vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=134)
-   -   Signature forced to bottom (for postbit_legacy users) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=89001)

Brad 04-21-2004 10:00 PM

Signature forced to bottom (for postbit_legacy users)
 
One of the biggest problems with the postbit_legacy template is how signatures will float to the bottom of the post text. This leaves an ugly gap between the bottom of the table and the bottom of the post text, this issue is more noticable on boards that show alot of info in the user box on the left of the postbit.

My modification will force the signature to the bottom of the table, however now the hieght of the signature will cause a slight gap in the user info box on the left. I think it is a good trade off, as I don't allow large sig's on my board anyway.

I have included a screen shot of the modification working, it will also give you an idea of the gap I refered to.

Instructions are included in the attached .txt file, the modification requires 2 edits to the postbit_legacy template.

[Screenshot]

Tony G 04-22-2004 11:45 AM

Always a great mod, will be useful. :)

Zachery 04-22-2004 04:02 PM

Not how i did it but good job :)

imported_marsauae 04-23-2004 02:43 AM

thanks Brad
but how install This template fot postbit ?

Brad 04-23-2004 03:56 PM

The regular postbit template dose not require said modification.

Dean N Steve 05-02-2004 02:22 PM

Thanks for saving me 10mins Brad ;)

imported_BigJohnson 05-05-2004 02:04 AM

But then it adds a humungus space to the bottom. How can we not make this do that?

It is adding the space to the left area with the postbit info whne a sig is present.

I dont like this. Is there any alternate way?

imported_subu1 05-09-2004 04:45 PM

verry good but my Postbit have 2 Colors ????

LuBi 05-15-2004 03:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by subu1
verry good but my Postbit have 2 Colors ????

I'm having the same issue. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/

Arcanum 05-15-2004 06:40 PM

Trying using rowspan=2 in the left column. Is what I did for mine. ;)

LuBi 05-15-2004 07:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Arcanum
Trying using rowspan=2 in the left column. Is what I did for mine. ;)

I'm not clear, could you help me? http://www.vbulletintemplates.com/mo...cons/icon9.gif

Arcanum 05-16-2004 04:49 AM

See if this helps.

Btw, might suggest adding valign="bottom" to the table cell containing the signature... just to ensure is always at the bottom... but that's just my preference I suppose. Of course I personally also moved the edited & edited reason notices to that cell in my forums (a test one) also to ensure was at the bottom. But that's me.

LuBi 05-16-2004 05:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Arcanum
See if this helps.

Btw, might suggest adding valign="bottom" to the table cell containing the signature... just to ensure is always at the bottom... but that's just my preference I suppose. Of course I personally also moved the edited & edited reason notices to that cell in my forums (a test one) also to ensure was at the bottom. But that's me.

Thanks, nice try.. but now it everything is centered and the cell is off in color. I'll look into it. http://www.vbulletintemplates.com/mo...ons/icon14.gif

nydk 05-31-2004 07:04 PM

Okay, I've had no trouble doing this for my other styles, but my newest/latest style was created a little "differently" (Ex: The "navbar" items are actually in the "header", my "postbit_legacy" uses a lot of DIV's and less tables...

I have no problem finding, and erasing this part of the code:
Code:

<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
        __________________<br />
        $post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>

Then, it says look for:
Code:

<!-- / edit note -->
</if>
 
</td>
</tr>

... and add directly below it:
Code:


<tr>
<td class="alt2">
</td>
<td class="alt1" align="$stylevar[right]">
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
        __________________________<br />
        $post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>
</td>
</tr>


When I search for "<!-- / edit note -->" and look for the closing IF, TD, and TR tags, in my postbit_legacy I find:

Code:


...etcetcetc.... <if condition="$post['edit_reason']">$vbphrase[reason]: $post[edit_reason]</if>
        </em>
</div>

<!-- / edit note -->
</if>

                                        <div align="right">
<!-- controls -->
<if condition="$post['editlink']">
.......etc etc etc etc......

In other words, no closing TD and TR tags after the edit note... so if I try to do the mod, things get messed up.

I've attached my postbit_legacy... if anybody has any suggestions, please let me know.

Again, these mods gave me no trouble on my other styles... just this one style's givign me trouble. thanks

imported_John Crichton 06-07-2004 08:11 AM

when I do it on my site is changed nothing... is there anywhere else it could be???

fulleffect 09-23-2004 12:15 PM

test test test test test test test test test

Sledgstone 09-28-2004 12:14 AM

I'm using the following for vB 3.0.3 and it takes care of the gap at the left and bottom aligns the signature, but because I'm using cellspacing="1" in my table I'm getting an annoying cellspacing line in the posts. This works good for IE. I haven't tested it in other browsers though.

In postbit_legacy, find:
Code:

        <td class="alt2" width="175">
Change to:
Code:

        <td class="alt2" width="175" rowspan="2">
Then find:
Code:

                <if condition="$post['signature']">
                <!-- sig -->
                        <div>
                                __________________<br />
                                $post[signature]
                        </div>
                <!-- / sig -->
                </if>

Delete it.


Now find:
Code:

                <!-- / edit note -->
                </if>
       
        </td>
</tr>

Directly underneath add:

Code:

<tr>
<td class="alt1" valign="bottom">
                <if condition="$post['signature']">
                <!-- sig -->
                        <div valign="bottom">
                                __________________________<br />
                                $post[signature]
                        </div>
                <!-- / sig -->
                </if>
                </td>
</tr>


imported_TCB 01-03-2005 12:01 PM

That sollution is great :D

But now the 'Last edited by' line is placed right under the last line of a post, and then there's a gap until the bottom where the signature is.

But that's only for posts with just a few lines of text.

Sledgstone 01-15-2005 04:27 PM

If you want the 'Last edited by' line moved to just above the signature do the following:


In postbit_legacy, find:

Code:

                <if condition="$show['postedited']">
                <!-- edit note -->
                        <div class="smallfont">                        <hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />
                                <em>
                                <phrase 1="$post[edit_username]" 2="$post[edit_date]" 3="$post[edit_time]">$vbphrase[last_edited_by_x_on_y_at_z]</phrase>.
                                <if condition="$post['edit_reason']">$vbphrase[reason]: $post[edit_reason]</if>
                                </em>
                        </div>
                <!-- / edit note -->
                </if>

Delete it.

Then find:

Code:

                <if condition="$post['signature']">
Directly above add:

Code:

                <if condition="$show['postedited']">
                <!-- edit note -->
                        <div class="smallfont">                        <hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />
                                <em>
                                <phrase 1="$post[edit_username]" 2="$post[edit_date]" 3="$post[edit_time]">$vbphrase[last_edited_by_x_on_y_at_z]</phrase>.
                                <if condition="$post['edit_reason']">$vbphrase[reason]: $post[edit_reason]</if>
                                </em>
                        </div>
                <!-- / edit note -->
                </if>


catocom2 01-29-2005 07:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigJohnson
But then it adds a humungus space to the bottom. How can we not make this do that?

It is adding the space to the left area with the postbit info whne a sig is present.

I dont like this. Is there any alternate way?

I get the same using 3.0.6.
Did anybody ever figure this out?

catocom2 01-30-2005 04:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigJohnson
But then it adds a humungus space to the bottom. How can we not make this do that?

It is adding the space to the left area with the postbit info whne a sig is present.

I dont like this. Is there any alternate way?

Well I think I finally got it somewhat.
Here's what I finished with.
I also have "quickedit, mutiquote, and quickquote" so it is different from
the standard template even before the change.
I'll do a file comparison and try to get back and post directions.

catocom2 01-30-2005 06:50 PM

OK I think the main thing is placing the "rowspan" in the right place.

I must have misread something somewhere, because after reviewing,
it's almost identical to what Sledgstone posted. ??

nso 02-03-2005 11:37 PM

I made my own version of this one, and was going to post it as a mod when I discovered this thread.

You can try my version and see if it is better for you.

It is made on an unmodified postbit_legacy template

imported_jedi-mind-trick 04-04-2005 07:32 PM

Can I offer praise and worship for this modification? That sig thing was driving me crazy. Thank you very much.

Dark Aura 12-04-2005 11:39 AM

This is great, accept for it seems to create a line that goes right across the postbit_legacy underneath the message, is there a way I can get rid of this?

Sledgstone 12-04-2005 11:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark Aura
This is great, accept for it seems to create a line that goes right across the postbit_legacy underneath the message, is there a way I can get rid of this?

If you take off the cellspacing="1" for that table, it'll remove the line, but it will also take out the border for the entire postbit_legacy. I didn't care for it at first, but my members like it. O_o They say it helps distinguish whats the post and whats the signature.

Dark Aura 12-04-2005 12:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sledgstone
If you take off the cellspacing="1" for that table, it'll remove the line, but it will also take out the border for the entire postbit_legacy. I didn't care for it at first, but my members like it. O_o They say it helps distinguish whats the post and whats the signature.

Thank you! But I would like to keep the border in :o but not have the line below the message and above the sig, is there anyway to get round this?

Ohiosweetheart 10-09-2006 03:11 AM

does anyone know if this would work in 3.6.x?

eNforce 10-09-2006 03:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ohiosweetheart
does anyone know if this would work in 3.6.x?

I was looking at a few threads/posts about this yesterday but none of the mods succeed properly.

I'd appreciate is someone could release this mod for 3.6.x

Sledgstone 10-12-2006 11:22 PM

I released this for 3.6.x in the following topic:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=128951


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01438 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,814KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (12)bbcode_code_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (30)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete