vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Requests/Questions (Unpaid) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   BB Code - StrikeThrough (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=77721)

platnum 03-08-2005 03:12 PM

BB Code - StrikeThrough
 
Haha, I hope this isn't done already :P.

But I was just wondering how I could add a strikethrough bb code?

I'm making a list of things I need to add to the site, and wouldn't mind a strikethrough when I'm done adding something... Anyway to do this?

Thanks!.

E2E 03-08-2005 03:23 PM

Ooh, ooh, I can answer this one! =) Erm, well, I think I can at any rate: you can add strikethrough as a custom BB code via the Admin CP:

1. In your AdminCP, go to Custom BB Codes and click Add New BB Code
2. Enter the following info in the appropriate fields:
Title: Strikethrough
Tag: Strike
Replacement: <strike>{param}</strike>
Complete the rest of the fields as you like (to be honest, I believe the only field that you "must" set up as I've described is the "Replacement" one, as that's the one that tells vBulletin what html code you want to use for this bb code).

That oughta do it - good luck!

platnum 03-08-2005 03:29 PM

Omg why didn't I think of that.. Now that I see it, it makes total sense.. haha im so stupid :P

Thanks bro, I'll go put it in now lol.

---MAD--- 08-23-2005 05:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by platnum
Omg why didn't I think of that.. Now that I see it, it makes total sense.. haha im so stupid :P

Thanks bro, I'll go put it in now lol.

thanks bro its great :P

AllenSam 08-31-2005 05:21 PM

You can also use <s>{param}</s>.

LEAD_WEIGHT 08-31-2005 11:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllenSam
You can also use <s>{param}</s>.

Some how it did not place a line thought it. Oh well

AllenSam 08-31-2005 11:19 PM

It works for me:

http://www4.pcdc.net/~sammage/urealms/strike.html

Check the source and see for yourself.

msimplay 01-26-2006 01:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by E2E
Ooh, ooh, I can answer this one! =) Erm, well, I think I can at any rate: you can add strikethrough as a custom BB code via the Admin CP:

1. In your AdminCP, go to Custom BB Codes and click Add New BB Code
2. Enter the following info in the appropriate fields:
Title: Strikethrough
Tag: Strike
Replacement: <strike>{param}</strike>
Complete the rest of the fields as you like (to be honest, I believe the only field that you "must" set up as I've described is the "Replacement" one, as that's the one that tells vBulletin what html code you want to use for this bb code).

That oughta do it - good luck!

I would use inline css instead for the replacement

HTML Code:

<span style="text-decoration: line-through;">{param}</span>

Guest210212002 01-26-2006 01:32 PM

/me agrees with msimplay

CSS is a much cleaner way to do it.

bada_bing 03-17-2006 07:33 PM

HOw do you do it via CSS?

Cossa 04-11-2006 03:21 PM

<strike><span style="text-decoration: line-through;">{param}</span></strike>

bada_bing 04-11-2006 07:25 PM

Can someone post a detailed description on how to install this and how to pull up the BB Code in a new thread? Also how do you do the CSS version.

Konstantinos 05-06-2006 09:22 AM

1 Attachment(s)
and here is the button (transparent)

DaveAK 08-25-2006 05:30 AM

Thanks guys! You're making me look too damn good to my members! :) A two minute job.

towermatt 05-10-2007 11:53 PM

I totally agree, this was great.

Thanks for the help.

bada_bing 06-29-2007 05:21 PM

Nice thank you...

Acrobat 07-13-2007 05:12 PM

Nice, thanks!

blueparukia 07-15-2007 05:59 AM

So you can make BB code just by replacing HTML?

So easy...

G0F0RBR0KE 07-15-2007 08:16 AM

You do realize that we already have a strike in vBulletin. All you have to do is add an image and link it to the code.

Code:

[s] testing [/ s]
= [s]testing[/s]

make sure the / s is like this /s

Dismounted 07-15-2007 11:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EvilAkuma (Post 1291662)
You do realize that we already have a strike in vBulletin. All you have to do is add an image and link it to the code.

Code:

[s] testing [/ s]
= [s]testing[/s]

make sure the / s is like this /s

To correct you on that, it's not a stock BBCode, so it won't exist unless you create it. :p

cheat-master30 07-15-2007 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dismounted (Post 1291719)
To correct you on that, it's not a stock BBCode, so it won't exist unless you create it. :p

Which is a pity, since both official sites have it and practically all other software has it available by default. This topic has just made me realise I didn't give away strike through BB code...

Welshy2008 03-03-2009 05:12 PM

Firstly, Sorry for bumping an old thread...


Quote:

Originally Posted by E2E (Post 622814)
Ooh, ooh, I can answer this one! =) Erm, well, I think I can at any rate: you can add strikethrough as a custom BB code via the Admin CP:

1. In your AdminCP, go to Custom BB Codes and click Add New BB Code
2. Enter the following info in the appropriate fields:
Title: Strikethrough
Tag: Strike
Replacement: <strike>{param}</strike>
Complete the rest of the fields as you like (to be honest, I believe the only field that you "must" set up as I've described is the "Replacement" one, as that's the one that tells vBulletin what html code you want to use for this bb code).

That oughta do it - good luck!

I tried that Way, but it didn't work for me. :(

Quote:

Originally Posted by bada_bing (Post 947211)
Can someone post a detailed description on how to install this and how to pull up the BB Code in a new thread? Also how do you do the CSS version.


I would like to know this too, If someone would be kind enough as to have the patience t explain.


Many Thanks.

TigerC10 03-03-2009 11:28 PM

Use this:

Code:

Title: Strikethrough
BB Code Tag Name: s
Replacement:
<span style="text-decoration: line-through;">{param}</span>
Example:
[s]this text has a strikethrough[/s]
Description:
The [s] tag allows you to create text that has a strike through on it.
Use {option}: No
Remove Tag If Empty: Yes
Disable BB Code Within This BB Code: No
Disable Smilies Within This BB Code: No
Disable Word Wrapping Within This BB Code: No
Button Image (Optional):
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/

I like to change the editor template instead of adding in the optional button image, that way I can make the strikethrough button appear next to the B I and U buttons.

Welshy2008 03-07-2009 09:31 AM

TigerC10 - That has worked perfectly. Thank You. :D

Suiram 07-14-2009 03:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TigerC10 (Post 1759677)
Use this:

Code:

Title: Strikethrough
BB Code Tag Name: s
Replacement:
<span style="text-decoration: line-through;">{param}</span>
Example:
[s]this text has a strikethrough[/s]
Description:
The [s] tag allows you to create text that has a strike through on it.
Use {option}: No
Remove Tag If Empty: Yes
Disable BB Code Within This BB Code: No
Disable Smilies Within This BB Code: No
Disable Word Wrapping Within This BB Code: No
Button Image (Optional):
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/

I like to change the editor template instead of adding in the optional button image, that way I can make the strikethrough button appear next to the B I and U buttons.

luvely, cheers guv'nor. :up:

1Unreal 07-15-2009 02:09 AM

Both <s> and <strike> are depreciated. Use CSS. Not sure if its mentioned in this thread.

kyrenator 08-29-2009 11:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TigerC10 (Post 1759677)
Use this:

Code:

Title: Strikethrough
BB Code Tag Name: s
Replacement:
<span style="text-decoration: line-through;">{param}</span>
Example:
[s]this text has a strikethrough[/s]
Description:
The [s] tag allows you to create text that has a strike through on it.
Use {option}: No
Remove Tag If Empty: Yes
Disable BB Code Within This BB Code: No
Disable Smilies Within This BB Code: No
Disable Word Wrapping Within This BB Code: No
Button Image (Optional):
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/

I like to change the editor template instead of adding in the optional button image, that way I can make the strikethrough button appear next to the B I and U buttons.

It worked for me! thanks!

Tettinntil 01-20-2010 05:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cossa (Post 946969)
<strike><span style="text-decoration: line-through;">{param}</span></strike>

Where do I add this?

James Birkett 01-20-2010 08:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tettinntil (Post 1961431)
Where do I add this?

Add:

Code:

<span style="text-decoration:underline;">{param}</span>
to the replacement, replacing the previous <strike> or <s>

Tettinntil 01-21-2010 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by James Birkett (Post 1961615)
Add:

Code:

<span style="text-decoration:underline;">{param}</span>
to the replacement, replacing the previous <strike> or <s>

Replacement? In styles? :o Sorry for a possibly stupid question..

Zylantex 01-22-2010 06:08 AM

Thanks for the excellent tutorial.

wolfyman 02-12-2010 06:04 PM

how to do this in vb 4.x?

cheat-master30 02-15-2010 12:55 PM

So, what's different in vBulletin 4 from vBulletin 3.8?

If you can edit BB code, just either add the relevant stuff to the CSS, or put the replacement as something akin to <strike>{param}</strike>

Mikecp421 12-25-2010 03:14 PM

how do I add the image?

BirdOPrey5 12-26-2010 12:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mikecp421 (Post 2138925)
how do I add the image?

If you edit/add the BB Code there is an option called "Button Image." In this box you put the file path o your image, something like:
images/editor/strike.gif

Just find an appropriate 20x20 pixel gif file to use, or make one yourself... upload it to your images/editor directory.

pnhltt 04-06-2011 07:28 AM

we've added the bbcode and it words fine. the trouble is adding the button. we've tried different kinds of button images (png and gif) but it still wouldn't display it in the editor or in the bbcode editor. instead the text "add [s] bbcode" appears in the editor. any help?

Zylantex 04-06-2011 09:07 AM

1 Attachment(s)
The attached screenshot and strike through gif show exactly how my BB Code is set up. Put the strike.gif in /images/misc/
Copy it exactly and there is no reason why it shouldn't work for you too.

Beware of using capital letters !!! As a rule always use lower case letters for paths etc. It took me a while to realise that Strike.gif and strike.gif are not the same and will give exactly the error you are having.

Hope that helps.

pnhltt 04-29-2011 06:23 PM

he-he, the mistake was we missed one letter in the file name for the button. Once we realised that, everything worked. But thanks, anyway:)

angeljs 06-03-2011 07:46 AM

Lovely, jubbley...just what I was looking for :)

spamgirl 01-24-2012 10:54 PM

Is there any way to move the icon from the end of the line to the front? I looked at the templates but it just served to confuse me further.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01492 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,828KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (13)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete