 0 aliases generated.

tamarian 10-23-2005 10:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zhen-Xjell
I checked for all bulk updates to occur, and get this:

The configuration options have been saved.
Bulk update of user blogs completed, 0 aliases generated.
Bulk update of nodes completed, 0 aliases generated.
Bulk update of terms completed, 0 aliases generated.
Bulk update of users completed, 0 aliases generated.
Bulk update of index aliases completed, 0 aliases generated.

Take a look into the drupal_url_alias table, it will show all the generated paths.

futuregizmo 10-25-2005 01:32 PM

this worked great for me but i have a problem. my blog site's url is www.mysite.com/blog and when i added this module, the user's blog url has been changed to www.mysite.com/blog/blog/username

is there a way to change the url alias to just www.mysite.com/blog/username or better, just www.mysite.com/username ?

tamarian 10-25-2005 02:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by futuregizmo
this worked great for me but i have a problem. my blog site's url is www.mysite.com/blog and when i added this module, the user's blog url has been changed to www.mysite.com/blog/blog/username

is there a way to change the url alias to just www.mysite.com/blog/username or better, just www.mysite.com/username ?

It shouldn't be doing that, so we need to find out why it's doing it. Is the site URL set up correctly, send me your site's URL and I'll take a look.

tamarian 10-25-2005 03:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tamarian
It shouldn't be doing that, so we need to find out why it's doing it. Is the site URL set up correctly, send me your site's URL and I'll take a look.

Correction. If the main drupal site URL is something/blog then it's expected that the blog page will be something/blog/blog. :)

lazyseller 10-25-2005 04:15 PM

Everything seems to be working for me with this mod... thanks tamarian....

Zhen-Xjell 10-29-2005 09:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tamarian
drupal_url_alias

Hi'ya tamarian, I ran a select and got only this back:

+-----+--------+----------+
| pid | src | dst |
+-----+--------+----------+
| 2 | node/1 | der_test |
| 5 | node/2 | test |
+-----+--------+----------+


The user and blog aliases aren't converting over. /me scratches head

Zhen-Xjell 11-06-2005 08:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zhen-Xjell
Hi'ya tamarian, I ran a select and got only this back:

+-----+--------+----------+
| pid | src | dst |
+-----+--------+----------+
| 2 | node/1 | der_test |
| 5 | node/2 | test |
+-----+--------+----------+


The user and blog aliases aren't converting over. /me scratches head

Must let you know, as of 1.2.2, I was able to get the aliases created successfully:

http://de.castlecops.com/user/mrrockford
http://de.castlecops.com/der_test
http://de.castlecops.com/blog/paul

tamarian 11-06-2005 09:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zhen-Xjell
Must let you know, as of 1.2.2, I was able to get the aliases created successfully:

Good to know :up: I must admit, I still don't know if there was anything changed that might make it behave differently. So the mystery is not solved, but at least it's resolved :)

Zhen-Xjell 11-07-2005 04:58 PM

Ahh, I think I see what is going on. If a user account has contributed say a story, then the user URL is aliases:

http://de.castlecops.com/user/paul

If a user has not contributed, then the alias is not created:

http://de.castlecops.com/user/15

You can compare... http://de.castlecops.com/

"By mrrockford at Thu, 03/11/2005 - 05:55 "

"mrrockford" is aliases. If you check "Who's new", none at the moment are aliased.

So there seems to be a condition (without checking the code).

tamarian 11-07-2005 05:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zhen-Xjell
Ahh, I think I see what is going on. If a user account has contributed say a story, then the user URL is aliases:

http://de.castlecops.com/user/paul

If a user has not contributed, then the alias is not created:

Correct :)

Zhen-Xjell 11-07-2005 05:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tamarian
Correct :)

Roger that. Is there an option to cron this?

tamarian 11-07-2005 06:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zhen-Xjell
Roger that. Is there an option to cron this?

The module author has that planned for the next release.

Zhen-Xjell 11-12-2005 04:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tamarian
The module author has that planned for the next release.

10-4 thanks.

Quick question on maintaining this for the moment. I'll run the pathauto batch updates, and instead of /user/paul I get /user/paul_0 although there is no other paul. I think go into the url_aliases under admin and fix it up.

I believe the problem may have been with keeping old aliases but creating new ones too. So I simply selected overwrite any old aliases.

Is this alright?

tamarian 11-12-2005 05:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zhen-Xjell
10-4 thanks.

Quick question on maintaining this for the moment. I'll run the pathauto batch updates, and instead of /user/paul I get /user/paul_0 although there is no other paul. I think go into the url_aliases under admin and fix it up.

I believe the problem may have been with keeping old aliases but creating new ones too. So I simply selected overwrite any old aliases.

Is this alright?

Yes, the bulkupdate should only be used once. I'll make an update to make it update when a user enters their first blog/node entry, so this wouldn't happen.

Zhen-Xjell 11-12-2005 08:09 PM

Perfect, I'll let you know how it goes.

Zhen-Xjell 11-12-2005 08:52 PM

@tamarian, I got the update email but I don't see an attachment here?

tamarian 11-12-2005 08:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zhen-Xjell
@tamarian, I got the update email but I don't see an attachment here?

Oops. Try it again.

Zhen-Xjell 11-12-2005 10:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tamarian
Oops. Try it again.

Yup I see it there now. I'll work on it tomorrow. Cheers

Zhen-Xjell 11-13-2005 07:36 PM

OK I have it installed, now shall wait for it to be tested regularly.

Cheertobi 11-17-2005 07:38 PM

Hi,

got that error, when I try to update my settings:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: ctype_alnum() in /home/mysite/news/modules/pathauto/pathauto.module on line 268

tamarian 11-17-2005 08:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cheertobi
Hi,

got that error, when I try to update my settings:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: ctype_alnum() in /home/mysite/news/modules/pathauto/pathauto.module on line 268

Your PHP version is older than 4.0.4, upgrade to something newer :)

Cheertobi 11-17-2005 08:23 PM

Hi,

got it work, ctypes functions were not enabled!

Tobi

Cheertobi 11-17-2005 08:37 PM

Do not know if it is a bug! I choose "-" as seperator, but this seems to be ignored for blog paths.

Users that has not yet wrote a blog or anything are replaced by ther uid and not by their username, I used the default settings for that (user/[user])

Tobi

Moncal 11-25-2005 06:11 AM

Great Addon!

*Moncal clicks install*

tamarian 11-25-2005 03:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cheertobi
Do not know if it is a bug! I choose "-" as seperator, but this seems to be ignored for blog paths.

Users that has not yet wrote a blog or anything are replaced by ther uid and not by their username, I used the default settings for that (user/[user])

Tobi

Yes, users who have no blogs, will not have a username url, just i.d. number. This is not the default behaviour for Drupal, I had to change it to accomodate vB forums, where you 10's or 100's of thousend members. The current SEO module would crash on those. The author will implement a cron for the next version.

Re the "-", do you have an example URL?

Snake 11-25-2005 05:08 PM

Wohooo excellent!! :D

El_Muerte 12-12-2005 06:53 PM

this module doesn't work with img_assist
when I have both listed and go to the admin/modules I get a blank page


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01487 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,836KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_code_printable
  • (21)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete