vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Vbadvanced - Weather Channel Module (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=81730)

boo.3 05-18-2005 10:00 PM

Vbadvanced - Weather Channel Module
 
thanks to dsboyce8624 to fixing this code

This code is based around cLord's weather module

All i did was some simple changes to his code and added the weather channels code



What Does It do?

This gives users a field to add the ZIP CODE once added they will see there local weather on your main Vba


1. In your Admincp - User Profile Fields - Goto "Add New User Profile Field" - Choose single line text box - Create new field titled "Zip Code".

2. Admincp - User Profile Fields - Click "User Profile Field Manager" and look for the Zip Code field number - In my forums its 6.

3. Admin CP - Styles & Templates - Style Manager - Add a new template called "adv_portal_weather".

Now put this code into the template:

Code:

<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" class="tborder" width="100%">
<tr>
<td class="tcat"><span class="smallfont"><b>$vba_options[portal_blockbullet] Weather Conditions</b></span></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="$getbgrow"><span class="smallfont">

<if condition="!$bbuserinfo['userid']">
<span class="smallfont">Registered members can see their local weather forcast here.<br /><br /><phrase

1="$vboptions[bburl]">$vbphrase[not_a_member_yet_register_now]</phrase></span>
<else />
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[field5] !=''">

<script src='http://voap.weather.com/weather/oap/$bbuserinfo[field5]?template=GENXV&par=null&unit=0&key=05afc55b05db4d084c1497353310d74b' alt="Weather for $bbuserinfo[field66] provided by that-sucks.net." border="0"></a></script>

<else />Add your <A HREF="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?do=editprofile">Zip Code</A> to show weather forcast.
</if>
</if>
</span>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<br/>

MAKE SURE YOU CHANGE THE $bbuserinfo[field6] TO YOUR FIELD #... say yours is 4 it would be like this $bbuserinfo[field4]

Now Last Step

4. Admincp - vBa CMPS - Add Module

Module Title - Weather
Module Identifier - keep blank
OR Template to Include - weather
Activate - yes
Select the column *Right or Left*

DONE

Cyricx 05-19-2005 05:58 PM

Will this work for overseas as well? or just US members?

boo.3 05-19-2005 07:03 PM

You can look at overseas forcast, but for the zipcode i'm not sure.

Give it a try and tell me how it goes?

boo

KevinL 05-19-2005 09:07 PM

ok I installed this and Ive been wanting someone to write this up I couldnt get it to work correctly.

I have one problem now though, my quicklinks doesnt work it just reloads the page. When I shut it off the quicklinks works fine.

Any suggestions?

boo.3 05-19-2005 09:41 PM

what do you mean by quick links?

the navbar?

dsboyce8624 05-19-2005 09:44 PM

The idea is nice, and I used it, but you should tell people that it's attached to your site and that they should register for thier own on http://www.weather.com I also removed the ads.

Great idea though.

Dennis

PS - Since you have some problems (the script seems to be in twice or something.) Here is my template code

PHP Code:

<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]class="tborder" width="100%">
<
tr>
<
td class="tcat"><span class="smallfont"><b>$vba_options[portal_blockbulletWeather Conditions</b></span></td>
</
tr>
<
tr>
<
td class="$getbgrow"><span class="smallfont">

<if 
condition="!$bbuserinfo['userid']">
<
span class="smallfont">Registered members can see their local weather forcast here.<br /><br /><phrase 

1
="$vboptions[bburl]">$vbphrase[not_a_member_yet_register_now]</phrase></span>
<else />
<if 
condition="$bbuserinfo[field5] !=''">

<
script src='http://voap.weather.com/weather/oap/$bbuserinfo[field5]?template=GENXV&par=null&unit=0&key=05afc55b05db4d084c1497353310d74b' alt="Weather for $bbuserinfo[field66] provided by that-sucks.net." border="0"></a></script>

<else />
<
A HREF="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?do=editprofile">Add Zip Code</Ato show weather forcast.
</if>
</if>
</
span>
</
td>
</
tr>
</
table>
<
br/> 


boo.3 05-19-2005 09:45 PM

its fine with me if they run it off my account...

btw how did you remove adds?

would you like to help in fixing some of these problems?

ok updates are being made read top of post

dsboyce8624 05-19-2005 09:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boo.3
its fine with me if they run it off my account...

btw how did you remove adds?

would you like to help in fixing some of these problems?

ok updates are being made read top of post

I removed the top script statement you had in there.

Then replaced your script (the second one) with the one weather.com gave me. I edited it with the changes you made (the user zip field and so forth) and saved.

KevinL 05-19-2005 09:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boo.3
what do you mean by quick links?

the navbar?

Yeah in the navbar..well mine is in the header.

If I enable this and I click on that button it reloads the page. When I shut it off everything works fine again.

I have no idea why that would happen.

**edit** I also have people from overseas, is there a way to get this to work for them?

boo.3 05-19-2005 09:52 PM

ok i tryed your code and it didn't work for me it said i needed to enter zipcode?

did you get that error

boo.3 05-19-2005 09:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KevinL
Yeah in the navbar..well mine is in the header.

If I enable this and I click on that button it reloads the page. When I shut it off everything works fine again.

I have no idea why that would happen.

thats odd... would anyone know why this is happening?

dsboyce8624 05-19-2005 09:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boo.3
ok i tryed your code and it didn't work for me it said i needed to enter zipcode?

did you get that error

Mine? You prolly have to change it back to field6.

EDIT: Now I have to find a way to force it to be a smidge smaller.

dsboyce8624 05-19-2005 09:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boo.3
thats odd... would anyone know why this is happening?

No idea, unless there something else already wrong with the navbar.

This hack went nowhere near it.

boo.3 05-19-2005 09:56 PM

haha my bad i didn't add field6

let me check 1 sec

edit: An error has occurred.
Invalid location code provided.
Please notify the webmaster.

i get that now after changing field

KevinL 05-19-2005 09:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boo.3
thats odd... would anyone know why this is happening?

ok for some reason that new code fixed that problem! :)

Thanks!

dsboyce8624 05-19-2005 10:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boo.3
haha my bad i didn't add field6

let me check 1 sec

edit: An error has occurred.
Invalid location code provided.
Please notify the webmaster.

i get that now after changing field

I got that before I edited mine, make sure you get all instances.

dsboyce8624 05-19-2005 10:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KevinL
ok for some reason that new code fixed that problem! :)

Thanks!

Damn I'm good!

I have no idea what I'm doing either.

:banana:

boo.3 05-19-2005 10:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsboyce8624
I got that before I edited mine, make sure you get all instances.


everythings right still get error * lol giving me support for my hack *

dsboyce8624 05-19-2005 10:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boo.3
everythings right still get error * lol giving me support for my hack *


I cleaned it up some more. Try this new version. Make sure you edit all of the field5's.

PHP Code:

<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]class="tborder" width="100%">
<
tr>
<
td class="tcat"><span class="smallfont"><b>$vba_options[portal_blockbulletWeather Conditions</b></span></td>
</
tr>
<
tr>
<
td class="$getbgrow"><span class="smallfont">

<if 
condition="!$bbuserinfo['userid']">
<
span class="smallfont">Registered members can see their local weather forcast here.<br /><br /><phrase 

1
="$vboptions[bburl]">$vbphrase[not_a_member_yet_register_now]</phrase></span>
<else />
<if 
condition="$bbuserinfo[field5] !=''">

<
script src='http://voap.weather.com/weather/oap/$bbuserinfo[field5]?template=GENXV&par=null&unit=0&key=05afc55b05db4d084c1497353310d74b' alt="Weather for $bbuserinfo[field66] provided by that-sucks.net." border="0"></a></script>

<else />
Add your <A HREF="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?do=editprofile">Zip Code</Ato show weather forcast.
</if>
</if>
</
span>
</
td>
</
tr>
</
table>
<
br/> 

EDIT: Don't worry, I'm happy to finally be able to help somebody.

boo.3 05-19-2005 10:11 PM

ty i'll give that a shot

if this works mind if i upload it to main post?

boo.3 05-19-2005 10:12 PM

ahh awesome it works

care if i upload it?

dsboyce8624 05-19-2005 10:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boo.3
ahh awesome it works

care if i upload it?

Go for it.

Might want to remove the note too.

And change the attached file.

One more thing, works fine in either column.

LOL

boo.3 05-19-2005 10:59 PM

ok updated

dsboyce8624 05-19-2005 10:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boo.3
ok updated

Congratulations!

boo.3 05-19-2005 11:10 PM

thanks for the help man

KevinL 05-19-2005 11:14 PM

Ok to get it working for overseas people go to www.weather.com or to http://uk.weather.com/ and look up your post code.

To test it go to http://uk.weather.com/ and look up Manchester, United Kingdom. Now look at the address in the bar it should say http://uk.weather.com/weather/local...92?from=popular use the UKXX0092 as the zip code this should make it work fine. :)

Thanks for writing this again guys great work! :)

boo.3 05-19-2005 11:46 PM

nice hint there ^^

and np

Gemma 05-20-2005 10:29 AM

This works great wit overseas weather forecasts.

Thanks alot :)

Grimsbody 05-25-2005 05:05 PM

Quote:

Admincp - vBa CMPS - Add Module
Is this related to another hack or am I just flustered by the abbr.? Needless to say I'm stalled on step 4. :(

KevinL 05-25-2005 05:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Grimsbody
Is this related to another hack or am I just flustered by the abbr.? Needless to say I'm stalled on step 4. :(

Kinda you need vBadvanced CMPS http://www.vbadvanced.com/products.p...roductinfo&p=4 in order to use this.

vnpower 05-25-2005 06:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cyricx
Will this work for overseas as well? or just US members?

Yes, US members. :p
I thing so!

vnpower 05-25-2005 06:48 PM

Yes, US members. :p
I thing so!

Pion 05-26-2005 02:44 AM

Installed works nicely when loged in, but this is the url I get when unregistered: http://www.myforums.com/home/%1$s/register.php
It should be myforums.com/forums/register.php

Anyway to fix this??

:Judge: 05-26-2005 03:47 AM

To show thanks I went ahead and got the style codes for more options. I didn't care for the default look and wanted something to fit in the center a little better.

Horizontal, best for center blocks

Ticket Holder = EVNTH
Wild Flowers = LAWNH
Winter Blues = COLDH
Green Paint = HOMEH
Golfers Sunrise = GOLFH
Grass Fields = ALERH
Sunday Drive = DRIVH
The Weather Channel = GENXH
Outdoor Enthusiast = OTDRH
In Flight = TRVLH


Vertical, best for side blocks

Ticket Holder = EVNTV
Wild Flowers = LAWNV
Winter Blues = COLDV
Green Paint = HOMEV
Golfers Sunrise = GOLFV
Grass Fields = ALERV
Sunday Drive = DRIVV
The Weather Channel = GENXV
Outdoor Enthusiast = OTDRV
In Flight = TRVLV

Change style in this line of code.
Code:

<script src='http://voap.weather.com/weather/oap/$bbuserinfo[field5]?template=PLACE 5 DIGIT CODE HERE
If this could be made better to understand or added to the first post as options just thought I would say feel free to ;)

Also here is a photo of styles.

Pion 05-30-2005 09:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pion
Installed works nicely when loged in, but this is the url I get when unregistered: http://www.myforums.com/home/%1$s/register.php
It should be myforums.com/forums/register.php

Anyway to fix this??

Is there any support for this hack anymore?

Brandon Sheley 05-30-2005 09:32 PM

can try vbadvanced.com ;)

Pion 05-31-2005 09:31 PM

Tried, no help either. I fixed it though.

dsboyce8624 06-01-2005 01:56 PM

I did post something for you over there, and I'm pretty sure you got it fixed.

Even though this isn't really my hack.

Boo is on a trip for a week or so.

beansbaxter 06-25-2005 02:54 PM

doesnt work:
An error has occurred.
Invalid location code provided.
Please notify the webmaster.

dsboyce8624 06-25-2005 07:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by beansbaxter
doesnt work:
An error has occurred.
Invalid location code provided.
Please notify the webmaster.

Bad zip code.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01554 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,862KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (17)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete