vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   How To Separate Sticky and Normal Threads (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=93846)

Xplorer4x4 08-07-2005 10:00 PM

How To Separate Sticky and Normal Threads
 
This tiny template modification will allow you to separate sticky threads from normal threads.

Go to your:
Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> ? ? -> Forum Display Templates -> FORUMDISPLAY
Find this code:
PHP Code:

<if condition="$show['threads']">
<!-- 
show threads -->
<if 
condition="$show['stickies']">
$threadbits_sticky
</if>
$threadbits 
<!-- end show threads --> 

Below $threadbits_sticky add this code:
PHP Code:

<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons']">7<else />6</if>">&nbsp;</td></tr

Time to Install: 60 Seconds
Templates to modify: 1
Difficulty: 0

If this was useful please click install.

Version1.01
Thanks to Boofo for the corection to add the moderation check box on end.

Boofo 08-08-2005 06:45 AM

Please post this in a text file for those that may need to re-install or upgrade later. ;)

Boofo 08-08-2005 08:59 AM

Shouldn't this:

Quote:

6<else />5</if>
actually be this with the moderation checkbox on the end?

Quote:

7<else />6</if>

Xplorer4x4 08-08-2005 10:30 PM

BTW This is my first hack. Not much of one but meh its a start. :)

I tried my method and yours, and the moderation box shows up either way, so I guess its up to the discrsion of the person installing it.

*Uploads text files*

Should I post this over in the How-To section also?

Boofo 08-08-2005 11:16 PM

The moderation box shows up fine your way. It is just the dividing line underneath it is one cell short with your code. ;)

BlackRabbit1971 08-10-2005 05:59 PM

Works fine for me :)

Logikos 08-10-2005 06:13 PM

Sreenshot?

Lynne 08-10-2005 09:14 PM

I just added this under $threadbits_sticky and it adds the little down arrow in the last column:

Code:

        <tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons']">6<else />5</if>">&nbsp;</td>

        <if condition="$show['inlinemod']">
                <if condition="$show['popups']">
                        <td class="vbmenu_control" id="imod" align="center"> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register('imod'); </script> </td>
                <else />
                        <td class="thead" align="center">
                                <input type="checkbox" name="allbox" id="checkall_all" title="$vbphrase[check_uncheck_all]" onclick="inlineMod.check_all()" />
                        </td>
                </if>
        </if>
        </tr>


Boofo 08-10-2005 11:36 PM

That still doesn't work for the line underneath. This will solve it.

HTML Code:

  <tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7</if><if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']">6</if><if condition="!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">6</if><if condition="!$show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']">5</if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>

Xplorer4x4 08-11-2005 07:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boofo
The moderation box shows up fine your way. It is just the dividing line underneath it is one cell short with your code. ;)

In English? ;) Still learning the ropes here.

I will see baout a screen shot in a day or two.

Boofo 08-11-2005 03:24 PM

That was English. ;)

Herc 08-12-2005 04:50 AM

I don't see why you'd need the dropdown arrow on the sticky divider bar, one is enough and two become redundant in my opinion.....
The pupose for this hack seemed evident from the start, "a single divider bar between sticky's and regular threads"...!!

Nice job Xplorer4x4

Boofo 08-12-2005 06:21 AM

That's all I wanted. ;)

I just wanted it to allow for the right amount of columns depending on what was enabled for all usergroups. Hence, the if conditions. ;)

alwafi 08-13-2005 11:44 AM

thanks it's nice

m0nde 08-13-2005 02:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xplorer4x4
How To Separate Sticky and Normal Threads

ewww...

- Sid

utw-Mephisto 08-14-2005 01:01 AM

Screenshot please !

MentaL 08-14-2005 03:38 PM

pefect!

Demo - http://forum.ragezone.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10

Clicked install

Oblivion Knight 08-16-2005 05:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boofo
That still doesn't work for the line underneath. This will solve it.

HTML Code:

  <tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7</if><if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']">6</if><if condition="!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">6</if><if condition="!$show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']">5</if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>

Ouch! 4 if conditions just for that.?

Would this not be better (2 if conditions)?
HTML Code:

        <tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>
Plus, if you feel that the separator is too thick, you could use this instead (see demo)..
HTML Code:

        <tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" width="1" height="1" alt="" /></td></tr>
:)

Boofo 08-16-2005 05:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oblivion Knight
Ouch! 4 if conditions just for that.?

Would this not be better (2 if conditions)?
HTML Code:

        <tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>
Plus, if you feel that the separator is too thick, you could use this instead (see demo)..
HTML Code:

        <tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" width="1" height="1" alt="" /></td></tr>
:)

The conditions work fine either way.

BamaStangGuy 08-18-2005 03:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oblivion Knight
Ouch! 4 if conditions just for that.?

Would this not be better (2 if conditions)?
HTML Code:

        <tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>
Plus, if you feel that the separator is too thick, you could use this instead (see demo)..
HTML Code:

        <tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod']">7<else /><if condition="($show['threadicons'] AND !$show['inlinemod']) OR (!$show['threadicons'] AND $show['inlinemod'])">6<else />5</if></if>"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" width="1" height="1" alt="" /></td></tr>
:)

http://www.mustangevolution.com/forum/f99/

Using the thin one and it works great :)

GoNz00 08-28-2005 09:13 AM

great thanks, tidies things up a bit more :)

geoff4787 09-19-2005 12:24 AM

You know the bar above it after you add the separating bar? It has "Thread/Thread Starter" in it? On the left of it there is a white line that goes straight down with the columns. How do I add those lines in the bar that I just added from this mod?

SlipNslide281 09-21-2005 04:52 PM

Works great, also works for 3.5 RC3

utw-Mephisto 09-21-2005 05:29 PM

Quote:

If the moderator moderation checkbox on the end doesnt show up then try this variable instead:

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@


<tr><td class="thead" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadicons']">7<else />6</if>">&nbsp;</td></tr>

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Now your done!
I needed to use that one but works like a charm, thanks :)

http://img383.imageshack.us/img383/4868/untitled8cj.jpg

ut2007world.com

Xplorer4x4 09-29-2005 02:39 PM

The box i was refering to is on the other end. I should update this using umm was it Krby's(i think) method, but I haven;t gotten arounf to it. lol.

This will work fine in 3.5 GOLD!

Pramodinfo 10-01-2005 08:09 PM

thanks looks gud

Pramodinfo 10-02-2005 09:02 AM

looks gud thanks m8 :)
works fine with vb 3.5.0

ProperMethodz 10-03-2005 07:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Live Wire
Sreenshot?

ditto

ProperMethodz 10-03-2005 07:26 PM

I like... Installed. Thx.

ChrisTech 10-04-2005 05:04 AM

Works great, thanks for this.

Noonster 10-04-2005 12:23 PM

If you have a look at the one from 3.x.x then you can have text on them lines such as Sticky Threads and Normal Threads... just to make it look a bit nicer ;0

Blindchild02 10-04-2005 01:15 PM

<a href="http://www.hulkforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13" target="_blank">http://www.hulkforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13</a>

works great on mine.

phonexpo 10-04-2005 03:40 PM

Installed, thank you. ;)

chanzero 10-04-2005 05:11 PM

wow, just today i was looking at a non-vb board that had this and wondered if we had it for vb :) i will definitely use this!

btw, could anybody tell me how i might make the bg color of the sticky threads a different color?

EDIT: nm i found the different color sticky bg here :)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...511#post756511

Quillz 10-08-2005 05:22 PM

Just installed this hack! It works great; thanks.

karrerax 10-14-2005 12:49 PM

Installed. Thanks

GrendelKhan{TSU 10-14-2005 01:09 PM

mandatory request for Screen shot. :p

(sorry...me n00birific) :(

el diablo 10-14-2005 10:40 PM

SWEET!

thanks :)

Xplorer4x4 10-15-2005 05:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GrendelKhan{TSU
mandatory request for Screen shot. :p

(sorry...me n00birific) :(

n00brific? haha I will have to use that some time. ;)

If you really need a screen shot I can post one tommorow. Sorry I am forgetful.

Allan 10-17-2005 11:54 AM

don(t work for me :(


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01429 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,835KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (8)bbcode_html_printable
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (10)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete