vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Two URLs, Two Skins, One Board (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=93818)

Markro 08-07-2005 09:17 PM

Two URLs, Two Skins, One Board
 
I want to setup my forums so that when a user access it from the main url ( http://www.mainurl.com ) it'll display mainurl bulletin style. But, when they access it from secondary url ( http://www.secondaryurl.com ) it'll change the style to secondaryurl bulletin style. Is this possible? If so, can someone help me.

Adrian Schneider 08-07-2005 09:32 PM

For vb 3.0.x
global.php

find
PHP Code:

$styleid intval($styleid); 

above it add
PHP Code:

if ($_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'domaina')
{
    
$styleid X;
}
elseif (
$_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'domainb')
{
    
$styleid Y;


Untested, but I think that'll work

Markro 08-07-2005 11:46 PM

Thanks, I'll test it out.

KW802 08-08-2005 12:28 AM

/me subscribes to this thread for future reference..... might have a use for this.

Markro 08-09-2005 03:35 AM

Oddly enough, the script doesn't work, because when I visit the domain from:

http://www.domain.com
-or-
http://domain.com

it'll only work on one, the one I configured in...

PHP Code:

 if ($_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'domaina')
{
    
$styleid X;
}
elseif (
$_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'domainb')
{
    
$styleid Y;


so, if I put, www.domain.com it'll only work for http://www.domain.com, but if I put domain.com it'll only work for http://domain.com .... have a solution?

EDIT: Solution found.

Solution:

PHP Code:

if ($_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'domaina.com' || $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'www.domaina.com')
{
  
$styleid 2;
  
$vboptions['styleid'] = 2;
  
$bbuserinfo['styleid'] = 2;
  
$codestyleid 2;
}
elseif (
$_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'domainb.com' || $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'www.domainb.com')
{
  
$styleid 3;
  
$vboptions['styleid'] = 3;
  
$bbuserinfo['styleid'] = 3;
  
$codestyleid 3;


Another question for you fellas, If I want to hide certian boards when domaina is visited or when I visited domainb different boards are hidden.

Marco van Herwaarden 08-09-2005 09:04 AM

Making 1 physical vB installation accessible from multiple domains, and make them act as seperate boards (style/content) based on the domain, would require you to have 2 vBulletin licenses.

What you are doing now would be against your license agreement if you only have 1 license. I suggest you first ask at bulletin.com if your plans are within the license agreement.

Markro 08-09-2005 11:19 PM

Duely noted.

yinyang 08-09-2005 11:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarcoH64
Making 1 physical vB installation accessible from multiple domains, and make them act as seperate boards (style/content) based on the domain, would require you to have 2 vBulletin licenses.

What you are doing now would be against your license agreement if you only have 1 license. I suggest you first ask at bulletin.com if your plans are within the license agreement.

i think he's using the same content, i.e. one database, for both boards. only the styles are different.

Markro 08-09-2005 11:33 PM

Yes, same content, one database, two styles.

Logikos 08-10-2005 03:26 AM

He isn't breaking the EULA. He is just having one url be redirected to the site. I have www.vbhackers.com, and www.vbhacks.us. both point to the same content, same database, same style.

He just wants to different styles to be forced when choosing one or the other domain.

Marco van Herwaarden 08-10-2005 04:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Markro
If I want to hide certian boards when domaina is visited or when I visited domainb different boards are hidden.

He is not only changing the style, but also the content with this last remark.

Logikos 08-10-2005 04:14 AM

Domain1.com has style #1 and shows forum# 1 & 2
Domain2.com is being redirected to domain1.com with style #2 and shows only forum # 1.

Does that break the EULA? I'm actually asking seriously since I'm not sure. :)

yinyang 08-10-2005 04:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarcoH64

Quote:

Originally Posted by Markro
If I want to hide certian boards when domaina is visited or when I visited domainb different boards are hidden.

He is not only changing the style, but also the content with this last remark.

When Markro refers to hiding certain boards, i think he means certain forums. So, for example, Domain A sees forums 1-5 and 11-15 and Domain B sees forums 6-10 and 11-15. I don't think this would break any rules, but I could be wrong.

Markro, I think you can easily achieve this forum "hiding" by having those registered from one domain become one usergroup and the other domain another usergroup. then just hide the forums from each corresponding usergroup.

nix 08-10-2005 05:38 AM

I'm thinking of doing something like this also. Have www.site1.com and www.site2.com both use the same database but retain the url. So this would require two license to achieve this correct? Cause I assume you would need to installs of VB.

Marco van Herwaarden 08-10-2005 06:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yinyang
When Markro refers to hiding certain boards, i think he means certain forums. So, for example, Domain A sees forums 1-5 and 11-15 and Domain B sees forums 6-10 and 11-15. I don't think this would break any rules, but I could be wrong.

I think it has been stated by Jelsoft in previous situation that this would be against the license.

But it is no use discussing this here. Best would be to post this as a question at vb.com and ask for an official answer by Jelsoft (or do a search first).

Logikos 08-10-2005 01:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jake Bunce
Separating content and forum styles by using subforums and forumdisplay links within a single domain is allowed because that functionality is built-in to vBulletin.

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=103150

yinyang 08-10-2005 05:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jake Bunce
3. Your forum is accessable from multiple domains and your forums are configured to show/hide certain forums based on the domain. This is not OK and requires an active vBulletin license for each domain. In this situation the forums appear to have separate content thereby making them separate forums in the eyes of the license agreement. Your forum content needs to be the same for each domain in order to qualify as a single forum.

the above quote is taken from Live Wire's link above. Well, i guess it somes it up. You cannot hide those forums or you need two licenses.

However, if you lock them, according to usergroup (as suggested before), then i think you're okay. Basically, regardless of style, all the content from both domains needs to look the same. They don't need to be accessible the same, I believe, but they need to look the same.

Markro 08-11-2005 11:08 PM

I never figured out how to hide / show certian boards, and considering I don't wish to purchase another license, I think I'll just display all boards and just use the different style / domain idea.

Thanks guys for the indepth researchon the legal issues.

yinyang 08-12-2005 12:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Markro
I never figured out how to hide / show certian boards, and considering I don't wish to purchase another license, I think I'll just display all boards and just use the different style / domain idea.

Thanks guys for the indepth researchon the legal issues.

there's two things you must do.

1) in your forum controls, click where it says somethine like "hide locked forums"
2) the you have to go to forum permissions and set the appropriate permissions for each usergroup. those that you lock out will then not be able to see the locked forums.

GrendelKhan{TSU 08-12-2005 01:54 AM

ooOooo me keeps an eye on this thread for later..... will def be needing it :)

Brinnie 08-13-2005 07:38 PM

By the way, Google will hate you for this.

rebootln 08-13-2005 08:44 PM

i would like to do this also

same content just different logo to be displayed....not even different style

Chris 96 WS6 12-31-2006 05:45 PM

Yeah, I want to do this too...same content on both "sites", just branded with a different domain/skin.

Somebody should release a hack for this.

Where would we put this in 3.6? Create a plugin under global_start?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Markro (Post 752532)
Oddly enough, the script doesn't work, because when I visit the domain from:

http://www.domain.com
-or-
http://domain.com

it'll only work on one, the one I configured in...

PHP Code:

 if ($_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'domaina')
{
    
$styleid X;
}
elseif (
$_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'domainb')
{
    
$styleid Y;


so, if I put, www.domain.com it'll only work for http://www.domain.com, but if I put domain.com it'll only work for http://domain.com .... have a solution?

EDIT: Solution found.

Solution:

PHP Code:

if ($_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'domaina.com' || $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'www.domaina.com')
{
  
$styleid 2;
  
$vboptions['styleid'] = 2;
  
$bbuserinfo['styleid'] = 2;
  
$codestyleid 2;
}
elseif (
$_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'domainb.com' || $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] == 'www.domainb.com')
{
  
$styleid 3;
  
$vboptions['styleid'] = 3;
  
$bbuserinfo['styleid'] = 3;
  
$codestyleid 3;


Another question for you fellas, If I want to hide certian boards when domaina is visited or when I visited domainb different boards are hidden.


Adrian Schneider 12-31-2006 06:07 PM

in 3.5/3.6 put it in the style_fetch plugin, and also you need to set $userselect to true

Chris 96 WS6 12-31-2006 07:56 PM

How should I set the alternate domain up? Masked park on top of the forum home?

Chris 96 WS6 01-02-2007 06:09 PM

I implemented the code as suggested but it doesn't work. The plugin is active, $userselect is on.

I don't have to turn on register_globals to get $_SERVER to work do I?

GruntHalo 03-15-2007 09:30 PM

wow lol this forum has everything :O


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01461 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,829KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_php_printable
  • (9)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (27)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete