vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3 Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=187)
-   -   Run your vBulletin on your PC (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=79539)

Deaths 04-06-2005 10:00 PM

Run your vBulletin on your PC
 
I know there is a guide like this out already, and it's created by TECK.
However, his guide is outdated, and the download links are no longer valid.

So, I though I'd tell you how I did it :)

Please do NOT distribute this guide outside of vBulletin.org! If you wish to put it on your site, contact me by PM!

Here are a couple of simple steps on how to run your vB on your PC:

Installing Apache, PHP, MySQL, phpMyAdmin, etc...
  • Download the newest version of PHPTriad (http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...ckage_id=9390).
    • This is a very easy to use all-in-one pack.
  • Run the .exe, and let the installer do the job for you.
  • Now go to C:\apache\mysql\bin\, and run winmysqladmin.
    • If, and it probably will, it asks you for a password, enter root as password, and password as password.
  • Goto your start menu > PHPtriad > Apache Console > Stop Apache
  • Now go to start menu > PHPtriad > Apache Console > Start Apache
    • Note: Do NOT select "Restart Apache".
  • Now, Apache will pop up in a new window.
  • Simply minimize it.
    • Do NOT close it!
  • Now, open up c:\apache\htdocs\phpmyadmin\config.inc.php.
    • Find: $cfgServers[1]['password'] = '';
    • Between the '' tags, enter "password" WITHOUT the quotes
    • Save & Close
  • Now, your "webpage" is available at http://localhost!

Ok, nowthat we've installed and configured everything, we can start with the actuall vBulletin install!

Installing your vBulletin
  • Look at your task menu, and right click the traffic light icon.
  • Click "Show me"
  • Now, go to the databases tab.
  • Right click on the "Test" database
  • Click "Create Database".
  • In the window which just opened, enter the exact name which you gave to your online database. (If you're installing a new vBulletin forum on your local PC, you may call it anything you want. Do remember what you call it though).
  • Click "Create the Database" once you've entered a name.
  • Click "OK" on the error box which just poped up.
  • Now, press cancel, and it should bring you back to the databases tab.
  • Now, you have 2 options.
    • Follow these steps if you want to install a NEW vBULLETIN, if not, simply scroll down.
      • Download a new vBulletin copy from the members area.
      • Extract it to: c:\apache\htdocs\forum
      • Open up c:\apache\htdocs\forum\includes\config.php.
        • Set the the servername to "localhost" (without quotes)
        • Set NO dbusername and NO dbuserpassword!
        • Set the database name to the name of the database you created a couple of steps above.
        • Now install vBulletin, and follow vBulletin's steps.
    • Follow these steps if you want to install your online vBulletin Board on your PC.
      • Download your vBulletin files from your FTP
      • Download you Database from your host.
      • Rename your database file to vbulletin.sql
      • Go to http://localhost/phpmyadmin
      • Go to the database you created a couple of steps ago.
      • Click the "import" tab.
      • Find this text: "Or Location of the textfile :" (without quotes)
      • Bellow it, there should be a "browse" button.
      • Click it.
      • Browse to your vbulletin.sql file, and select it
      • Now, click the "Go" button. ONLY CLICK THIS ONCE
      • Get yourself a cup of coffee, because this might take a while.
      • When its done, it will most likely say "No tables found". Just ignore that.
  • Go to http://localhost/forum/admincp
  • Log in
    • If you can NOT log in, follow these steps.
      • Go to http://localhost/phpmyadmin, and open your database.
      • Open up the table "datastore" (BROWSE it)
      • Open up "options" (inside the database)
      • Find (where XXXX is your cookie domain you set when your board was online.
        Code:

        cookiedomain";s:0:"XXXX"
      • REMOVE the cookiedomain text. sothat it will look like this:
        Code:

        cookiedomain";s:0:""
      • Go back to your database.
      • Now browse the SETTING table.
      • Find the "cookiedomain" field.
      • Edit it, and empty the "value" box.
  • Thats it! You're done!

IF IT SAYS THE DATABASE IS EMPTY, JUST IGNORE THAT! FOLLOW THE REST OF THE STEPS, AND YOU WILL SEE IT WORKS!

You can now start playing around with your offline vBulletin copy, without having to worry about your members :)

Hiro 04-07-2005 09:31 PM

Wow, Awesome dude!

I will be sure to use this ;)

deathemperor 04-08-2005 01:11 AM

Deaths have you checked for an exist guide ?

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=39482

more details, better for newbie

Deaths 04-08-2005 06:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deaths
I know there is a guide like this out already,

Read the post ;).

It's not better for newbies at this stage, because 1 of his links is outdated (how is a newbie going to get the right file?), the MySQL is still a 3.x version (some hacks will cause major problems), and this Apache installation is WAY easier, as its just an installed, no zipping to directories, etc...

:nervous:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brilliance
Wow, Awesome dude!

I will be sure to use this ;)

Glad you like it :)

deathemperor 04-08-2005 10:34 AM

I use AppServ which offer one file installation and you need to edit nothing to have a local server.

Deaths 04-08-2005 01:28 PM

I never used it, so I can't make a howto on something I never used. (AppServe, that is)

KW802 04-08-2005 02:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deathemperor
I use AppServ which offer one file installation and you need to edit nothing to have a local server.

Your typical "newbie"' wouldn't know anything about AppServ or even SourceForge.

tnguy3n 04-08-2005 02:29 PM

Nice tutorial. it may be very helpful to newbies.

I run IIS + php/mysql/activeperl on my window. It's been working all good so far. One nice thing about IIS is that it allows me to test ASP scripts on my localhost too. :)

Deaths 04-08-2005 02:34 PM

Thanks :).

This wasnt created for a TOTAL newbie, because a total newb wouldn't see any use in this anyway...

mholtum 04-08-2005 03:34 PM

went great but there is no "test" db.

deathemperor 04-08-2005 06:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KW802
Your typical "newbie"' wouldn't know anything about AppServ or even SourceForge.

What I meant was: instead of telling them to edit this and that you can tell them just run a file(click next next and next..) and then http://localhost , isn't it better for newbie ? The only thing you need to guide for that 'newbie' is the link to download that file.

AlexUK 04-08-2005 07:18 PM

# Click the "import" tab.
# Select "browse" near "upload file"

I installed everything ok.
Now I am in phpmyadmin but I dont see the fields above.
There is a run sql queries area only.
Any ideas?

KW802 04-08-2005 08:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deathemperor
What I meant was: instead of telling them to edit this and that you can tell them just run a file(click next next and next..) and then http://localhost , isn't it better for newbie ? The only thing you need to guide for that 'newbie' is the link to download that file.

... but then you end up having to tell the 'newbie' where to find AppServ, how to install that, what the need to know about it, and then they can 'click next next next'. Somewhere in the chain the person needs to be flat out told what directions to take: Adding another layer to it like AppServ just strays from the KISS method.

N8 04-08-2005 11:01 PM

edit, nvm :)

Adrian Schneider 04-09-2005 01:35 AM

Awesome Deaths, even though there is already another one, it's nice to check 2 sources. Things like this also take a lot of work, so thanks!

Quick question: will this work from the internet, via http://ipaddress/ ?

tnguy3n 04-09-2005 03:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheSpecialist
Awesome Deaths, even though there is already another one, it's nice to check 2 sources. Things like this also take a lot of work, so thanks!

Quick question: will this work from the internet, via http://ipaddress/ ?

If your ISP allows you to run server on their network, ppl can access to website on your home machine.

Deaths 04-09-2005 07:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlexUK
# Click the "import" tab.
# Select "browse" near "upload file"

I installed everything ok.
Now I am in phpmyadmin but I dont see the fields above.
There is a run sql queries area only.
Any ideas?

Yes, below that big textbox there is a little text saying:
"Or Location of the textfile :"
Press "browse", the press "go".

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheSpecialist
Awesome Deaths, even though there is already another one, it's nice to check 2 sources. Things like this also take a lot of work, so thanks!

Quick question: will this work from the internet, via http://ipaddress/ ?

Depends on your ISP.
Your firewall will probably block it though, if you have a good router.

You can access it from your local network VIA the IP, just go to WinMySQLadmin, and there it says your local IP.

EDIT:
Updated the guide, gone into a little more detail for the importing of your old DB.

Also fixed a little typo, it wasnt an "Upload" button, but a "Go" button ;)

TyleR 04-09-2005 08:04 AM

Wow, i never knew i could do this ^_^

Works like a charm..will definately be using this for testing mods i make for my forum ~_^

Deaths 04-09-2005 08:06 AM

Hehe, glad it worked :).

There should be some kind of install button for hints & tips :/

AlexUK 04-09-2005 09:39 AM

I am loading my vbulletin.sql file which is 9mb size but I am waiting for so long and nothing happens, I mean almost an hour now.
is this normal?

Deaths 04-09-2005 11:08 AM

That is indeed long, too long.

What OS are you using?

AlexUK 04-09-2005 11:44 AM

windows xp pro

Marco van Herwaarden 04-09-2005 11:55 AM

Depending on your hardware, this could be normal then yes.

Deaths 04-09-2005 11:57 AM

Just turn it on when you go to sleep, and in the morning its done ;)

AlexUK 04-09-2005 11:59 AM

I actually got a message saying that the document had no information/was empty.
I tried to load this several times yesterday and today and no luck.
Shame.

Deaths 04-09-2005 12:21 PM

If you read through the guide, you will notice it says that it is NORMAL that it says that ;).

Quote:

When its done, it will most likely say "No tables found". Just ignore it.

AlexUK 04-09-2005 12:39 PM

No thats not what it meant.
My database is still empty.
It not working at all.

Deaths 04-09-2005 06:17 PM

It looks like its emtpy, but actually its not.

Just follow the steps, and you'll see it works.

YLP1 04-09-2005 06:44 PM

Newbie here... I am stuck...everything worked up until the time to click on test database...nothing there..I then right clicked to create a database and it dialog box says that the server must be connected.

Help?!?!?! ;)

TyleR 04-09-2005 07:05 PM

@AlexUK: split the db file into like 3 .sql files, and run them in precise order so that you wont recieve any mysql errors.

@YLP1: Did you go to: Start->PHPTriad->Apache Console->Stop Apache then clicking Start->PHPTriad->Apache Console->Start Apache (and keep the MS-DOS 'looking' prompt the whole time!..don't X out, you CAN minimize it.) before right clicking on the icon in the bottom right of your desktop ?

lasto 04-09-2005 07:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlexUK
I am loading my vbulletin.sql file which is 9mb size but I am waiting for so long and nothing happens, I mean almost an hour now.
is this normal?

9 meg on your computer should be done in about 10 mins.

Also when looking to the left for tables they may not show so log out and back in - solves the problem all the time.

Use a program called Mysqfront to create databases local - is well easy program to use.

Deaths 04-10-2005 08:40 AM

It is normal for it to say it is empty, it's some kind of bug in phpMyAdmin.
Just continue the steps, and you'll see it'll work.

The Realist 04-10-2005 11:12 AM

Out of curiosity, what if you want to run your forum from home and do the above and setup a forwarding URL by using dyndns.org.

How would you set this up so it connects to an outside port?

Laters

Deaths 04-10-2005 01:19 PM

I wouldn't know...

Maybe someone else knows, but I'm not good with stuff like that.

tnguy3n 04-10-2005 09:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lasto
9 meg on your computer should be done in about 10 mins.

Also when looking to the left for tables they may not show so log out and back in - solves the problem all the time.

Use a program called Mysqfront to create databases local - is well easy program to use.

9 MB is a little too big for phpMyAdmin to handle, maybe you should copy & paste.

Rickie3 05-25-2005 06:13 AM

can somebody please advise,ive installed everything and all is working the only thing i am having trouble with is installing vbulletin.ive just downloaded vb 3.0.7 unzipped it to my documents,then i cut and pasted the upload folder to C:\apache\htdocs then i renamed the upload folder to forum,i then went into the forums folder and opened the includes folder,then renamed config.php.new to config.php and i also done the edits in your instructions and saved,to do the install i typed http:/localhost/forum/install/install.php,and this is what it comes up with:::::
Please make sure you have entered the values in to config.php.new and renamed the file to config.php.

i have been at this for a while now and have checked and re checked everything what am i doing wrong,i also noticed when i highlight my mouse over the config.php file it saying type NEW file and config.php under it,any help or advise appreciated,i really want to get this working great for testing some of the hacks/and codes

Deaths 05-25-2005 10:06 AM

You will need to add the database information to config.php.

Marco van Herwaarden 05-25-2005 06:24 PM

If you have a MySQL version 4.1 or higher then you will probable need your MySQL server to allow Old Passwords.

Rickie3 05-26-2005 03:04 AM

ok now when i type in
http:/localhost/forum/install/install.php it just goes to a blank page,any ideas???

Marco van Herwaarden 05-26-2005 05:24 AM

Check the page source and post here.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01604 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,831KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete