vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Change reputation 'gem' levels (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=76586)

boozehound 02-17-2005 10:00 PM

Change reputation 'gem' levels
 
Change the amount of reputation needed to acquire each reputation 'gem' (as displayed in the postbit) and the type of gem displayed for each level (bright or normal).

Adding this hack will add a new option in admincp, called 'Reputation Level Manager'. In this page you can:
  • Change the amount reputation needed to acquire each gem
  • Change the type of gem displayed per level (either bright or normal)
  • Add new levels
  • Delete levels

Note that these 'gems' are separate from the normal 'reputation levels' which govern the description shown when you mouseover the gems in the postbit.

The levels are shown for positive values only; negative reputations are simply a mirror image of the positive reputation levels, and the same rules apply regarding the type of gem displayed and the amount of reputation need (albeit, negative).

Further note that to install this hack requires the ability to run SQL queries, as this hack adds an additional table.

Fully tested on 3.0.3, 3.0.4, 3.0.5 and 3.0.6.

Update 1.01 20th Feb 2005

- Settings are now cached, so this hack incurs a cost of only one query per page (for pages that show reputation levels, e.g. threads)
- Installer included

kall 02-18-2005 06:53 PM

"more" queries?

How many "more" queries? One per post? One per poster?

boozehound 02-18-2005 06:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kall
"more" queries?

How many "more" queries? One per post? One per poster?

One per post. If/when I update this (I've already been requested to add support for more types of images) I'll use caching to reduce this to one per page.

ambrosious 02-19-2005 06:07 PM

In my admincp/index.php, I cannot find the lines you are refer to. Can you give me a couple of lines above and below that?

ambrosious 02-19-2005 06:32 PM

Got it installed, not working as of yet, all the rep gems look the same.

boozehound 02-20-2005 01:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ambrosious
In my admincp/index.php, I cannot find the lines you are refer to. Can you give me a couple of lines above and below that?

Anywhere you want really but I put it in here:
Code:

                construct_nav_option($vbphrase['user_reputation_manager'], 'adminreputation.php?do=modify', '|');
                construct_nav_option($vbphrase['add_new_user_reputation'], 'adminreputation.php?do=add');
                construct_nav_option($vbphrase['view_reputation_comments'], 'adminreputation.php?do=list');

<-- in here -->

                construct_nav_group($vbphrase['user_reputations']);

Quote:

Originally Posted by ambrosious
Got it installed, not working as of yet, all the rep gems look the same.

They will do until you change the levels in the new admincp page. If you have done so and there is no change, make sure you've changed includes/functions_reputation.php correctly, which includes the function (fetch_reputation_image) that governs how the rep gems are displayed.

ambrosious 02-20-2005 01:10 AM

Others are seeing it, I'm not, but I've had the same browser windows open for awhile, maybe that's it?!

boozehound 02-20-2005 04:42 PM

Update:

- Cost of installing this hack is now only one query per page that shows reputation levels (as opposed to one per post as before).
- Queries replaced by installer.

boozehound 02-20-2005 04:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ambrosious
Others are seeing it, I'm not, but I've had the same browser windows open for awhile, maybe that's it?!

Are you still having problems with this?

ambrosious 02-20-2005 10:29 PM

Yes, I still see the same old gems as always... don't have a clue why.

boozehound 02-20-2005 10:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ambrosious
Yes, I still see the same old gems as always... don't have a clue why.

Remember the initial settings are identical to the hard coded settings so you won't notice any changes until you change the settings. If that's not the case I don't understand what the problem is as everyone should be getting the same page data, as the rewritten fetch_reputation_image function will be in use from the moment you uploaded the changed code. So then the only thing I can think of is you're somehow seeing cached pages.

ambrosious 02-21-2005 12:20 AM

I changed the settings so it should show up for everyone, I bet I'm looking at chached images. Will get back to you on this.

ambrosious 02-21-2005 12:23 AM

I got it! It's the old real reputable members. I just need to "up" the points for reputation upgrades and it should work. It works fine with the new members.

sim tech 03-28-2005 02:14 AM

Man, that's just the mod I was looking for! Thanks!!

I'm guessing it'll mirror the same values for the negative numbers? I installed the mod (in about 3 minutes) and I really like the feature, but is there a way to set a negative number when I "Add New Reputation Gem Level"? The minimum I can go is 0.

boozehound 03-29-2005 01:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sim tech
Man, that's just the mod I was looking for! Thanks!!

I'm guessing it'll mirror the same values for the negative numbers? I installed the mod (in about 3 minutes) and I really like the feature, but is there a way to set a negative number when I "Add New Reputation Gem Level"? The minimum I can go is 0.

I deliberately made it not allow you to enter negative numbers so that the negative levels mirror the positive ones. I'll write a patch to allow you to set the negative levels too.

sim tech 03-29-2005 02:04 AM

Man, that is great - I was just getting ready to redo my rep levels so they would match up with the gems.

You are truly one of the good ones Boozehound... I'm buying you a brewery when I win that powerball!

* sim tech clicks install & 5 star rating *

boozehound 03-29-2005 11:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sim tech
Man, that is great - I was just getting ready to redo my rep levels so they would match up with the gems.

You are truly one of the good ones Boozehound... I'm buying you a brewery when I win that powerball!

* sim tech clicks install & 5 star rating *

Ok here is an updated installation.txt for the variation of this hack where you can enter negative values (that do not necessarily mirror the positive values). If you've already installed, just replace the code you added to admincp/adminreputations.php and includes/functions_reputation.php with the code in this txt file. You will then need to add the negative levels through the admincp page (I didn't update the installer to add default negative levels).

NFLForums 04-10-2005 06:54 PM

This is part of what I'm looking for...Is there any way to change the "gems" to other pictures?

For example, I run an american football board -- is there any way to have the negative rep things show as "yellow flags" or whistles, and the others show as footballs, field-goal posts/uprights or as lombardis?

I am just doing a little bit of looking into things so that I know what I can do...

sim tech 04-11-2005 02:46 AM

The images themselves are located in /forums/images/reputation/

(reputation_pos.gif for example for th egreen dot)

If it was me, I would think the easiest way would be to just rename your images to what the gif files that are located in that directory are called.

That way you don't have to do any template or code modding.

NFLForums 04-11-2005 02:56 AM

Thanks sim, I had just figured that out & hadn't gotten back over here to post yet! :) Thanks for your help though!

JHsu 06-15-2005 05:17 AM

By default, the maximum number of gems displayed in the postbit are a total of 11. Will this hack allow me to add additional gems? For example, a total of 17 instead of 11?

J

boozehound 06-15-2005 04:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JHsu
By default, the maximum number of gems displayed in the postbit are a total of 11. Will this hack allow me to add additional gems? For example, a total of 17 instead of 11?

J

Yes.

Use the 'Add New Reputation Gem Level' form at the bottom the 'Reputation Level Manager' page this hack adds to admincp to add more gems.

okc 07-26-2005 06:40 AM

Nice one! - Clicks install.

YankeeDeuce 07-28-2005 12:02 AM

I was wondering if you can do something like notebookforums.com, where once you get 11 green dots it switches. The next rep level is 10 green and 1 pink, then 9 green and 2 pink, until your all pink, then it does the same thing with other colors.

neuromix 10-23-2005 05:41 PM

is there a hack like this for 3.5.0?

Valithor 12-27-2005 10:05 PM

Yeah, a similar hack for 3.5.x would be great!

MixMakers 12-29-2005 05:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by YankeeDeuce
I was wondering if you can do something like notebookforums.com, where once you get 11 green dots it switches. The next rep level is 10 green and 1 pink, then 9 green and 2 pink, until your all pink, then it does the same thing with other colors.

Also what I'm looking for. Would be great if you could also add this to the hack!

chimaira 01-02-2006 06:57 PM

Would love to see this on 3.5

boozehound 01-08-2006 10:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chimaira
Would love to see this on 3.5

I have a beta scheduled to be released in a few days, for 3.5. Same as the 3.0.x version with a couple of changes:

- Rather than simply specifying 'bright' or 'normal' one specifies the suffix of the reputation image. This way, alternative images can be used.
- There is an option to insert template code before a reputation image for each level, e.g. you can insert a template containing just:
Code:

<br />
before a particular gem, resulting in a line break in the row of images.

Example:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/

chimaira 01-08-2006 12:58 PM

Thats awsome news Boozehound... :)

MixMakers 01-10-2006 07:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boozehound
I have a beta scheduled to be released in a few days, for 3.5. Same as the 3.0.x version with a couple of changes:

- Rather than simply specifying 'bright' or 'normal' one specifies the suffix of the reputation image. This way, alternative images can be used.
- There is an option to insert template code before a reputation image for each level, e.g. you can insert a template containing just:
Code:

<br />
before a particular gem, resulting in a line break in the row of images.

Example:

http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/7...wtsrrep3kq.jpg

Nice! That is exactly what my forum can use.

chimaira 01-12-2006 08:53 AM

How is it progressing?

boozehound 01-12-2006 05:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chimaira
How is it progressing?

Finished:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=105156

MixMakers 01-15-2006 05:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boozehound

AH! I misread your post, I thought you were also releasing one for 3.0.x. Is it possible to make a hack compatible for the 3.0 versions?

Mr. Brian 01-21-2006 07:52 AM

Is there a way that we could change the type of image displayed for each level ?

Assistance would be much appreciated. :)

boozehound 01-22-2006 09:24 AM

You need alter the code to change the 'bright' radio button in the admincp page to a text field, and change the database column for 'bright' to be a varchar to begin with, like I've done for the 3.5 version of this. After I've ported some 3.5 stuff I'll be rewriting the 3.5 version of this hack for 3.0.x.

MixMakers 01-26-2006 09:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boozehound
You need alter the code to change the 'bright' radio button in the admincp page to a text field, and change the database column for 'bright' to be a varchar to begin with, like I've done for the 3.5 version of this. After I've ported some 3.5 stuff I'll be rewriting the 3.5 version of this hack for 3.0.x.

I'm definately going to be on the lookout for this

Mr. Brian 03-19-2006 04:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boozehound
After I've ported some 3.5 stuff I'll be rewriting the 3.5 version of this hack for 3.0.x.

So any progress so far?

MixMakers 03-19-2006 09:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. Brian
So any progress so far?

Yes, definately interested to find out. I've been waiting for this for a while :banana:


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01552 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,821KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (16)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (39)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete