vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Community Lounge (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Boxes around user info (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=89111)

dndog 05-08-2004 11:40 PM

Boxes around user info
 
How does vBT get the boxes around the user information in the postbit?

Thanks.

Ryan Ashbrook 05-08-2004 11:48 PM

I'm guessing tables. ;)

skinvb 05-09-2004 01:15 AM

no you can use DIV :This is example:
Class:
Quote:

.postbit {
BORDER-RIGHT: #000000 1px solid; BORDER-TOP: #000000 1px solid; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 1px solid; BORDER-BOTTOM: #000000 1px solid; BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff;
}
and code in postbit:
Quote:

<div class="postbit">$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div>
You're done

Tony G 05-09-2004 06:08 AM

Yep, it's done using a div class. This is the best way to do tables like that. :)

Ryan Ashbrook 05-09-2004 02:29 PM

*Ryan smacks hisself*

I'm an idiot. :p I forgot about div. :p

Elmer 05-10-2004 09:56 PM

hmm i think this would be ok also..
hmm i think this would be ok also..
HTML Code:

.postbit {
        border: 1px solid #000000;
        background-color: #ffffff;
}

it's the same thing

tHe Rk 05-22-2004 09:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by skinvb
no you can use DIV :This is example:
Class:


and code in postbit:


You're done

What is DIV? Where do I put that first DIV code? Please HELP!

I just upgraded from vB2, so this something I havn't seen before.

Tony G 05-22-2004 10:01 PM

DIV is used for many things, but for this, it is used to call a CSS class you have pre-set in your style settings. So putting something like <div class="postbit"> calls the CSS options for 'postbit'

You'd put the DIV code (as skinvb has posted above) in your postbit template. You'd put the code around each of the variables which call something like Join Date, or posts etc. placing the variable inbetween the code.

tHe Rk 05-22-2004 10:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tony
DIV is used for many things, but for this, it is used to call a CSS class you have pre-set in your style settings. So putting something like <div class="postbit"> calls the CSS options for 'postbit'

You'd put the DIV code (as skinvb has posted above) in your postbit template. You'd put the code around each of the variables which call something like Join Date, or posts etc. placing the variable inbetween the code.

Okay! Man this stuff is so confusing. But I got it figured out now. Thanks for posting that. It took me a minute to figure it out, but was very helpfull! Thanks a Ton!

Tony G 05-22-2004 10:50 PM

Sorry I wordered it like that. Skinvb gave an example of how it should look in the postbit template:

<div class="postbit">$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div>

That is only for Join Date though. For something else, you'd take out:

$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]

and replace it with another profile field you'd like to put a box around. So, for example, posts.

Hope that made it a little more clearer.

tHe Rk 05-22-2004 10:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tony
Sorry I wordered it like that. Skinvb gave an example of how it should look in the postbit template:

<div class="postbit">$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div>

That is only for Join Date though. For something else, you'd take out:

$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]

and replace it with another profile field you'd like to put a box around. So, for example, posts.

Hope that made it a little more clearer.

Yeah I figured that out as well, but how do you get the smaller spaces between the boxes? If you use a <br > Tag it goes way down the page, which I want them fairly close. Is the only way to insert (empty) tables in between them? Or is there a simpler way? Thanks again!

Edit: I did a view source for one of the pages here. I see ---> margin-bottom: 2px.
Awesome. vB3 Really does work easily if you know what your doing. Know if I could just figure out what I am doing:p

Ryan Ashbrook 05-22-2004 11:31 PM

It's really simple once you get used to it. :)

Tony G 05-23-2004 05:51 AM

Especially the templates, once you get the hang of what each template does and have a fair understanding on what the main variables too, together with some HTML knowledge, it will become easy. :)

imported_Cool_Rice 07-03-2004 02:01 AM

Hmm.. I think I know where to put the postbit part, just in the template manager and postbit right? But the DIV class thing, I have no idea where that is...
Does it go into a CSS file?

Tony G 07-03-2004 08:47 AM

Yeah, the specific CSS code is placed (you can use the style manager to make it easier) in and then you use the div tag, and calling the name you put the specific CSS code under.

Eg. <div class="name of specific CSS code">blablablacode</div>

Those are the basics of it.

imported_infernonet 07-03-2004 04:56 PM

I think he means where do you put the css code my self i put it in 'Style Manager -> The Style' under 'Additional CSS Definitions' near the bottem.

Add to the bottem of the 'Additional CSS Definitions' first box

Example:

Code:

/* ***** PostBit ***** */
.postbit {
        border: 1px solid #999999;
        background-color: #EFEFEF;
        margin-bottom: 2px;
        height: 20px;
}

CSS is very customizable, You can replace 'background-color' with background-image if you wanted and so on

Example:

Code:

        background-image: url(images/gradients/gradient_tcat.gif);
Good Place to learn css is @ http://www.w3schools.com/css/default.asp

Posted by Brad @
http://www.vbulletintemplates.com/mo...ead.php?t=5922

Hope this helps. :)

imported_infernonet 07-03-2004 04:57 PM

Also remember to change the hex codes ect to your own needs :)

Tony G 07-04-2004 03:14 AM

Oh, right. Sorry for the misunderstanding, Cool_Rice.

imported_Cool_Rice 07-13-2004 10:39 PM

Hi,

Thanks Tony and Infernonet :) I've got this working now! I just would like to know what code would add some cellpadding to the inside of the divs... i tried putting cellpadding="3" but that doesnt seem to work.

Please help! :D

imported_Cool_Rice 07-27-2004 02:34 AM

Could anyone offer some help with this please? :(

Ryan Ashbrook 07-28-2004 04:44 PM

In the CSS add this:

Code:

padding: 0px;
Changing 0px to something else, if desired.

imported_Cool_Rice 07-29-2004 03:08 AM

<3 :d


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03798 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,758KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (5)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (22)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete