vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   explode() (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=74641)

sabret00the 01-19-2005 12:43 PM

explode()
 
i've always managed to avoid this up until now but now i really need it.

basically i want to check is a table column has a value, if it does, i need to explode it

so up to here i gues it's

PHP Code:

if ($bbuserinfo[grps])
 {
     
$grps_ids explode(' 'trim($bbuserinfo['grps'])); 

but once it's exploded how do i check the values?

with a query i'm guessing i could've used the FIND_IN_SET but i'm really trying to limit the queries at this stage

also how would i go about updating such a column? would it simply be

PHP Code:

UPDATE user SET grps $bbuserinfo[grps] + $newvalue 

?

Andreas 01-19-2005 12:52 PM

PHP Code:

if (in_array($grps_ids11)) {
  
// Put some code here if 11 is in grps_ids


[sql]update user set grps = if(grps='', $newvalue, concat_ws(' ', grps, $newvalue))[/sql]

amykhar 01-19-2005 12:53 PM

Given that explode puts the values in an array, could you use this:

http://us4.php.net/in_array

to see if the value is in the array?

sabret00the 01-19-2005 12:58 PM

you both helped and so close together, thank you amy thanks to the link i know exactly how it works, and thanks kirby, very swift and you helped em with the query too :)

sabret00the 01-23-2005 11:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KirbyDE
[sql]update user set grps = if(grps='', $newvalue, concat_ws(' ', grps, $newvalue))[/sql]

how would i go about reversing this query?

noppid 01-23-2005 11:54 AM

No offense, but I was going to post a link to php.net too. Most of the questions you've asked so far on php functions are answered on top of each functions page and clearly explained. I was under the impression you didn't have that info from your questions.

and iif() is being deprecated, you shouldn't rely on it existing in future releases of vB. ;)

sabret00the 01-23-2005 11:58 AM

i'm not usuing the iff in here though :o

ok i'm assuming you're talking about the other thread, i appreciate where you're comign from however asking for help in a bid to learn something should never be frowned upon, in that latest incident where i was asking about the conditional, it was actually the conditional and not the in_array() function, if you check the thread again, you'll see i actually state that i was just wondering if i could do that, also in regards to the number of threads i ask for help, i do actually in around half cases get the answers myself, it's called the process of learning.

noppid 01-23-2005 12:04 PM

Wow you're right, Sorry I said anything, you got it handled.

On the iif, you're right, I was seeing double. I didn't have my glasses on. :p

If() does not return anything other then true or false, I assumed iif() since you seem to be expecting a data return for that code to work.

Actually, if() does not return anything at all, it evaluates to true or false.

sabret00the 01-23-2005 12:25 PM

searching php.net, i couldn't find concat_ws that's why i came back to this thread, as the value in grps could be an array of 10 different numbers, so i want to remove the one that would be in the first post $newvalue and that's it, but not being able to find concat i can't even read up on it.

Dean C 01-23-2005 12:39 PM

concat_ws is a mysql function sabe:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/string-functions.html

noppid 01-23-2005 12:42 PM

Well let's forget the query for now, step back one line and use a couple of conditions to sort ot your data first.

You need one of two results it seems.

PHP Code:

if( $grps == '' )
{
    
$query_data $newvalue;
}
else
{
   
$query_data =  concat_ws(' '$grps$newvalue)


Now, I'm not sure what the data you want to concat is and what that concat_ws function you want is, can you give more details on your intent?

sabret00the 01-23-2005 12:46 PM

the initial query worked perfectly, it's just that i'm trying to undo it.

let me explain
PHP Code:

// ############################### start making em join the group ###############################
globalize($_POST, array(
    
'perpage' => INT,
    
'pagenumber' => INT,
    
'g' => INT,
    
'do' => STR,
    
'view' => STR,
    
'goto'
));

//$groupid = intval($g);

$groupid $g intval($grps_showgroup[groupid]);

if (!
$groupid)
// make sure it's a number
    
$idname "Group2";
    eval(
print_standard_error('error_invalidid'));
}


if (
$_POST['do'] == 'dojoingroup')
{
    
// Add new data to user table
    
$DB_site->query("
        UPDATE " 
TABLE_PREFIX "user
        SET grps = if(grps='', 
$groupid, concat_ws(' ', grps, $groupid))
        WHERE userid = 
$bbuserinfo[userid]
    "
);

    
// Add new data to grps_user table
    
$DB_site->query("
        INSERT INTO grps_user(groupid,userid,join_date)
        VALUES (
$groupid,$bbuserinfo[userid], " TIMENOW ")
    "
);

    
$url "groups.php?$session[sessionurl]g=$groupid";
    eval(
print_standard_redirect('redirect_joinedthanks'));



as you can see Kirby's code makes em join the group fine and that works perfectly, however i'm now trying to work out how to reverse the info if they wanna leave a group.

[high]* sabret00the will BRB as i need to read the mysql page.[/high]

noppid 01-23-2005 12:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dean C

Based on readin this, I'm thinking you want to combine two comma delimited lists and have the comma inserted between the two to keep the list delimited properly?

sabret00the 01-23-2005 12:56 PM

yup that was what i wanted to do there. but now i want to

let say $bbuserinfo[grps] == "10,6,23,897495,34,4789,343" and this $groupid == "6" i want to remove the 6 from $bbuserinfo[grps] so it would then be $bbuserinfo[grps] == "10,23,897495,34,4789,343"

noppid 01-23-2005 12:57 PM

I'm finally seeing what's going on here, I just can't find an example of this syntax on mysql.com, yet.

sabret00the 01-23-2005 01:06 PM

yup reading the mysql functions list i couldn't see anything that'd help :(

Dean C 01-23-2005 01:09 PM

You can't do this in MySQL, you're going to have to do all the work in PHP. Explode the two lists, find your value in the array and unset it and then update :)

sabret00the 01-25-2005 12:32 PM

i thought of a way to do this now i know that while loops can work through arrays

could i do like
PHP Code:

while ($gettinggroups =$DB_site>fetch_array($queryexistinggroups))
  {
  if (
$gettinggroups[groupid] != $groupid)
  {
  
$newexistinggroups .= $gettinggroups[groupid] . " ";
  }
  } 

although now rereading deans post i seem to be making it overtly complicated?

or am i reading it wrong?
PHP Code:

while ($gettinggroups =$DB_site>fetch_array($queryexistinggroups))
  {
  if (
$gettinggroups[groupid] == $groupid)
  {
  unset(
$groupid);
  }
  } 

ofcourse after each i'd have to then update the database but i won't get time to try it till this evening :(

oooh i just came across something called array_splice have to read up on that.

Dean C 01-25-2005 02:20 PM

An example. say the field 'omgz' in the user table contains a list of id's (e.g. 1,2,3,4):

PHP Code:

$removalid 2;
$query $DB_site->query_first("SELECT omgz FROM user WHERE userid=1");
$ids explode(','$query);
foreach(
$ids AS $id)
{
        if(
$id != $removalid)
        {
                
$ids2[] = $id;
        }
}

$newids implode(','$ids2);

$DB_site->query("UPDATE user SET omgz='$ids' WHERE userid=1"); 


sabret00the 01-25-2005 03:38 PM

i was just about to post that i went with this and look you've done practically the same dean
PHP Code:

    // remove data to user table
    
if (is_array($gprs_ids))
    {
        foreach(
$gprs_ids AS $index => $value)
        {
            if (
$value == $groupid)
            {
                unset(
$gprs_ids["$index"]);
            }
        }

        
$DB_site->query("
            UPDATE " 
TABLE_PREFIX "user
            SET grps = 
$gprs_ids
            WHERE userid = 
$bbuserinfo[userid]
        "
);
    } 


Dean C 01-25-2005 04:00 PM

Glad you got it worked out sabe :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01339 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,793KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (9)bbcode_php_printable
  • (2)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (21)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete